The MBB community comprises academic staff (including research fellows and university teachers), postdoctoral researchers, emeritus and retired staff, support staff (technical, clerical, admin) and PhD students.

For a complete list of all staff, see the full MBB telephone list here.

Academics
williamsonm

Prof Mike Williamson

Head of Department

0114 222 4224

Room: D06a
hod.mbb@sheffield.ac.uk
m.williamson@sheffield.ac.uk

Protein structure determination, protein mobility and interactions with ligands by 2D and 3D NMR. Targets include bacterial pathogenesis proteins and human disease-state proteins.


bakerp

Dr Patrick Baker

Director Of Studies and Deputy Head of Department

Room: D5d
0114 222 2725
p.baker@sheffield.ac.uk

Use of protein crystallography to study the structure/function relationships in biological macromolecules, including substrate specificity and chiral synthesis in enzymes and the molecular basis of stability in proteins from extremophiles.


alveryl

Dr Lizzie Alvey

Room: D5b
0114 222 4239
e.alvey@sheffield.ac.uk

Lecturer

Course coordinator:

  • MBB265 Practical Molecular Bioscience 2
  • MBB360 Project

Professor of Genetics


Lecturer

Course coordinator:

  • MBB110 Maths for Molecular Bioscience
  • MBB165 Practical Molecular Bioscience 1

Using cryo-EM and other biophysical methods to study protein nano-machines, in particular the bacterial flagellum and the bacterial cytoskeleton.


dansmall

Dr Dan Bose

Room: E21a
0114 222 2838
d.bose@sheffield.ac.uk

Studying the regulation of epigenetic-enzyme machinery and chromatin by non-protein coding RNAs, and how this regulation is disrupted in cancer and disease. We use a multidisciplinary approach, encompassing functional genomics, classical biochemistry and cryo-EM.


Solving the assembly and structure of large and challenging protein assemblies by high resolution electron microscopy (cryoEM) and X-ray crystallography, in particular bacterial endospores, cell surfaces and membrane protein complexes.


Environmental signalling in the regulation of plant development, in particular the transcriptional regulation of stomatal differentiation. Light and CO2 regulation of stomatal density and the effect on gas exchange and plant viability.


Functional and comparative genomics of bacteria, particularly E. coli and Salmonella. Development of methods for analysing data derived from transposon mutagenesis screens such as TraDIS. Development of user-friendly web interfaces for bacterial genomics.


corriganr

Dr Rebecca Corrigan

Sir Henry Dale Research Fellow

Room: F16
0114 222 4238
r.corrigan@sheffield.ac.uk

Nucleotide signalling systems in the Gram-positive pathogen Staphylococcus aureus, with a particular interest in mapping the (p)ppGpp signalling networks that influence S. aureus persistence and recurrence of infection.


Computational methods to model system dynamics in organisms, including hyphal tip growth in the pathogenic fungus Candida albicans, and peroxisome development in yeast. Image analysis.


Janet

Dr Janet Cronshaw

Teaching Assistant

Room: D05/Perak
0114 222 2822
j.cronshaw@sheffield.ac.uk

Teaching in practicals MBB165 and MBB265 and MBB110 Maths for Biomolecular Sciences


el-khamisys

Prof Sherif El-Khamisy

FRSC FRSB
Director of Research and Innovation

Room: C7b
0114 222 2791
S.El-Khamisy@sheffield.ac.uk

Mammalian genome stability in health and disease. Head of the human DNA repair group aiming to understand how defects in repairing DNA damage cause degenerative disorders, cancer and ageing.


faganr

Dr Robert Fagan

Room: F25a
0114 222 4182
r.fagan@sheffield.ac.uk

S-layer and host interaction of Clostridium difficile: a spore-forming, anaerobic, Gram-positive bacterium which causes severe disease in patients following antibiotic treatment for unrelated infections.


Cell envelope biosynthetic processes and host-cell interactions of the human pathogen Streptococcus pneumoniae. We use deep sequencing approaches, genetic screens and microscopy to study in depth the processes which underpin S. pneumoniae growth within the human host.


Bacterial cell wall structure, function and dynamics in the stress resistance and pathogenesis of the frequently hospital-acquired, multi-antibiotic resistant Gram-positive bacteria Staphylococcus aureus.


Molecular biology of life in extreme environments, especially high salinity and low temperature environments. Bioremediation of polluted groundwater systems. Use of microalgae to produce sustainable biofuels.


grayj

Prof Julie Gray

Room: C34b
0114 222 4407
j.e.gray@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular genetics of stomata. Investigating how environmental change affects both the number of stomata that are produced and their sensitivity to environmental signals such as drought, heat or CO2. Translating research findings to wheat and rice, with the aim of improving drought tolerance and water use efficiency under future climates.


The regulation of bacterial transcription in response to changes in oxygen availability, and to oxidative and nitrosative stress; iron-sulphur proteins as regulators; role of CRP-FNR family transcription factors in bacterial stress responses.


Use of the model yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae and the fruitfly Drosophila melanogaster to study eukaryotic peroxisomes. Particular focus on the role of peroxisome membrane proteins in the biogenesis, maturation, segregation and breakdown of peroxisomes.


Course Coordinator – Human and Molecular Genetics MSc


Using light and electron microscopy to study the structure and function of bacterial ultra-structure. Particular interest in bacterial cytoskeletons, gliding motility complexes and nano-organelles.


Methodology in protein and nucleic acid biochemistry; developing analytical methods for genomics and proteomics, expanding the functional repertoire of natural macromolecular assemblies, remodelling enzymes and toxins.


hub

Dr Bin Hu

Research Fellow

Room: E18a
0114 222 2715
b.hu@sheffield.ac.uk

Eukaryotic cell cycle regulation, with particular focus on protein-DNA interactions in chromosomes and how cells incorporate environmental signals into cell proliferation and how cells make a decision on growth or death upon environmental stress.


huntern

Prof Neil Hunter FRS

Krebs Chair in Biochemistry

Room: E14a
0114 222 4191
c.n.hunter@sheffield.ac.uk

Biogenesis, structure, function and nanotechnology of photosynthetic membrane proteins from phototrophic bacteria and plants. Enzymology of the chlorophyll and carotenoid biosynthesis pathways.


Multidisciplinary techniques such as single-molecule imaging, synthetic biology, biochemistry and microfluidics to study the molecular mechanisms of spatial organization in bacteria, such as cell division and chromosome segregation.


Structure and function of the higher plant photosynthetic membrane.


Lecturer

Course coordinator:

  • MBB265 Practical Molecular Bioscience 2
  • MBB342 Genetics of Cell Growth and Division

kellyd

Prof Dave Kelly

Room: F1a
0114 222 4414
d.kelly@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular physiology and pathogenicity of the food-borne human pathogen Campylobacter jejuni. Transport and metabolic pathways in the versatile phototrophic purple bacterium Rhodopseudomonas palustris.


Andrew

Dr Andrew Lewis

Teaching Assistant

Room: D05/Perak
0114 222 2822
a.p.lewis@sheffield.ac.uk

Teaching in practicals MBB165 and MBB265 and MBB110 Maths for Biomolecular Sciences


Bacterial cell wall organisation of the Gram-positive pathogens Enterococcus faecalis and Staphylococcus aureus, including cell-surface interactions and peptidoglycan layer dynamics.


Building on the discovery and characterisation of the exosome ribonuclease complex (Mitchell et al., 1997; Allmang et al., 1999), my lab’s research addresses the molecular mechanisms of RNA quality control in eukaryotic cells.


Retired

Lecturer in MBB161 Biochemistry - Molecular biomechanics


Human leucocyte antigens, specifically the structure and function of tetraspanins, a conserved family of mammalian transmembrane proteins. Role of tetraspanins in bacterial infection. Monoclonal antibody technology for research and medicine.


pooler

Prof Robert Poole

FRSB FRSC
West Riding Chair in Microbiology

Room: F15a
0114 222 4447
r.poole@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial physiology, in particular respiration, nitric oxide metabolism and oxidative stress in Escherichia coli. Respiratory pathways, globins and metal transport. Antibiotics and novel antimicrobials, especially CO-releasing molecules.


Structural study of proteins and DNA primarily by X-ray crystallography and electron microscopy to gain 3D insights of biological macromolecules and their assemblies. Structure and function relationships.


riced

Prof David Rice

Harrison Chair in Structural Biology

Room: D8c
0114 222 4242
d.rice@sheffield.ac.uk

X-ray crystallography in the analysis of enzyme structure and function to develop an understanding of basic biological mechanisms for rational design of new drugs and the use of enzymes for industrial and biomedical applications.


Course Coordinator – Molecular Biology and Biotechnology MSc


Molecular mechanisms regulating plant development with a particular focus on linking miRNA and hormonal pathways in plant stem cells. Understanding how meristematic cells are programmed will contribute to improving crop productivity.


Structural and mechanistic studies on the mechanism of amyloid fibril formation, the precursor to neurodegenrative conditions including Alzheimer's disease.


sudberyi

Dr Ian Sudbery

Room: B108
0114 222 2738
i.sudbery@sheffield.ac.uk

Understanding how eukaryotes integrate information and regulate gene expression using computational and functional genomics tools, for example miRNAs in transcript destabilisation and translational inhibition.


sudberyp

Prof Peter Sudbery

Roper Chair in Genetics

Room: D05c
0114 222 6186
p.sudbery@sheffield.ac.uk

The molecular and cellular biology of hyphal and pseudohyphal morphogenesis in the human fungal pathogen Candida albicans, the cause of thrush and candidiasis: a lethal infection common in immuno-compromised patients.


Ribosome Biogenesis; Nucleolar stress response; RNA exosome complex.


My research focus is on trying to understand the mechanisms behind upsurges in disease caused by the human pathogen Streptococcus pyogenes (also known as group A Streptococcus).


walthoj

Prof Jon Waltho

Gibson Chair in Biophysics

Room: D12c
0114 222 2717
j.waltho@sheffield.ac.uk

Application of multidimensional NMR methods to solving protein structures, complex formation, kinetics, protein molecular recognition and transition states, particularly in kinases.



The regulation of gene expression in mammals, focusing on mRNA; mRNA export from the nucleus to the cytoplasm; mechanisms of RNA interference. Large scale sequencing and gene function analysis in vertebrates.

Post-docs

Staff Name

Lab

Phone

Email

Principal Investigator

Dr Nathan Adams

E12

22790

nathan.adams@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Amanda Brindley

E12

22790

a.brindley@shef.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Robert Caine

C33

22783

b.caine@sheffield.ac.uk

Julie Gray

Dr Guangyu Chen

E14

24240

guangyu.chen@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Jack Chidgey

E12

22743

j.chidgey@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Peter Davis

D10

22762 / 22729

p.davis@sheffield.ac.uk

Rosie Staniforth

Dr Paul Davison

E12

22743

p.davison@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Nicola Galley

F25

24662

n.galley@sheffield.ac.uk

Stephane Mesnage

Dr Andrew Hitchcock

E12

22743

a.hitchcock@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Lee Hunt

C33

22783

l.hunt@sheffield.ac.uk

Julie Gray

Dr Chunyan Liao

C07

22836

c.liao@sheffield.ac.uk

Sherif El-Khamisy

Dr Victoria Lund

F18

22826

v.lund@sheffield.ac.uk

Simon Foster

Dr Craig MacGregor-Chatwin

E12

22743

c.macgregor-chatwin@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Peter Oatley

F25

24662

p.oatley@sheffield.ac.uk

Robert Fagan

Dr Pu Qian

E12

22743

p.qian@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Ms Namrata Rana

F13

24841

nrana1@sheffield.ac.uk

Robert Poole

Dr Swagat Ray

C07

22836

swagat.ray@sheffield.ac.uk

Sherif El-Khamisy

Dr Matthew Rolfe

F10

22766

m.rolfe@sheffield.ac.uk

Jeffrey Green

Dr Hannah Southam

E12

22743

h.southam@sheffield.ac.uk

Robert Poole

Dr David Swainsbury

E12

22743

d.swainsbury@sheffield.ac.uk

Neil Hunter

Dr Robert Turner

F18

22826

r.d.turner@sheffield.ac.uk

Simon Foster

Dr Cvetelin Vasilev

E9a

22818

c.vasilev@sheffield.ac.uk

Matt Johnson

Neil Hunter

Dr Nicolas Viphakone

E24

22749

n.viphakone@sheffield.ac.uk

Stuart Wilson

Dr Katarzyna Wacnik

F18

22826

k.wacnik@sheffield.ac.uk

Simon Foster

Dr Christa Walther

F20

22776

c.walther@sheffield.ac.uk

Simon Foster

Dr Joseph Webb

F10

22776

j.p.webb@sheffield.ac.uk

Jeffrey Green

Mr Jason Wilson

D11

24325

mbp12jw@sheffield.ac.uk

John Rafferty

Dr Alison Wood

F25

24238

alison.wood@sheffield.ac.uk

Rebecca Corrigan

Dr William Wood

E6a

22743

w.h.wood@sheffield.ac.uk

Matt Johnson

Dr Nicholas Zoulias

E05

22775

n.zoulias@sheffield.ac.uk

Stuart Casson

Support Staff


chittendend

Dawn Chittenden

Room: C102
0114 222 4230
d.chittenden@sheffield.ac.uk

Student Support Manager for MBB
PA to Director of Studies


hansonm

Melanie Hanson

Room: E101 Addison
0114 222 4646
m.r.hanson@sheffield.ac.uk

Accounts


harrisl

Linda Harris

Room: D06
0114 222 2750
linda.harris@sheffield.ac.uk

PA to Head Of Department & postgraduate affairs


hillt

Tom Hill

Room: Perak 1
0114 222 0452

Undergraduate Teaching Labs


hollanda

Anne Holland

Room: Perak 1
0114 222 0452

Undergraduate Teaching Labs


hookerj

Josh Hooker

0114 222 2826
j.hooker@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Technician, Foster Lab


hounslowa

Andrea Hounslow

Room: B107
0114 222 2729
a.m.hounslow@sheffield.ac.uk

NMR Facility Manager


johnsonm

Mark Johnson

Room: D05a
0114 222 4237
m.d.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk

Technical Manager


martinl

Lizzy Martin

Room: E12
0114 222 4240
e.martin@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Technician, Hunter lab


millerj

Jennifer Miller

Room: D05a
0114 222 4105
j.miller@sheffield.ac.uk

Departmental Manager


mortonl

Laura Garwood

Room: C102
0114 222 2320
l.j.morton@sheffield.ac.uk

Student support/Reception

Student support/Reception


nobles

Sarah Noble

Room: Perak 1
0114 222 0450
s.noble@sheffield.ac.uk

Undergraduate Teaching Labs


porteousv

Victoria Porteous-Medley

Room: E24
0114 222 2749
v.porteous@sheffield.ac.uk

Technical/Teaching Support


pricem

Martin Price

Room: E25
0114 222 4181
m.d.price@sheffield.ac.uk

Electrical/PAT testing


robertsr

Ruth Roberts

Room: F10
0114 222 4126 / 4415
r.roberts@sheffield.ac.uk

Research / Safety Officer


robinsong

Gina Robinson

Room: C102
0114 222 2329
gina.robinson@sheffield.ac.uk

MBB Office


rodgersf

Fiona Rodgers

Room: D14
0114 222 4325
h.f.rodgers@sheffield.ac.uk

Technical/Teaching Support


sedelnikovas

Dr Svetlana Sedelnikova

Room: D8b
0114 222 6188
s.e.sedelnikova@sheffield.ac.uk

Protein Purification Facility Manager

Download guide to protein purification


shelleyk

Kirsty Shelley

Room: C102
0114 222 4404
k.l.shelley@sheffield.ac.uk

Student support


stapletonm

Dr Melanie Stapleton

Room: Perak 1
0114 222 0450
m.stapleton@sheffield.ac.uk

Senior Lab Technician, Perak Labs


swiftd

Dean Swift

Room: E37
0114 222 4416
@sheffield.ac.uk

Glasswashing


swiftg

Glennis Swift

Room: E37
0114 222 4416
g.radford@sheffield.ac.uk

Glasswashing


szkutap

Piotr Szkuta

Room: F18
p.t.szkuta@sheffield.ac.uk

Research technician, Foster lab


tzokovs

Dr Svetomir Tzokov

Room: E36
0114 222 2739
s.b.tzokov@sheffield.ac.uk

Electron Microscopy Facility Manager


whyerse

Edwina Whyers

Room: C102
0114 222 2740
e.whyers@sheffield.ac.uk

Undergraduate Admissions Administrator


wilsonk

Krystyna Wilson

Room: C102
0114 222 2730
k.a.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk

Undergraduate Administrato

Emeritus
blackburnm

Em Prof Mike Blackburn

g.m.blackburn@sheffield.ac.uk

Mechanism of phosphoryl transfer in kinases; providing a new understanding of the evolutionary inevitability of phosphates for their truly universal roles in the chemistry of life.


guestj

Em Prof John Guest FRS

j.r.guest@sheffield.ac.uk

Gene cloning and molecular genetic analysis of bacterial enzymes, regulatory proteins and multienzyme complexes. Control of gene expression by oxygen and metabolic activities of genetically-manipulated organisms.


harrisonp

Em Prof Pauline Harrison

p.m.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk

Structure-function relationships in the iron-storage protein, ferritin. Structural and functional relationships among ferritins, di-manganese catalases and other dinuclear metal proteins.


hortonp

Em Prof Peter Horton FRS

Emeritus Professor of Biochemistry

+44 (0) 7714202652
p.horton@sheffield.ac.uk

Interdisciplinary approaches to sustainable food security. Understanding photoprotection in plants; increasing crop yield by optimisation of photosynthesis; analysis of agri-food ecosystems


moira

Em Prof Anne Moir

a.moir@sheffield.ac.uk

The molecular biology of spore germination in Bacillus subtilis and in the Bacillus cereus family, and the structure and assembly of coats and exosporium. The role of sigma M in the stress-resistance of vegetative cells of B. subtilis.