microbiologybanner

Microbiology

An understanding of the fundamental principles governing the life of bacteria, fungi and yeast provides a framework for new methods of control and exploitation. In particular, pathogenic bacteria are a major killer and cause of human suffering around the world. The epidemic spread of antibiotic resistance makes the development of novel drug targets and vaccines of crucial importance.

Microbial research in our department at a glance:

  • Molecular physiology - all aspects of the life cycle; gene expression, complex assembly, signalling pathways, metabolism, replication, enzymology
  • Molecular pathogenicity - the fundamentals of infection; host colonisation, virulence factors, chemotaxis, cell-surface structure, sporulation
  • Environmental microbiology - microbial processes in the environment; extremophiles, bioremediation, photosynthetic bacteria, fermentation, biofuels

People

For further information and research opportunities, please see the staff page of individual researchers below:

bakerpDr Patrick Baker

Director of Studies
Deputy Head of Department

Room: D5d
Tel: 0114 222 2725
Email: p.baker@sheffield.ac.uk

Use of protein crystallography to study the structure/function relationships in biological macromolecules, including substrate specificity and chiral synthesis in enzymes and the molecular basis of stability in proteins from extremophiles.

Julien BergeronDr Julien Bergeron

Lecturer

Room: E36a
Tel: 0114 222 2854
Email: j.bergeron@sheffield.ac.uk

Using cryo-EM and other biophysical methods to study protein nano-machines, in particular the bacterial flagellum and the bacterial cytoskeleton.

bulloughpProfessor Per Bullough

Professor of Structural Biology

Room: E36e
Tel: 0114 222 4245
Email: p.bullough@sheffield.ac.uk

Solving the assembly and structure of large and challenging protein assemblies by high resolution electron microscopy (cryoEM) and X-ray crystallography, in particular bacterial endospores, cell surfaces and membrane protein complexes.

chaudhurirDr Roy Chaudhuri

Lecturer

Room: B112
Tel: 0114 222 2837
Email: r.chaudhuri@sheffield.ac.uk

Functional and comparative genomics of bacteria, particularly E. coli and Salmonella. Development of methods for analysing data derived from transposon mutagenesis screens such as TraDIS. Development of user-friendly web interfaces for bacterial genomics.

corriganrDr Rebecca Corrigan

Research Fellow

Room: F16
Tel: 0114 222 4238
Email: r.corrigan@sheffield.ac.uk

Nucleotide signalling systems in the Gram-positive pathogen Staphylococcus aureus, with a particular interest in mapping the (p)ppGpp signalling networks that influence S. aureus persistence and recurrence of infection.

SelfPhD

faganrDr Robert Fagan

Lecturer

Room: F25a
Tel: 0114 222 4182
Email: r.fagan@sheffield.ac.uk

S-layer and host interaction of Clostridium difficile: a spore-forming, anaerobic, Gram-positive bacterium which causes severe disease in patients following antibiotic treatment for unrelated infections.

SelfPhD

Andrew FentonDr Andrew Fenton

Lecturer

Room: G08
Tel: 0114 222 2832
Email: a.k.fenton@sheffield.ac.uk

Cell envelope biosynthetic processes and host-cell interactions of the human pathogen Streptococcus pneumoniae. We use deep sequencing approaches, genetic screens and microscopy to study in depth the processes which underpin S. pneumoniae growth within the human host.

fostersProfessor Simon Foster

Professor of Molecular Microbiology

Room: F18a
Tel: 0114 222 4411
Email: s.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial cell wall structure, function and dynamics in the stress resistance and pathogenesis of the frequently hospital-acquired, multi-antibiotic resistant Gram-positive bacteria Staphylococcus aureus.

gilmourjDr Jim Gilmour

Senior Lecturer

Room: F3a
Tel: 0114 222 4412
Email: d.j.gilmour@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular biology of life in extreme environments, especially high salinity and low temperature environments. Bioremediation of polluted groundwater systems. Use of microalgae to produce sustainable biofuels.

SelfPhD

greenjProfessor Jeff Green

Professor of Microbiology

Room: F10a
Tel: 0114 222 4403
Email: jeff.green@sheffield.ac.uk

The regulation of bacterial transcription in response to changes in oxygen availability, and to oxidative and nitrosative stress; iron-sulphur proteins as regulators; role of CRP-FNR family transcription factors in bacterial stress responses.

SelfPhD

hoiczykeDr Egbert Hoiczyk

Senior Lecturer

Room: F21
Tel: 0114 222 2733
Email: e.hoiczyk@sheffield.ac.uk

Using light and electron microscopy to study the structure and function of bacterial ultra-structure. Particular interest in bacterial cytoskeletons, gliding motility complexes and nano-organelles.

SelfPhD

hunternProfessor Neil Hunter FRS

Krebs Chair in Biochemistry

Room: E14a
Tel: 0114 222 4191
Email: c.n.hunter@sheffield.ac.uk

Biogenesis, structure, function and nanotechnology of photosynthetic membrane proteins from phototrophic bacteria and plants. Enzymology of the chlorophyll and carotenoid biosynthesis pathways.

hwanglDr Ling Chin Hwang

Lecturer

Room: F09a
Tel: 0114 222 2847
Email: l.hwang@sheffield.ac.uk

Multidisciplinary techniques such as single-molecule imaging, synthetic biology, biochemistry and microfluidics to study the molecular mechanisms of spatial organization in bacteria, such as cell division and chromosome segregation.

kellydProfessor Dave Kelly

Professor of Microbiology

Room: F1a
Tel: 0114 222 4414
Email: d.kelly@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular physiology and pathogenicity of the food-borne human pathogen Campylobacter jejuni. Transport and metabolic pathways in the versatile phototrophic purple bacterium Rhodopseudomonas palustris.

SelfPhD

mesnagesDr St├ęphane Mesnage

Lecturer

Room: F22b
Tel: 0114 222 4405
Email: s.mesnage@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial cell wall organisation of the Gram-positive pathogens Enterococcus faecalis and Staphylococcus aureus, including cell-surface interactions and peptidoglycan layer dynamics.

SelfPhD

partridgelDr Lynda Partridge

Senior Lecturer

Room: E7a
Tel: 0114 222 4185
Email: l.partridge@sheffield.ac.uk

Human leucocyte antigens, specifically the structure and function of tetraspanins, a conserved family of mammalian transmembrane proteins. Role of tetraspanins in bacterial infection. Monoclonal antibody technology for research and medicine.

SelfPhD

poolerProfessor Robert Poole

West Riding Chair in Microbiology

Room: F15a
Tel: 0114 222 4447
Email: r.poole@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial physiology, in particular respiration, nitric oxide metabolism and oxidative stress in Escherichia coli. Respiratory pathways, globins and metal transport. Antibiotics and novel antimicrobials, especially CO-releasing molecules.

sudberypProfessor Peter Sudbery

Roper Chair in Genetics

Room: D05c
0114 222 6186
p.sudbery@sheffield.ac.uk

The molecular and cellular biology of hyphal and pseudohyphal morphogenesis in the human fungal pathogen Candida albicans, the cause of thrush and candidiasis: a lethal infection common in immuno-compromised patients.

CTurnerDr Claire Turner

Lecturer

Room: F15b
Tel: 0114 222 2819
Email: c.e.turner@sheffield.ac.uk

My research focus is on trying to understand the mechanisms behind upsurges in disease caused by the human pathogen Streptococcus pyogenes (also known as group A Streptococcus).