Academic staff

williamsonmProfessor Mike Williamson

Head of Department

Room: D6a
Tel: 0114 222 4224
Email: hod.mbb@sheffield.ac.uk / m.williamson@sheffield.ac.uk

Protein structure determination, protein mobility and interactions with ligands by 2D and 3D NMR. Targets include bacterial pathogenesis proteins and human disease-state proteins.


Patrick BakerDr Patrick Baker

Director of Studies
Deputy Head of Department

Room: D5d
Tel: 0114 222 2725
Email: p.baker@sheffield.ac.uk

Use of protein crystallography to study the structure/function relationships in biological macromolecules, including substrate specificity and chiral synthesis in enzymes and the molecular basis of stability in proteins from extremophiles.

alverylDr Lizzie Alvey

University Teacher

Room: D5b
Tel: 0114 222 4239
Email: e.alvey@sheffield.ac.uk

Course coordinator:

  • MBB265 Practical Molecular Bioscience 2
  • MBB360 Project

andersonrProfessor Roger Anderson

Professor of Genetics

Room: D14a
Tel: 0114 222 6212
Email: r.anderson@sheffield.ac.uk

Course Coordinator:

  • MBB162 Genetics
  • MBB262 Genetics 2
  • MBB339 Evolutionary Genetics
  • MBB363 Genetics Data Handling

barnesrDr Rebecca Barnes

University Teacher

Room: D5b
Tel: 0114 222 4249
Email: r.barnes@sheffield.ac.uk

Course coordinator:

  • MBB110 Maths for Molecular Bioscience
  • MBB165 Practical Molecular Bioscience 1

Julien BergeronDr Julien Bergeron

Lecturer

Room: E36a
Tel: 0114 222 2854
Email: j.bergeron@sheffield.ac.uk

Using cryo-EM and other biophysical methods to study protein nano-machines, in particular the bacterial flagellum and the bacterial cytoskeleton.

dansmallDr Dan Bose

Research Fellow

Room: E21a
Tel: 0114 222 2838
Email: d.bose@sheffield.ac.uk

Studying the regulation of epigenetic-enzyme machinery and chromatin by non-protein coding RNAs, and how this regulation is disrupted in cancer and disease. We use a multidisciplinary approach, encompassing functional genomics, classical biochemistry and cryo-EM.


bulloughpProfessor Per Bullough

Professor of Structural Biology

Room: E36e
Tel: 0114 222 4245
Email: p.bullough@sheffield.ac.uk

Solving the assembly and structure of large and challenging protein assemblies by high resolution electron microscopy (cryoEM) and X-ray crystallography, in particular bacterial endospores, cell surfaces and membrane protein complexes.

cassonsDr Stuart Casson

Lecturer

Room: E7b
Tel: 0114 222 4235
Email: s.casson@sheffield.ac.uk

Environmental signalling in the regulation of plant development, in particular the transcriptional regulation of stomatal differentiation. Light and CO2 regulation of stomatal density and the effect on gas exchange and plant viability.

chaudhurirDr Roy Chaudhuri

Lecturer

Room: B112
Tel: 0114 222 2837
Email: r.chaudhuri@sheffield.ac.uk

Functional and comparative genomics of bacteria, particularly E. coli and Salmonella. Development of methods for analysing data derived from transposon mutagenesis screens such as TraDIS. Development of user-friendly web interfaces for bacterial genomics.


corriganrDr Rebecca Corrigan

Research Fellow

Room: F16
Tel: 0114 222 4238
Email: r.corrigan@sheffield.ac.uk

Nucleotide signalling systems in the Gram-positive pathogen Staphylococcus aureus, with a particular interest in mapping the (p)ppGpp signalling networks that influence S. aureus persistence and recurrence of infection.

cravenjDr Jeremy Craven

Senior Lecturer

Room: D14b
Tel: 0114 222 4323
Email: c.j.craven@sheffield.ac.uk

Computational methods to model system dynamics in organisms, including hyphal tip growth in the pathogenic fungus Candida albicans, and peroxisome development in yeast. Image analysis.

JanetDr Janet Cronshaw

Teaching Assistant

Room: D5/Perak
Tel: 0114 222 2822
Email: j.cronshaw@sheffield.ac.uk

Teaching in practicals MBB165 Practical Molecular Bioscience 1, MBB265 Practical Molecular Bioscience 2 and MBB110 Maths for Biomolecular Sciences


el-khamisysProfessor Sherif El-Khamisy

Professor of Molecular Medicine
Director of Research and Innovation

Room: C7b
Tel: 0114 222 2791
Email: S.El-Khamisy@sheffield.ac.uk

Mammalian genome stability in health and disease. Head of the human DNA repair group aiming to understand how defects in repairing DNA damage cause degenerative disorders, cancer and ageing.


faganrDr Robert Fagan

Lecturer

Room: F25a
Tel: 0114 222 4182
Email: r.fagan@sheffield.ac.uk

S-layer and host interaction of Clostridium difficile: a spore-forming, anaerobic, Gram-positive bacterium which causes severe disease in patients following antibiotic treatment for unrelated infections.

Andrew FentonDr Andrew Fenton

Research Fellow

Room: G08
Tel: 0114 222 2832
Email: a.k.fenton@sheffield.ac.uk

Cell envelope biosynthetic processes and host-cell interactions of the human pathogen Streptococcus pneumoniae. We use deep sequencing approaches, genetic screens and microscopy to study in depth the processes which underpin S. pneumoniae growth within the human host.


fostersProfessor Simon Foster

Professor of Molecular Microbiology

Room: F18a
Tel: 0114 222 4411
Email: s.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial cell wall structure, function and dynamics in the stress resistance and pathogenesis of the frequently hospital-acquired, multi-antibiotic resistant Gram-positive bacteria Staphylococcus aureus.

gilmourjDr Jim Gilmour

Senior Lecturer

Room: F3a
Tel: 0114 222 4412
Email: d.j.gilmour@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular biology of life in extreme environments, especially high salinity and low temperature environments. Bioremediation of polluted groundwater systems. Use of microalgae to produce sustainable biofuels.


grayjProfessor Julie Gray

Professor of Molecular Genetics

Room: C34b
Tel: 0114 222 4407
Email: j.e.gray@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular genetics of stomata. Investigating how environmental change affects both the number of stomata that are produced and their sensitivity to environmental signals such as drought, heat or CO2. Translating research findings to wheat and rice, with the aim of improving drought tolerance and water use efficiency under future climates.

greenjProfessor Jeff Green

Professor of Microbiology

Room: F10a
Tel: 0114 222 4403
Email: jeff.green@sheffield.ac.uk

The regulation of bacterial transcription in response to changes in oxygen availability, and to oxidative and nitrosative stress; iron-sulphur proteins as regulators; role of CRP-FNR family transcription factors in bacterial stress responses.

hettemaeDr Ewald Hettema

Reader in Molecular Cell Biology

Room: E28
Tel: 0114 222 2732
Email: e.hettema@sheffield.ac.uk

Use of the model yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae and the fruitfly Drosophila melanogaster to study eukaryotic peroxisomes. Particular focus on the role of peroxisome membrane proteins in the biogenesis, maturation, segregation and breakdown of peroxisomes.

hodgsonaDr Adam Hodgson

University Teacher

Room: E3a
Tel: 0114 222 4186
Email: a.hodgson@sheffield.ac.uk

Course Coordinator:

  • Human and Molecular Genetics MSc

hoiczykeDr Egbert Hoiczyk

Senior Lecturer

Room: F21
Tel: 0114 222 2733
Email: e.hoiczyk@sheffield.ac.uk

Using light and electron microscopy to study the structure and function of bacterial ultra-structure. Particular interest in bacterial cytoskeletons, gliding motility complexes and nano-organelles.

hornbydProfessor David Hornby

Professor of Biochemistry

Room: F22a
Tel: 0114 222 4232
Email: d.hornby@sheffield.ac.uk

Methodology in protein and nucleic acid biochemistry; developing analytical methods for genomics and proteomics, expanding the functional repertoire of natural macromolecular assemblies, remodelling enzymes and toxins.

hubDr Bin Hu

Research Fellow

Room: E18a
Tel: 0114 222 2715
Email: b.hu@sheffield.ac.uk

Eukaryotic cell cycle regulation, with particular focus on protein-DNA interactions in chromosomes and how cells incorporate environmental signals into cell proliferation and how cells make a decision on growth or death upon environmental stress.

hunternProfessor Neil Hunter FRS

Krebs Chair in Biochemistry

Room: E14a
Tel: 0114 222 4191
Email: c.n.hunter@sheffield.ac.uk

Biogenesis, structure, function and nanotechnology of photosynthetic membrane proteins from phototrophic bacteria and plants. Enzymology of the chlorophyll and carotenoid biosynthesis pathways.

hwanglDr Ling Chin Hwang

Lecturer

Room: F09a
Tel: 0114 222 2847
Email: l.hwang@sheffield.ac.uk

Multidisciplinary techniques such as single-molecule imaging, synthetic biology, biochemistry and microfluidics to study the molecular mechanisms of spatial organization in bacteria, such as cell division and chromosome segregation.

johnsonmDr Matt Johnson

Lecturer

Room: E6a
Tel: 0114 222 4418
Email: matt.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk

Photosynthetic dynamics; covering key apsects of thylakoid membrane organisation, membrane protein structure, light harvesting and electron transfer regulation and biommimetic photosynthetic systems.

joneseDr Emma Jones

University Teacher

Room: D5b
Tel: 0114 222 2764
Email: emma.jones@sheffield.ac.uk

Course coordinator:

  • MBB265 Practical Molecular Bioscience 2
  • MBB342 Genetics of Cell Growth and Division

kellydProfessor Dave Kelly

Professor of Microbiology

Room: F1a
Tel: 0114 222 4414
Email: d.kelly@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular physiology and pathogenicity of the food-borne human pathogen Campylobacter jejuni. Transport and metabolic pathways in the versatile phototrophic purple bacterium Rhodopseudomonas palustris.

Andrew Dr Andrew Lewis

Teaching Assistant

Room: D05/Perak
Tel: 0114 222 2822
Email: a.p.lewis@sheffield.ac.uk

Teaching in practicals MBB165 and MBB265 and MBB110 Maths for Biomolecular Sciences

mesnagesDr Stéphane Mesnage

Lecturer

Room: F22b
Tel: 0114 222 4405
Email: s.mesnage@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial cell wall organisation of the Gram-positive pathogens Enterococcus faecalis and Staphylococcus aureus, including cell-surface interactions and peptidoglycan layer dynamics.

mitchellpDr Phil Mitchell

Lecturer

Room: E22a
Tel: 0114 222 2821
Email: p.j.mitchell@sheffield.ac.uk

Building on the discovery and characterisation of the exosome ribonuclease complex (Mitchell et al., 1997; Allmang et al., 1999), my lab’s research addresses the molecular mechanisms of RNA quality control in eukaryotic cells.

partridgelDr Lynda Partridge

Senior Lecturer

Room: E7a
Tel: 0114 222 4185
Email: l.partridge@sheffield.ac.uk

Human leucocyte antigens, specifically the structure and function of tetraspanins, a conserved family of mammalian transmembrane proteins. Role of tetraspanins in bacterial infection. Monoclonal antibody technology for research and medicine.

poolerProfessor Robert Poole

West Riding Chair in Microbiology

Room: F15a
Tel: 0114 222 4447
Email: r.poole@sheffield.ac.uk

Bacterial physiology, in particular respiration, nitric oxide metabolism and oxidative stress in Escherichia coli. Respiratory pathways, globins and metal transport. Antibiotics and novel antimicrobials, especially CO-releasing molecules.

raffertyjDr John Rafferty

Reader in Structural Biology

Room: D8a
Tel: 0114 222 2809
Email: j.rafferty@sheffield.ac.uk

Structural study of proteins and DNA primarily by X-ray crystallography and electron microscopy to gain 3D insights of biological macromolecules and their assemblies. Structure and function relationships.

ricedProfessor David Rice

Harrison Chair in Structural Biology

Room: D8c
Tel: 0114 222 4242
Email: d.rice@sheffield.ac.uk

X-ray crystallography in the analysis of enzyme structure and function to develop an understanding of basic biological mechanisms for rational design of new drugs and the use of enzymes for industrial and biomedical applications.

sheikhqDr Qaiser I Sheikh

Lecturer

Room: E10a
Tel: 0114 222 4246
Email: q.i.sheikh@sheffield.ac.uk

Course Coordinator:

  • Molecular Biology and Biotechnology MSc

sorefankDr Karim Sorefan

Lecturer

Room: E1a
Tel: 0114 222 2720
Email: k.sorefan@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular mechanisms regulating plant development with a particular focus on linking miRNA and hormonal pathways in plant stem cells. Understanding how meristematic cells are programmed will contribute to improving crop productivity.

staniforthrDr Rosie Staniforth

Lecturer

Room: D7a
Tel: 0114 222 2761
Email: r.a.staniforth@sheffield.ac.uk

Structural and mechanistic studies on the mechanism of amyloid fibril formation, the precursor to neurodegenrative conditions including Alzheimer's disease.

sudberyiDr Ian Sudbery

Lecturer

Room: B108
Tel: 0114 222 2738
Email: i.sudbery@sheffield.ac.uk

Understanding how eukaryotes integrate information and regulate gene expression using computational and functional genomics tools, for example miRNAs in transcript destabilisation and translational inhibition.

sudberypProfessor Peter Sudbery

Roper Chair in Genetics

Room: D05c
0114 222 6186
p.sudbery@sheffield.ac.uk

The molecular and cellular biology of hyphal and pseudohyphal morphogenesis in the human fungal pathogen Candida albicans, the cause of thrush and candidiasis: a lethal infection common in immuno-compromised patients.

emmaThomsonDr Emma Thomson

Research Fellow

Room: E18b
Tel: 0114 222 2845
Email: e.thomson@sheffield.ac.uk

Ribosome Biogenesis; Nucleolar stress response; RNA exosome complex.

CTurnerDr Claire Turner

Research Fellow

Room: F15b
Tel: 0114 222 2819
Email: c.e.turner@sheffield.ac.uk

My research focus is on trying to understand the mechanisms behind upsurges in disease caused by the human pathogen Streptococcus pyogenes (also known as group A Streptococcus).

walthojProfessor Jon Waltho

Gibson Chair in Biophysics

Room: D12c
Tel: 0114 222 2717
Email: j.waltho@sheffield.ac.uk

Application of multidimensional NMR methods to solving protein structures, complex formation, kinetics, protein molecular recognition and transition states, particularly in kinases.

wilsonsProfessor Stuart Wilson

Professor of Genetics

Room: E24a
Tel: 0114 222 2849
Email: stuart.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk

The regulation of gene expression in mammals, focusing on mRNA; mRNA export from the nucleus to the cytoplasm; mechanisms of RNA interference. Large scale sequencing and gene function analysis in vertebrates.