A Selection of Doctoral Researchers and their projects

Sheffield University Management School has a vibrant, active and multi-disciplinary portfolio of PhD and research projects. The research topic of each project, the student and their supervisor(s) is shown in the table below, in alphabetical order of the researcher's surname.

A-C | D-F | G-I | J-L | M-O | P-S | T-V | W-Z

A-C

Name

Supervisory team

Title of the project

PT/FT

Contact details

Sylvia Acquah

Dermot Breslin

Malcolm Patterson

Social Enterprise and Employee Empowerment: Are Social Enterprise Employees Better Motivated

PT

Ecp11sda@shef.ac.uk

Ibrahim Al-Ghraify

Andrew Brint

Chantal Cantarelli

A model for handling and managing core asset data

PT

IFAl-Ghraify1@sheffield.ac.uk

Abdulrahman Al Jabr

John Brierley
Bill Lee

Relationship between ABC and Throughout Accounting practices undertaken by business organizations operating within Saudi Arabia

FT

AAljabr1@sheffield.ac.uk

Naeem Albihany

Colin Williams
Peter Rodgers

Intrapreneurship and Business Planning - A study on the strategic link between the two domains

FT

NAAlbihany1@sheffield.ac.uk

Mohammad Alshammari

Tim Vorley
Chay Brooks

Entrepreneurship and Philanthropic Finance in Saudi Arabia

FT

malshammari1@sheffield.ac.uk

Albert Attom

Diane Burns

Rachael Finn

'Speaking Out' in Organisational Climates of Silence FT AAtom1@sheffield.ac.uk

Andreas
Baresel-Bofinger

John Cullen

Lenny Koh

Integrating Sustainability Concepts into the Supply Chains in South-East European Economies

PT

ecp05acb@shef.ac.uk
Remote Location Student
South East European Research Centre

Marijana Baric

Peter Rodgers

Colin Williams

The Informal Economy in Croatia: A Social Exchange Perspective

FT

ecq10mb@shef.ac.uk

John Briggs

Anna Topakas

Malcolm Patterson

Successful Leadership

PT

ecp10jlb@sheffield.ac.uk

Richard Bruce

John Cullen

Lenny Koh

New approaches to accounting and trust in Supply Chains between suppliers and retailers in the UK

PT

r.bruce@sheffield.ac.uk

Joel Capener

Tim Vorley

Ana Vasconcelos

Broad Area: Entrepreneurship in the Sheffield City Region

FT

jmcapener1@sheffield.ac.uk

Olga Cam

Stewart Smyth

Jill Atkins

Inclusion of social and environmental accounting dimension in higher and further (professional) accounting education: a comparative analysis

PT

ema03oc@sheffield.ac.uk

D-F

Back to top

Name

Supervisory Team

Title of the study project

PT/FT

Contact Details

Kumar Dasgupta

Sumon Bhaumik

Bill Lee

An information theoretic approach to the analysis of transmission mechanisms during systemic shocks

PT

KKDasgupta1@sheffield.ac.uk

Nourhan Eid

Junhong Yang

Josephine Maltby

Peer to peer lending in the US

FT

nourhan.eid@sheffield.ac.uk

Eyad El-Habel

Jon Burchell

Frank Birkin

Towards Sustainable Leadership: Exploring the importance of cooperation among academia, government and industry to achieve sustainability in Qatar

FT

Ecp11ehe@shef.ac.uk

Mariana Estrada Robles

Tim Vorley

Georgios Fotopoulos

Nick Williams

Entrepreneurship and family business in Mexico

FT

maestradarobles1@sheffield.ac.uk

Hassan Fikury

Diane Burns

Phil Johnson

Examining productive resistance to organisational change: the role of change agents and employees in the micro-social processes of change

FT

HFikury1@sheffield.ac.uk

G-I

Back to top

Name

Supervisory Team

Title of the study project

PT/FT

Contact Details

Cristian Gherhes

Tim Vorley

Ana Vasconcelos

Economic Resilience, Enterprise Growth and Entrepreneurial Activity

FT

CAGherhes1@sheffield.ac.uk

Victoria Harte

Rachael Finn 

Phil Johnson

Diane Burns

From epistemological beliefs and assumptions to knowledge: Can research-informed teaching play a part in this journey?

FT

Ecp11vah@shef.ac.uk

Yingying He

Marian V Jones

Melanie Hassett

Junzhe Ji

FT

yhe29@sheffield.ac.uk

Leanne Ingram

Jeremy Dawson

Angela Carter

Investigating the effects of mindfulness training upon workplace performance and well-being

FT

lingram1@sheffield.ac.uk

Sonia Iun

Ranis Cheng

Daragh O'Reilly

Macau as an International Brand: An Investigation of Brand Identity

PT

HIun1@shef.ac.uk

J-L

Back to top

Name

Supervisory Team

Title of the study project

PT/FT

Contact Details

Tanja Kuzman

Jill Atkins

O Talavera

CM Ghafran

Impact of governance on financial performance of state owned enterprises: evidence from developed, developing and transition countries

FT

TKuzman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Remote Location Student
South East European Research Centre

Evelyn Lanka

Anna Topakas

Malcolm Patterson

Leader Identity Construction through Reciprocal Identity Claims: A Relational Leadership Perspective

FT

elanka1@sheffield.ac.uk

Xisi Li

Robert Wapshott

Jason Heyes

Employment relations in SMEs

FT

xli24@sheffield.ac.uk

Danimir Ljepava

Robert Wapshott

Leslie Szamosi

Innovation Management in Technology

PT

danimir.ljepava@shef.ac.uk
Remote Location Student
South East European Research Centre

Ben Lowe

David Oglethorpe

Sonal Choudhary

Evaluating the geographical distribution of the total economic value of virtual water use through international supply chains: implications for management, consumers and policy

FT

BHLowe1@sheffield.ac.uk

M-O

Back to top

Name

Supervisory Team

Title of the study project

PT/FT

Contact Details

Paul Massey

John Cullen

Juliana Meira

The Issues of Profitability Measurement and Management in Complex Supply Chains; an Analysis of how these are treated in the Construction Products sector

FT

PMassey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Stephen McGlynn

Christine Sprigg

John Arnold

Malcolm Patterson

Supporting employees in their development: Exploring the role of tailored support in informal learning

FT

s.mcglynn@sheffield.ac.uk

Helen Mirfin-Boukouris

Colin Williams

Peter Rodgers

Shadow Economy in the Sheffield City Region

PT

Helen.Mirfin-Boukouris@Sheffield.ac.uk

Lyubomir Mishkov

Colin Williams

Robert Wapshott

Informal entrepreneurship in Bulgaria

FT

lrmishkov@sheffield.ac.uk

Ahmad Rais Mohamad Mokhtar

Andrea Genovese

Andrew Brint

Niraj Kumar

Supply Chain Leadership and Operational Performance in Manufacturing Industry

FT

ARBMohamadMokhtar1@sheffield.ac.uk

Daniella Mohamed Mokhtar

Malcolm Patterson

Christine Sprigg

Occupational Health mainly in variables that influence one's well being; stress-related; recovery at work and workplace bullying

FT

DMMokhtar1@sheffield.ac.uk

Legha Momtazian

Phil Johnson

Jason Heyes

A study of love as a missing component of economic transactions

FT

l.momtazian@sheffield.ac.uk

Gabriela Morales Martinez

Dermot Breslin

Paul Latreille

Elaine Toms

Understanding the impact of social networks in knowledge evolution: Analysis of the evolution of variation and selection mechanisms through the use of TripAdvisor

FT

g.morales@sheffield.ac.uk

Avik Mukherjee

Junhong Yang

Sumon Bhaumik

Corporate Social Responsibility & Cost of Equity Captial

PT

a.mukherjee@sheffield.ac.uk

Mustafa Doruk Mutlu

Kamal Birdi

Jeremy Dawson

Knowledge worker team personality composition and creative performance

FT

ecp12mdm@sheffield.ac.uk

Uday Rajashekharan Nair

John Kawalek

Andrew Simpson

Systems Approach to Competency Modelling and Development in the Health Service

PT

uday.nair@sheffield.ac.uk

P-S

Back to top

Name

Supervisory Team

Title of the study project

PT/FT

Contact Details

Bo Pan

Junhong Yang

Shuxing Yin

The effects of market competition on firms' innovation activities: evidence from manufacturing industries in China

FT

bpan2@sheffield.ac.uk

Emma Parry

Malcolm Patterson

Angela Carter

Learning from Youth-Friendly Organisations: How can We Ensure that Young People are Included in the Workplace? FT E.Parry@sheffield.ac.uk

Manoj Patankar

Jeremy Dawson

Malcolm Patterson

Safety Culture: A Mixed-Methods Approach to Describing and Analysing Organisational Culture

PT

MSPatankar1@sheffield.ac.uk
Remote location
Based in the US

Rachel Perry

Liz Carnegie

Daragh O'Reilly

Leadership, risk and innovation in contemporary British theatre: Case studies of large-scale participation initiatives

FT

RMPerry1@shef.ac.uk

Marina Polak

Colin Williams

Peter Rodgers

The nature and characteristics of informal work: Lessons from Slovenia

FT

marina.polak@shef.ac.uk

Gourdarz Poursharif

Andrew Brint

Representation of new kinds of data in sustainable energy networks for electricity distribution

FT

g.poursharif@sheffield.ac.uk

Roy Poyntz

Paul Latreille

Jason Heyes

Workplace Mediation in British Universities

FT

roypoyntz@googlemail.com

Queyu Ren

Anna Topakas

Malcolm Patterson

Critical Impacts of Paternalistic and Abusive Leadership on Chinese Employees Turnover in SMEs within Creative Industry FT QRen1@sheffield.ac.uk

Tim Rutt

Bill Lee

How have the professional accounting bodies in the UK repositioned themselves over the last ten years, what skills, knowledge, qualities appear more or less important and why?

PT

tim.rutt@sheffield.ac.uk

Noha Saada

Caroline Oates

Julie Alevizou

A Holistic View Towards Developing Egypt's Macromarket To Promote Sustainable Consumption: An Empirical Study

PT

NSaada1@sheffield.ac.uk

Saioa San Miguel Bel

Frank Birkin

David Oglethorpe

Sustainable Development and Economic Degrowth: An International Transition Project towards a Sustainable Environment, Economy and social paradigm

PT

s.san-miguel@sheffield.ac.uk

Matthew Scobie

Bill Lee

Stewart Smyth

A critical discourse analysis of social and cultural constructions of accountability in extractive arenas.

FT

mrscobie1@sheffield.ac.uk

Zahra Shah

Lien Monkhouse

Jerzy Kociatkiewicz

The Impact of Celebrity Ad Endorsements on Consumer Attitudes and Purchase Intention: A cross-cultural and cross country study

FT

zahra.shah@sheffield.ac.uk

Stella Lai Man So

Daragh O'Reilly

Navdeep Athwal

An investigation into the branding of luxury commodities

PT

Lai.So@shef.ac.uk
Remote Location Student
Based in China

Tobias Stadler

Malcolm Patterson  

Kirsty Newsome

Exploring the beneficial effects of work as a route to social inclusion FT T.Stadler@sheffield.ac.uk

Bavani Subramaniam

Sumon Bhaumik

Mohamed Shaban

Corporate Governance in particular financial distress

FT

BSubramaniam1@sheffield.ac.uk

Hanwen Sun

Shuxing Yin

Sumon Bhaumik

How are CEO background and characteristics valued: Evidence from institutional investors' reactions to new CEO appointments in China

FT

HSun16@sheffield.ac.uk

Paul Sweeny

Andrew Tylecote

John Kawalek

Emerging technologies

PT

p.sweeny@shef.ac.uk

T-V

Back to top

Name

Supervisory Team

Title of the study project

PT/FT

Contact Details

Christopher Tsui

Frank Birkin

 Neng Jiang

Environmental Management Accounting Implementation in Chinese Companies

PT

ecp10skt@shef.ac.uk
Remote Location Student
Based in China

Cumali Uri

Carolyn Axtell

Anna Topakas

An empirical study on transformational leadership style: promoting empowerment and proactive behaviour in the financial services sector in Turkey

FT

uri@sheffield.ac.uk

Valentina Varbanova

Marian V Jones

Peter Rodgers

Capturing the gains in Global Value Chains: how to foster sustainable business linkages

vpvarbanova1@sheffield.ac.uk

Caroline Verfürth

Caroline Oates

Christopher Jones (Psychology Department)

Diana Gregory-Smith

Sustainable behaviour in the workplace: An investigation of the gaps, links and spillover effects with home behaviour.

FT

cverfuerth@sheffield.ac.uk

W-Z

Back to top

Name

Supervisory Team

Title of the study project

PT/FT

Contact Details

Xuan Wang

Bill Lee

John Brierley

A study on the diffusion of the balanced scorecard in Chinese state-owned enterprises

FT

XWang76@sheffield.ac.uk

Amanda Williamson

Malcolm Patterson

Kamal Birdi

Affect as a predictor of innovative behaviour in entrepreneurship

FT

A.J.Williamson@sheffield.ac.uk

Jingjing Yu

Frank Birkin

Naoko Komori

Social and environmental accounting education in China

FT

eca02jy@sheffield.ac.uk

Mao Zhang

Shuxing Yin

Junhong Yang

O Talavera

A study of risk-adjusted bank efficiency focusing on Chinese commercial banks

FT

MZhang32@sheffield.ac.uk

RongXuan Zhao

David Oglethorpe

Sonal Choudhary

Sustainable Development of Dairy Supply Chain: A Comparative Study between the United Kingdom and China.

FT

rzhao9@sheffield.ac.uk