Here you will find our permanent and visiting members of staff, who contribute to our world-leading research and teaching. Click through for individual profiles. Professional services staff can be found on the left-hand link. Watch videos of our staff discussing what drives their research and teaching.






Academic Visitors

Academic Staff

Paul Brindley

Brindley, Dr Paul

Dr Ross Cameron

Cameron, Dr Ross
Director of Research

Joseph Claghorn

Claghorn, Dr Joseph

Andy Clayden

Clayden, Mr Andy
Senior Lecturer

Dr Nicola Dempsey

Dempsey, Dr Nicola
Senior Lecturer

Professor Nigel Dunnett

Dunnett, Professor Nigel

Professor James Hitchmough

Hitchmough, Professor James

Dr Anna Jorgensen

Jorgensen, Professor Anna
Head of Department

Professor Eckhart Lange

Lange, Professor Eckart

Clare Rishbeth

Rishbeth, Dr Clare
Director of External Relations

Emeritus Professor Paul Selman

Selman, Professor Paul
Emeritus Professor

James Simpson

Simpson, Dr James

Professor Carys Swanwick

Swanwick, Professor Carys
Emeritus Professor

Dr Kevin Thwaites

Thwaites, Dr Kevin
Senior Lecturer

Ms Helen Woolley

Woolley, Ms Helen
Director of Research

Dr Jan Woudstra

Woudstra, Dr Jan
Reader in Landscape History and Theory

Ms Catherine Dee

Dee, Ms Catherine
Senior Lecturer

University Teachers

Mel Burton

Burton, Ms Mel

Sally O'Halloran

O'Halloran, Dr Sally

Laurence Pattacini

Pattacini, Ms Laurence

Thom White

White, Mr Thom

Visiting Professors

Mr Andrew Grant

Grant, Mr Andrew

Mr Piet Oudolf

Oudolf, Mr Piet

Research Associates

Catherine Bannister

Bannister, Dr Cath

Dr Jo Birch

Birch, Dr Jo

Aisling Cooling

Cooling, Ms Aisling

Julian Dobson

Dobson, Dr Julian

Audrey Gerber

Gerber, Dr Audrey

Dr Ye Hang

Hang, Dr Ye

Meghann Mears

Mears, Dr Meghann

Agne Prochorskaite

Prochorskaite, Dr Agne

Academic Visitors

Kinoshita, Dr Takeshi

Simkins, Dr Ian

Li-ying, Ms Tang

Hehl-Lange, Dr Sigrid  

LI Professional Review Group

Gail Adkins – Gail Adkins Landscape Ltd
Ricardo Ares (Chair) – Ares Landscape Architects
Nathan Edwards - Urban Wilderness Landscape Architecture
Joe Wheelright - Arup