THE UNIVERSITY SENATE

As at 1 January 2024

The President & Vice-Chancellor

Professor Koen Lamberts

The Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Vacancy

The Vice-Presidents

EducationProfessor Mary VincentResearch & InnovationProfessor Sue Hartley OBE

Vice-Presidents & Heads of the

Advanced Manufacturing GroupProfessor Geraint JewellFaculty of Arts & HumanitiesProfessor Susan FitzmauriceFaculty of EngineeringProfessor Conchúr Ó Brádaigh

Faculty of Health Professor Ashley Blom
Faculty of Science Professor John Derrick
Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Craig Watkins

Faculty Directors of Education

Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid

Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid

Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid

Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid

Faculty of EngineeringProfessor Matt CarréFaculty of HealthDr Vanessa Halliday

Faculty of Science Professor Louise Robson (Interim)

Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Graham Gee

Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation

Faculty of Arts & Humanities Professor Nikki Dibben

Faculty of Engineering Professor Mark Dickman (Interim)

Faculty of Health Professor Paul Hatton
Faculty of Science Professor Andrew Fleming
Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Ruth Blakeley

Chairs of Senate Committees who are not otherwise members

Chair of the Senate University Research Ethics Committee Dr Jennifer Burr (Faculty of Health)

Heads of Departments² nominated by Faculty on an annual basis (2023-24)

AMRC Training Centre Nikki Jones
Automatic Control & Systems Engineering Professor George Panoutsos

Chemical & Biological Engineering
Civil & Structural Engineering
Division of Neuroscience
Division of Population Health
Professor Arshad Majid
Dr Louise Preston

¹ The FDE for Arts & Humanities for 2023-24 has already been appointed as an elected member of the Senate.

² The Faculty of Health has an allocation of five representatives in this category for 2023-24, as per paragraph 2.1.6 of Regulation IX. This includes the Deans of the three Schools in the Faculty, along with two Division Heads, as per paragraph 2.1.10 of Regulation IX.

Electronic & Electrical Engineering English Language Teaching Centre

Landscape Architecture

Law

Lifelong Learning Management School

Materials Science & Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Physics & Astronomy

Politics & International Relations

Psychology

School of Allied Health Professions, Nursing & Midwifery

School of Biosciences School of Clinical Dentistry School of East Asian Studies

School of Education School of English

School of Mathematics & Statistics School of Medicine & Population Health

Sheffield Methods Institute

Professor Chee Hing Tan Dr Richard Simpson Professor Helen Woolley Professor Richard Kirkham Professor Willy Kitchen Professor Rachael Finn

Professor Nicola Morley (Interim)

Professor Lizzy Cross Professor Luke Wilson Professor Charlotte Burns

Dr Chris Martin

Professor Tracey Moore Professor Robert Freckleton Professor Dan Lambert Professor Kate Taylor-Jones Professor Rebecca Lawthom Professor Jane Hodson Professor Jeremy Oakley Professor Mark Strong Professor Kate Reed

Chief Operating Officer

Rob Sykes

University Librarian

Anna Clements

Elected representatives of staff in Grade 7 and above

For the period until 2026

Professor Peter Bath Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Laurence Brooks Dr Charlotte Codina Faculty of Health Professional Services Dr Tim Cooper Faculty of Health Dr Laura Gray Dr Sarah Hale Extra-Faculty Professor Russell Hand Faculty of Engineering

Tom Hodgson

Professor Visakan Kadirkamanathan Dr Inge Kersbergen

Nicky Stubbs Charlotte Williams

For the period until 2025

Dan Barcroft Professor Stephen Beck Professor Briony Birdi Professor John Flint

Steve Foxley

Professor Matthew Gilbert

Dr Sam Marsh

Professor Matt Marshall Professor Cheryl Miller Professor David Mowbray Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid

Dr Siobhán North

Professor Simon Rushton Dr Neil Walkinshaw

Faculty of Social Sciences

Extra-Faculty

Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Health Faculty of Social Sciences Professional Services

Professional Services Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Social Sciences Faculty of Social Sciences

Extra-Faculty

Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Science Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Health Faculty of Science

Faculty of Arts and Humanities Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Social Sciences

Faculty of Engineering

For the period until 2024

Professor Sumon Bhaumik Professor Caitlin Buck Dr Joshua Forstenzer

Matt Jones

Professor Janine Kirby

Dr Ben Purvis

Faculty of Social Sciences

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Professional Services Faculty of Health

Faculty of Social Sciences

Six Student Officers

President

Education Officer

Students' Union representative Students' Union representative Students' Union representative

Students' Union representative

Lily Byrne (2023-24)

Maria Lourido Moreno (2023-24)

Tomás Rocha (Liberation Officer) (2023-24)

Nana Musa (2022-24) Heather Sadiq (2022-24)

TBC

The Secretary to the Senate

Jeannette Strachan (The University Secretary)