News index

Results 196 to 210 of 213.

  • Graduates 2014

    Graduation 2014

    Students and their families joined together with Materials Science staff for a drinks reception to celebrate the class of 2014 graduating.

  • Dr Liangxu Lin receiving the award from Mavis Sellars

    Sellars Medal

    Dr Liangxu Lin is awarded the very first Mike Sellars award in recognition of his outstanding work in Materials Science.

  • Colin Sherborne Derek Sinclair and Dharaminder Singh

    Image Competition 2014

    Congratulations to the winners of the Department's Image Competition 2014!

  • Dr Gwendolen Reilly

    President of ESB

    Dr Gwendolen Reilly, Senior Lecturer for Materials Science and Engineering, is elected as president of the European Society of Biomechanics.

  • the aluminium casting

    Sheffield Steel Peloton

    The Sheffield Steel Peloton made a pit stop at the Department of Materials Science to forge a specially designed bicycle head badge to celebrate Le Tour arriving in Yorkshire.

  • Chatting with Sir Harold Kroto

    Sir Harold Kroto visits KRI

    On Monday 7 July Materials Science PhD students got to meet Nobel Chemistry Prize winner Sir Harry Kroto.

  • Winter gardens

    34th Annual Cement and Concrete Science Conference

    We cordially invite you to join us for the 34th Annual Cement and Concrete Science Conference, hosted by the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at The University of Sheffield, 14-16 September 2014.

  • Laura changing samples

    PhD student gets to grips with neutrons at ISIS

    Laura Casey, PhD student and part of the Immobilisation Science Laboratory group (ISL), has been utilising the UK's very own neutron source, at ISIS in Oxfordshire.

  • TERMIS 2014

    Materials Science students present at TERMIS 2014

    Several Materials Science PhD students have recently presented posters at the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society (TERMIS 2014) in Genova, Italy.

  • The Geological Society of London Awardists 2014

    The William Smith Fund

    Vice Chancellor’s Research Fellow, Dr Claire Corkhill, wins The Geological Society of London William Smith Fund 

  • Web of Zygiella spider. Credit: 2014 OSG

    Spiders give good vibrations

    MSE Early Career Fellow co-authors paper discovering spider silk transmits vibrations across a wide range of frequencies.

  • Matt Hodges

    Research Fellow wins Best Poster at Intermag Europe 2014

    MSE welcomes the news that Research Fellow Matthew Hodges has won Best Poster at the annual Intermag Europe 2014 conference in Dresden, Germany.

  • Ailsa Kiely

    MEng undergrad wins Royal Academy of Engineering Award

    Undergraduate student Ailsa Kiely wins the Engineering Leadership Advanced Award beating off competition from over 200 applicants.

  • Mike Tynan

    MSE Welcomes Visiting Professor

    The Department of Materials Science and Engineering is delighted to announce the appointment of Mike Tynan as Visiting Professor of Nuclear Manufacturing.

  • Dr Daniela Romano(Computer Science), Professor Beverley Inkson and Dr Nicola Morley(MSE)

    Athena Swan Bronze Award

    MSE has been awarded an Athena SWAN BRONZE Award by the UK Equality Board in recognition of our significant work towards gender equality and supporting women’s careers in STEMM subjects.