

## University Secretary's Office.

## Composition of the Senate, 2019-20

## Regulation IX1:

The Senate

- 2. Composition of the Senate
  - 2.1 The Senate shall consist of:
    - 2.1.1 The President & Vice-Chancellor  $(1)^2$ .
    - 2.1.2 The Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor (1)
    - 2.1.3 The Vice-Presidents and Heads of Faculty (5).
    - 2.1.4 The Vice-Presidents for Education and Research and Innovation (3).
    - 2.1.5 The following Faculty Officers:
      - the Directors of Learning and Teaching (5);
      - the Directors of Research and Innovation (5).
    - 2.1.6 Heads or acting Heads nominated from the following Departments to the Senate by and from each of the Faculty, with the number from each Faculty (including extra-Faculty provision) being equal to those set out in accordance with 2.1.7 below  $(26)^3$ : Animal and Plant Sciences, Archaeology, Architecture, Automatic Control and Systems Engineering, Biomedical Science, Chemistry, Chemical and Biological Engineering, Civil and Structural Engineering, Clinical Dentistry, Computer Science, East Asian Studies, Economics, Education, Electronic and Electrical Engineering, English, Geography, Health and Related Research, Health Sciences, History, Infection, Immunity and Cardiovascular Disease, Information School, Journalism Studies, Landscape Architecture, Languages and Cultures, Law, Lifelong Learning, Management, Materials Science and Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical School, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Music, Neuroscience, Oncology and Metabolism, Philosophy, Physics and Astronomy, Politics, Psychology, Sheffield Methods Institute, Sociological Studies and Urban Studies and Planning.
    - 2.1.7 Academic, Teaching, and Research Staff of the University in Grades 7 and above with twenty-six (26) elected by and from that population in each of the Faculties. Such representatives shall normally hold office for three years, with approximately a third being open to election each year. These shall be elected by Faculty constituencies, the total to be divided in number in proportion to the size of the electorate in each Faculty, to be determined annually.
    - 2.1.8 Student members comprising six (6) in total from:
      - the President.
      - the Education Officer,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> These are in draft, and not the Regulations themselves.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The numbers in brackets are for reference only and will be removed from the Regulation itself.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The proposal regarding the organisation of departments within the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health, on the Senate agenda, has been adopted here.

- four other representatives nominated by the Students' Union.
- 2.1.9 Professional Services staff members comprising six (6) in total from:
  - the Director of Academic Services.
  - the University Librarian.
  - four Professional Services staff in Grades 7 and above elected by and from the Professional Services staff of the University.
- 2.3 Members appointed under paragraph 2.1.8. and 2.1.9 shall be members only in respect of the powers of the Senate under paragraphs 1.1.4 to 1.1.11.
- 2.4 Deputies are not permitted except in the following categories and subject to the following conditions, who may appoint a deputy for a specific meeting:
  - 2.4.1 a Head or acting Head of Department may appoint a deputy from the Heads of Department of the Faculty concerned;
  - 2.4.2 the Director of Library Services and Director of Academic Services may only appoint a deputy from their own direct reports;
  - an Officer of the Students' Union who is a member under paragraph 2.1.8 may appoint a deputy from the Sabbatical Officers or the Students' Union Council member nominated for this purpose by the President of the Students' Union.
  - 2.4.4 The University Secretary must be notified in advance by the member of Senate that they have nominated a deputy for the specific meeting.
- 2.5 Twenty members of the Senate, including not fewer than eleven members of the senior academic staff (Professors and Heads of Department), shall form a quorum.
- 2.6 In these Regulations "Head of Department" means the Head or Chair of the relevant Department, and "Department" includes, where appropriate, Centre, Division, School or Unit where Senate intends them to have the related delegated powers and as such they are listed in 2.1.6 above.
- 2.7 The Senate shall, in addition to the members in 2.1 above, co-opt such members as may be necessary to ensure that:
  - 2.7.1 the senior members of the academic staff (Heads of Department and Professors) shall constitute the majority of the Senate
  - 2.7.2. Chairs of Senate committees not otherwise in the membership of the Senate are exofficio members.
- 2.8. The University Secretary attends as secretary to the Senate.