Nuclear Materials student receives Society of Glass Oldfield Award

Materials Science and Engineering graduate Victoria Brown receives first prize in the Society of Glass Oldfield Award.

Founded in 2013, the Oldfield Award acknowledges glass research projects carried out by either undergraduate or taught masters students from across the UK and Europe.

Materials Science with Nuclear Engineering graduate Victoria Brown spent the final year of her degree working on an EPSRC and Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA) funded research project titled ‘Chlorine solubility in glass-ceramics for Pu disposition’.

Based within the Nuclear Immobilisation Science Laboratory (NucleUS) and supervised by PhD student Steph Thornber, Victoria was responsible for batch samples, analysis and the creation of a sample matrix, investigating chlorine solubility in glass-ceramics for plutonium disposition. Adding chlorine, as a waste impurity, to the glass-ceramic formulation to study the crystalline phases and microstructure of the final wasteform and identify the chlorine solubility limit.

Nominated by Professor Russell Hand, President of the Society of Glass, Victoria will receive the award at the upcoming Society of Glass Centenary Conference, 4th – 8th September. She will present her winning project at the conference, held at the University of Sheffield, to fellow delegates and will be presented with a cheque for £500, and one year’s free student membership to the Society.

The award was a huge surprise, after a tough project it is great to know that hard work really does pay off.

victoria brown / meng materials science with nuclear engineering graduate 2016

Victoria will begin a PhD with the Department in September.

Further information

Sheffield has a long history of winners of the Oldfield Award:

  • 2013 James Ashby was awarded 2nd prize for his work titled ‘Metallic glasses: tougher than steel?’
  • 2012 Zhao Yuan Leong was award 3rd prize for his work titled ‘Deformation behaviour of metallic glasses as a function of homologous temperature’
  • 2010 Matthana Khangkhamano was awarded 1st prize for her work titled 'Effect of mixed alkaline-earth oxides in silicate glass’
  • 2010 Owen McGann was awarded 2nd prize for his work titled 'The synthesis and study of graphite-glass composites intended for the immobilisation of waste irradiated graphite'
  • 2008 John Plummer was awarded 1st prize for his work titled ‘The influence of elastic moduli on the glass forming ability and plasticity of bulk metallic glasses’
  • 2005 M. Al-Mahrougi was awarded 1st prize for his work titled ‘Defect mediated model for glass’
  • 2004 H. Dart was awarded 2nd prize for his work titled ‘Investigation in to corrosion behaviour of simulated magnox-UO2 blended glass’