Equality and Diversity in MBB

A portrait of Alastair Goldman, Head of Department in MBB"In the Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology we strive to develop and maintain a culture of equality, within which all members of staff and our students can develop, flourish, and attain their full potential. Our commitment is exemplified by the rich diversity of our staff and students, our recent Athena SWAN accreditation and the excellent feedback we receive from our alumni. We have an active Equality and Diversity Committee in the department, representing the full breadth of our staff and postgraduate students and our undergraduate student body are represented via our award-winning Staff-Student committee. As Head of Department I fully support the work of our Equality and Diversity group as we work together to foster excellence in a research and learning environment that truly provides equal opportunity for all members"

Prof. Alastair Goldman, Head of Department

Athena SWAN silver award!!

We are truly delighted to announce that MBB has been awarded an Athena SWAN Silver award (May 2017). The Athena SWAN Charter was "established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research." You can read more about Athena SWAN here:
This award reflects the continuing culture change within our department as we work towards making MBB a truly welcoming and inclusive place to work and study. Congratulations to all involved and particular thanks to the members of the MBB Equality and Diversity committee who wrote our application.

Athena Swan silver

Pictured here (from left to right) are some members of the Equality and Diversity committee, who put the application together: Prof Pete Sudbery, Dr Rebecca Barnes, Dr Ling Hwang, Ms Jennifer Miller, Dr Victoria Lund, Prof Alastair Goldman (HoD), Dr Robert Fagan (Chair), Mr James Bollington, and Dr Liz Alvey. The other members of the committee are Prof Roger Anderson, Dr Rosie Staniforth, Mr Oishik Banerji, Dr Sandrine Soubes and Prof Julie Gray. Congratulations to all of them.

The Silver award follow on from a Bronze award, obtained in December 2013. See the Athena Swan bronze documentation.

We will always welcome any thoughts and ideas about how we can make MBB a fair place for everybody to work. If you want to contribute, please contact the chair (Rob Fagan, r.fagan@sheffield.ac.uk).

For more information in the following areas, please follow the links below.

Information and support networks for staff.

Family specific information, University policy and procedures.

Science communication and outreach in MBB. 

Links and information for MBB students.

MBB Research Network and PhD Society activities and links.

E&D news.

Can't find what you're looking for? A list of contacts and resources can be found here.