A Y12 problem-solving class

Let C1 be the curve with equation y = -x2 + 2x and C2 be the curve with equation x2 + y2 = 2. They cut the first quadrant into three bounded regions (and one unbounded one). Calculate the areas of each of the three bounded regions.

two curves

The Year 12 Advanced Problem-Solving course has three aims:

  • the development of students' mathematical thinking;
  • increasing students' confidence in solving unstructured problems;
  • improved preparation for AEA, MAT or STEP the following year.

The problems in the course are based solely on the year 12 AS pure mathematics syllabus. Participating students are expected to solve problems in class on whiteboards or on paper.

The course is free for all sixth-form students. All classes are scheduled 4.30pm to 6pm on the dates in the course schedule. To book places on this course or for further enquiries contact Dr James Cranch at somas-outreach@sheffield.ac.uk (stating that you're a Y12 student, and including which school you're studying at).

Timetable

Subject Date Venue
Algebra 1 Wednesday 9th October 2019 Hicks Lecture Theatre E
Geometry 1 Wednesday 23rd October 2019 Hicks Lecture Theatre E
Sequences & Series 1 Wednesday 6th November 2019 Hicks Lecture Theatre E
Differentiation 1 Wednesday 20th November 2019 Hicks Lecture Theatre E
No session (Industrial action) Wednesday 4th December 2019 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 5
Geometry 2 Wednesday 18th December 2019 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 5
Sequences & Series 2 Wednesday 15th January 2020 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 8
Trigonometry Wednesday 29th January 2020 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 8
Algebra 2 Wednesday 12th February 2020 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 8
No session (industrial action) Wednesday 26th February 2020 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 8
No session (industrial action) Wednesday 11th March 2020 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 8
Integration Wednesday 25th March 2020 Arts Tower Lecture Theatre 8