The University Senate

As at 18 May 2025

The President & Vice-Chancellor Professor Koen Lamberts

The Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Robert Mokaya OBE

The Vice-Presidents

Education Professor Mary Vincent
Research & Innovation Professor Sue Hartley OBE

Vice-Presidents & Heads of the

Faculty of Arts & Humanities Professor Susan Fitzmaurice
Faculty of Engineering Professor Conchúr Ó Brádaigh
Faculty of Health Professor Tracey Moore (Interim)

Faculty of Science Professor John Derrick
Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Ruth Blakeley

Faculty Directors of Education

Faculty of Arts & Humanities Louise Glover (Interim)
Faculty of Engineering Professor Matt Carré
Faculty of Health Dr Vanessa Halliday

Faculty of Science Professor Andrew Beckerman

Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Graham Gee

Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation

Faculty of Arts & Humanities Professor Nikki Dibben
Faculty of Engineering Professor Lizzy Cross
Faculty of Health Professor Paul Hatton
Faculty of Science Professor Andrew Fleming
Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Kate Dommett

Chairs of Senate Committees who are not otherwise members

Chair of the Senate University Research Ethics Committee: Dr Jennifer Burr (School of Medicine and Population Health)

Heads of Department/School¹ nominated by Faculty on an annual basis (2024-25)

Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Professor Tom Baldwin Professor Adrian Bingham Professor Jane Hodson Professor Richard Kirkham

¹ In situations where there are fewer Heads to choose from than the number of positions to be filled, paragraph 2.1.10 of Regulation IX allows Faculties the flexibility to nominate other persons of sufficient seniority or equivalence within the Faculty who aren't already members of the Senate.

Faculty of Engineering

Professor Heidi Christensen Professor Joan Cordiner Professor Martin Mayfield Professor Nicola Morley Professor George Panoutsos

Faculty of Health

Professor Syed Ali Khurram Professor Judy Clegg Dr Louise Preston Professor Stephen Renshaw Professor Mark Strong

Faculty of Science

Professor Robert Freckleton Dr Chris Martin Professor Jeremy Oakley Professor Luke Wilson

Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Briony Birdi Professor Sarah Brown Professor Stephen Hincks Professor Rebecca Lawthom Professor Felicity Matthews Professor Fraser McLeay Professor Helen Woolley

Extra-Faculty

Joanna Coley Professor Ben Morgan TBC

Chief Operating Officer

University Librarian Anna Clements

Elected representatives of staff in Grade 7 & above

Elected for the period until 2027

Dr Asha Akram Faculty of Science

Dr SJ Cooper-Knock Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Rob Sykes

Dr Francesca Henshaw Faculty of Science Professor Janine Kirby Faculty of Health

Dr Robyn Orfitelli Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Elected for the period until 2026

Professor Peter Bath Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Laurence Brooks Faculty of Social Sciences

Dr Charlotte Codina Faculty of Health

The University Senate

Dr Laura Gray Faculty of Health
Professor Russell Hand Faculty of Engineering

Tom Hodgson Extra-Faculty

Professor Visakan Kadirkamanathan Faculty of Engineering Dr Inge Kersbergen Faculty of Health

Dr Nicky Stubbs Faculty of Social Sciences

Elected for the period until 2025

Dan Barcroft
Professional Services
Professor Stephen Beck
Professor John Flint
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Matthew Gilbert
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Science
Professor Matt Marshall
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Hoalth

Professor Cheryl Miller Faculty of Health
Professor David Mowbray Faculty of Science

Professor Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Dr Siobhán North Faculty of Engineering
Professor Simon Rushton Faculty of Social Sciences
Dr Neil Walkinshaw Faculty of Engineering

Six Student Officers

Students' Union President

Students' Union Education Officer

Students' Union representative

Tomás Rocha Lawrence (2023-25)

The Secretary to the Senate David Swinn (The University Secretary) (Interim)