## **Biosafety Committee**

## **Terms of Reference:**

- Approve or reject all experimental work using genetically modified (GM) and wild-type
  organisms (including viruses and derived cell lines) based on the recommendations of the
  expert users on the Committee. A quorum of at least 4 members with relevant expertise is
  required for approval of Class 1 GM activities; a quorum of 7 members is required for
  approval to work with Hazard Group 2 or above biological agents, and Class 2 or above GM
  activities.
- 2. Approve or reject projects involving animal or plant pathogens that may have an adverse effect on the wider environment.
- 3. Approve or reject proposals using any organisms listed under Schedule 1 of the Specified Animal Pathogen Order (SAPO) 2008.
- 4. Promote appropriate training programmes and record keeping for workers in biological laboratories and for work with HG 2 and 3 and Class 2 and 3 organisms.
- 5. Development of Local Rules for work with biological agents in the University.
- 6. Consideration of accidents and incidents involving biological agents, including those from other institutions which could have implications for the University of Sheffield.
- 7. Liaise with University Occupational Health provider over occupational health issues.
- 8. Ensuring all statutory notifications are made, as required by the Genetically Modified Organisms (Contained Use) Regulations 2014, to the Health & Safety Executive (HSE).
- 9. Consider the implications of any Regulatory inspections, advice or guidance given.
- 10. Any additional data recording and reporting, as appropriate to the remit of the Committee.
- 11. To formally meet three times per year, and to invite all Departmental Biological Safety Officers to attend open meetings.

Reports to: UEB Health and Safety Committee.

Dr Stuart Casson (School of Biosciences)

Professor Tim Daniell (School of Biosciences)
Dr Paul Gokhale (School of Biosciences)

Dr Barbara Ciani (Chemistry)

## Membership:

Chair:	
Dr Martin Nicklin	2019-22, 2022-25
	,
Representatives of the Faculty of Engineering:	
David Wengraf (Chemical & Biological Engineering)	
Representatives of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health:	
Dr Thushan de Silva (Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease)	
Dr Stuart Hunt (Academic Unit of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology)	
Dr Munitta Muthana (Oncology & Metabolism)	
Dr Martin Nicklin (Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease)	
Dr Jonathan Shaw (Infection, Immunity & Cardiovascular Disease)	
Dr Jonathan Wood (Neuroscience)	
Representatives of the Faculty of Science:	

Dr Alan Hart	
Dr Lucy Whitfield	
Daniel Harrison	
John McKie	
Charlotte Winnert	
Tsz Chin Lau (Health & Safety)	