Department of Mechanical Engineering

Head of Department and Key Department Contacts

Name Role Telephone Email
Professor Neil Sims Head of Department (0114) 222 7724 n.sims@sheffield.ac.uk
Julie Fryer PA to Head of Department (0114) 222 7712 j.e.fryer@sheffield.ac.uk
Melanie Scannell Department Administration Manager (0114) 222 7702 m.scannell@sheffield.ac.uk
Phillip Pickstock Departmental Technical Manager

(0114) 222 7844

p.pickstock@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

 

Academic Staff

Below is a list of current academic staff in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Each person’s name links through to their personal profile where available.

Name Role Telephone Email
Abulrub, Dr H Senior University Teacher in Engineering Management (0)114 222 7743 h.abulrub@sheffield.ac.uk
Barthorpe, Dr R J Lecturer (0114) 222 7762 r.j.barthorpe@sheffield.ac.uk
Beagles, Dr A Lecturer (0114) 222 7814 a.beagles@sheffield.ac.uk
Blakey, Dr S Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7819 s.blakey@sheffield.ac.uk
Beck, Professor S Head of Multidisciplinary Engineering Education (0114) 222 7730 s.beck@sheffield.ac.uk
Carre, Dr M J Reader (0114) 222 7839 m.j.carre@sheffield.ac.uk
Cross, Dr E Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7846 e.j.cross@sheffield.ac.uk
Curiel Sosa, Dr J L Lecturer (0114) 222 7857 j.curiel-sosa@sheffield.ac.uk
Dervilis, Dr N Lecturer (0114) 222 7816 N.Dervilis@sheffield.ac.uk
Dwyer-Joyce, Professor R Professor (0114) 222 7736 r.dwyer-joyce@sheffield.ac.uk
Fairclough, Professor P Professor (0114) 222 7798 p.fairclough@sheffield.ac.uk
Fletcher, Dr D Reader (0114) 222 7760 d.i.fletcher@sheffield.ac.uk
Ghadbeigi, Dr H Lecturer (0114) 222 7748 h.ghadbeigi@sheffield.ac.uk
Gibbs, Dr B Senior University Teacher (0114) 222 7732 b.gibbs@sheffield.ac.uk
Gibbins, Professor J Professor (0114) 215 7234 j.gibbins@sheffield.ac.uk
Gitman, Dr I Lecturer (0114) 222 7728 i.gitman@sheffield.ac.uk
He, Professor S Professor (0114) 222 7756 s.he@sheffield.ac.uk
Horoshenkov, Professor K Professor (0114) 222 7855 k.horoshenkov@sheffield.ac.uk
Howell, Dr R J Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7725 r.howell@sheffield.ac.uk
Hughes, Dr B Reader (0114) 215 7216 ben.hughes@sheffield.ac.uk
Hughes, Dr K Senior Lecturer (0114) 215 7214 k.j.hughes@sheffield.ac.uk
Ingham, Professor D Professor (0114) 215 7215 d.ingham@sheffield.ac.uk
Khandelwal, Dr B Lecturer b.khandelwal@sheffield.ac.uk
Krynkin, Dr A Lecturer (0114) 222 7847 a.krynkin@sheffield.ac.uk
Lacroix, Professor D Professor d.lacroix@sheffield.ac.uk
Lewis, Professor R Professor (0114) 222 7838 roger.lewis@sheffield.ac.uk
Li, Dr X Lecturer (0114) 222 7786 xinshan.li@sheffield.ac.uk
Lord, Dr C Lecturer (0114) 222 7888 c.lord@sheffield.ac.uk
Long, Dr H Reader (0114) 222 7759 h.long@sheffield.ac.uk
Ma, Professor L Professor (0114) 215 7212 lin.ma@sheffield.ac.uk
Majewski, Dr C Lecturer (0114) 222 7791 c.majewski@sheffield.ac.uk
Manson, Dr G A Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7790 graeme.manson@sheffield.ac.uk
Marshall, Prof M B Professor (0114) 222 7737 m.b.marshall@sheffield.ac.uk
Marzo, Dr A Lecturer (0114) 222 0155 a.marzo@sheffield.ac.uk
MazzĂ , Dr C Lecturer (0114) 222 6073 c.mazza@sheffield.ac.uk
Mumtaz, Dr K Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7789 k.mumtaz@sheffield.ac.uk
Nicolleau, Dr F C G A Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7887 f.nicolleau@sheffield.ac.uk
Nimmo, Dr B Reader (0114) 215 7213 w.nimmo@sheffield.ac.uk
Nowakowski, Dr A F Lecturer (0114) 222 7812 a.f.nowakowski@sheffield.ac.uk
Perrault, Dr C Lecturer c.perrault@sheffield.ac.uk
Pinna, Dr C Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7831 c.pinna@sheffield.ac.uk
Polson, D Senior University Teacher d.polson@sheffield.ac.uk
Pourkashanian, Professor M Professor (0114) 215 7222 m.pourkashanian@sheffield.ac.uk
Qin, Professor N Professor (0114) 222 7718 n.qin@sheffield.ac.uk
Ricco, Dr P Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7726 p.ricco@sheffield.ac.uk
Rongong, Dr J A Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7845 j.a.rongong@sheffield.ac.uk
Rowson, Dr J Lecturer (0114) 222 7878 j.rowson@sheffield.ac.uk
Sims, N Prof. Professor, Head of Department (0114) 222 7724 n.sims@sheffield.ac.uk
Slatter, Dr T Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7772 tom.slatter@sheffield.ac.uk
Smith, Dr P J Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7738 patrick.smith@sheffield.ac.uk
Tarnowski, Dr K University Teacher (0)114 222 7721 k.tarnowski@sheffield.ac.uk
Tomlinson, Dr R A Senior Lecturer (0114) 222 7757 r.a.tomlinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Wagg, Professor D Professor (0114) 222 0168 david.wagg@sheffield.ac.uk
Wood, Dr G University Teaching Fellow in Professional Skills (0114) 222 4033 g.c.wood@sheffield.ac.uk
Woolley, Dr R Lecturer (0114) 222 7711 rob.woolley@sheffield.ac.uk
Worden, Professor K Professor (0114) 222 7758 k.worden@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhang, Professor Y Professor (0114) 222 7780 yz100@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

 

Emeritus Professors

Name Telephone Email
Brown, Professor M W (0114) 222 7732 m.brown@sheffield.ac.uk
Howard, Professor I C (0114) 222 7740 i.howard@sheffield.ac.uk
Swamy, Professor R N (0114) 222 7712 r.n.swamy@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top