Named Chairs

The research activity in the department is divided into four main areas: Biochemistry and Genomics, Cell Biology and Genetics, Molecular Microbiology, and Structural Biology.

The Academic Leadership for both teaching and research in each of these research areas, was conferred upon Prof Neil Hunter (Krebs Chair in Biochemistry), Prof Stuart Wilson (Roper Chair in Genetics), Prof David Rice (Harrison Chair in Structural Biology), Prof Jon Waltho (Gibson Chair in Biophysics) to complement the existing West Riding Chair in Microbiology currently held by Prof Robert Poole.

Krebs Chair in Biochemistry

Founder: Sir Hans Krebs


About Sir Hans Krebs

Holder: Professor Neil Hunter

Neil Hunter

About Prof Neil Hunter

Roper Chair in Genetics

Founder: Professor Alan Roper

Alan Roper

About Prof Alan Roper

Holder: Professor Stuart Wilson


About Prof Stuart Wilson

Harrison Chair in Structural Biology

Founder: Prof Pauline Harrison

Pauline Harrison

About Prof Pauline Harrison

Holder: Prof David Rice

David Rice

About Prof David Rice

West Riding Chair in Microbiology

Founder: Prof Sidney Elsden

Sidney Elsden

Holder: Prof Robert Poole

Robert Poole

About Prof Robert Poole

Gibson Chair in Biophysics

Founder: Quentin H Gibson


About Prof Quentin Gibson

Holder: Prof Jon Waltho

Jon Waltho

About Prof Jon Waltho