# The Senate: Constitution and Membership at 1 January 2020

#### **President & Vice-Chancellor**

Professor Koen Lamberts

### **Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor**

Professor Gill Valentine

#### **Vice-Presidents**

Education	Professor Wyn Morgan
Innovation	Professor Dave Petley
Research	Professor Sue Hartley

### Vice-Presidents & Heads of Faculty

Faculty of Arts & Humanities	Professor Susan Fitzmaurice
Faculty of Engineering	Professor Mike Hounslow
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health	Professor Chris Newman (Interim)
Faculty of Science	Professor John Derrick
Faculty of Social Sciences	Professor Craig Watkins

#### Faculty Directors of Learning & Teaching

Faculty of Arts & Humanities	Dr David Forrest
Faculty of Engineering	Professor Rachel Horn
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health	Dr Vanessa Halliday
Faculty of Science	Professor Luke Wilson
Faculty of Social Sciences	Professor Kate Morris

#### **Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation**

Faculty of Arts & Humanities	Professor Nicola Dibben
Faculty of Engineering	Professor George Panoutsos
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health	Professor Wendy Baird
Faculty of Science	Professor Simon Foster
Faculty of Social Sciences	Professor John Flint

#### Chairs of Committees who are not otherwise members

Professor Richard Jackson

### Heads of Departments nominated by Faculty

Architecture	Professor Karim Hadjri
Automatic Control & Systems Engineering	Professor Daniel Coca
Biomedical Science	Professor Kathryn Ayscough
Chemical & Biological Engineering	Professor Jim Litster
Chemistry	Professor Graham Leggett
Civil & Structural Engineering	Professor Joby Boxall
School of Clinical Dentistry	Professor Chris Deery
Computer Science	Professor Guy Brown
School of Education	Professor Elizabeth Wood
Electronic & Electrical Engineering	Professor Chee Hing Tan
Health Sciences School	Professor Tracey Moore
History	Professor Adrian Bingham

Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease	Professor Tim Chico
Journalism Studies	Professor Jacqueline Harrison
Law	Professor Graham Gee
Lifelong Learning	Dr Willy Kitchen
Mechanical Engineering	Professor Neil Sims
Molecular Biology & Biotechnology	Professor Mike Williamson
Music	Dr Simon Keegan-Phipps
Oncology & Metabolism	Professor Allan Pacey
Physics & Astronomy	Professor Paul Crowther
Politics	Professor Andy Hindmoor
Psychology	Professor Glenn Waller
School of Health & Related Research	Professor John Brazier
Sociological Studies	Professor Nathan Hughes
Urban Studies & Planning	Professor Malcolm Tait

#### The Librarian

Mrs Anne Horn

#### The Executive Director of Academic Services

Mr Rob Sykes

## Elected representatives of staff in Grade 7 & above

## For the period until 2022

Professor Stephen Beck	Faculty of Engineering
Dr Lynne Bingle	Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health
Mrs Anna Cantrell	Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health
Dr Julian Crockford	Professional Services
Professor Jane Grasby	Faculty of Science
Professor Russell Hand	Faculty of Engineering
Mrs Ana Hidalgo-Kingston	Professional Services
Dr Nicholas Murgatroyd	Extra-Faculty
Dr Siobhán North	Faculty of Engineering
Mrs Zoe Ollerenshaw	Faculty of Social Sciences
Dr Stefanie Pukallus	Faculty of Social Sciences
Dr Simon Rushton	Faculty of Social Sciences
Dr Sarah Staniland	Faculty of Science
Professor Mary Vincent	Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Dr Thomas Walther	Faculty of Engineering

## For the period until 2021

Dr Parveen Ali	Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health
Professor Sumon Bhaumik	Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Caitlin Buck	Faculty of Science
Dr Julie Jones	Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Janine Kirby	Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health
Dr Louise Robson	Faculty of Science
Mr Richard Simpson	Professional Services

## For the period until 2020

Mr Abualbishr Alshreef	Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health
Professor Peter Bath	Faculty of Social Sciences
Mrs Lisa Bradley	Faculty of Social Sciences
Ms Peta Kirk	Faculty of Engineering

Professor Lorraine Maltby	Faculty of Science
Mr Dan Newberry	Professional Services
Professor Derek Sinclair	Faculty of Engineering

## **Six Student Officers**

President	Mr Jake Verity
Education Officer	Mr Charlie Porter
Students' Union representative	Mr Dimitrios Boufidis
Students' Union representative	Ms Loma Jones
Students' Union representative	Ms Mengya Li (International Officer)
Students' Union representative	Ms Charlea Murphy

# Secretary to the Senate

Dr Tony Strike (University Secretary)
---------------------------------------