Congratulations class of 2015!

Graduation 2015On Tuesday 21 July the Department celebrated with its final year students, saying farewell and good luck at the Materials graduation lunch.

Held at the Turner Museum of Glass, graduates, their family members and staff came together to celebrate the achievements of the last 3 - 4 years and give out prizes, highlighting students that have shown outstanding academic achievement.

Well done to all our students, good luck and keep in touch!

The following graduates have been awarded prizes for outstanding achievement:

  • Cerise Edwards - Jessie Ellis Prize for the best performance in a final year project on any metallurgical subject
  • Alex Harvey - Armourers and Brasier’s Medal and Premium for greatest distinction shown by candidate
  • Yoonsung Shim - Frank Holland Memorial Bursary and Prize for Examination Performance, Report and Practical Investigations
  • Ailsa Kiely - Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining Prize for best performance as a BEng Undergraduate during the whole period of the course
  • Jake Passarelli - Nesthill Medal and Premium for work on physical metallurgy
  • Aditi Mathur - De Belin Prize for best performance in Metallography
  • Richard Arnell - Mappin Medal and Premium for greatest distinction shown by candidate.
  • Carmen Makepeace - Violet Dimbleby Prize for Chemical Laboratory Work
  • Cong Peng - Lawson Brown Prize in Glass Technology for written work at Level 3

For photos, check out our Facebook page!