Senate Research and Innovation Committee

Terms of Reference:

- 1. To advise the Senate on issues relating to Research and Innovation in support of the University's strategic priorities, with a focus on research excellence, research integrity and academic standards, in line with the University Strategy.
- 2. To promote a vibrant research culture across all faculties and ensure the University delivers good practice in research that meets the standards and governance requirements of funders and regulators.
- 3. To promote Equality, Diversity and Inclusion across all research and innovation activities, including in relation to the Committee's operation and decision making.
- 4. To oversee the development of University policy and strategy regarding impact and commercialisation.
- 5. To ensure that the University has a clear understanding of research horizons, needs and strategy, and to oversee the deployment of strategic funding made available by the University to realise its vision for growth in research and its commercial applications.
- 6. To develop policy and strategy with regards to the institutional approach to the Research Excellence Framework (REF), the Knowledge Exchange Framework (KEF) and any future research quality assessment exercises.
- 7. To identify strategic and organisational issues resulting from interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary research; to promote synergies and funding opportunities at the institutional level, and to recommend appropriate organisational structures to capitalise on these opportunities.
- 8. To recommend to Senate the establishment, plans and activities of the University Research Institutes, and to recommend appropriate structures through which the performance of institutes and centres can be assessed.
- 9. Via the University Postgraduate Research Student (PGR) Committee to oversee matters relating to strategy and policy in respect of PGR matters, and to determine the strategic provision and allocation of University Research Fellowships and Studentships.
- 10. Via the University Postgraduate Research Student Committee to oversee the approval of new and amended research degree programmes and the quality assurance processes for academic standards and PGR research training.
- 11. To advise on issues associated with the accuracy, validity and use of research data and issues associated with open access and open data.
- 12. To oversee the development and implementation of the University's approach to the implementation of The Concordat for Contract Research Staff, and to make recommendations to the Senate.
- 13. To ensure that policies and procedures introduced by the University's central structures contribute to the research agenda.
- 14. To advise on the strategy of equipment provision and avoidance of duplication and to monitor its effectiveness in the context of a devolved funding environment.
- 15. To receive reports from, and where appropriate to make recommendations to the Senate arising from the operations of:
 - a) The University Postgraduate Research Student Committee;
 - b) The Commercialisation Assessment Group;
 - c) The Research Governance Sub-Committee;
 - d) The Research Staff Development Committee;

- e) The REF Steering Group;
- f) The Research Institutes and Research Centres Sub-Committee;
- g) The Open Access Advisory Group.
- 16. To receive reports from Faculty committees considering strategic and policy issues relating to Research and Innovation.

Reports to: Senate.

Membership:

Chair (Vice-President for Research)	Professor Sue Hartley
Deputy Chair (Vice-President for Innovation)	Professor Dave Petley

Ex-officio members:	
President & Vice-Chancellor	Professor Koen Lamberts
Deputy Vice-President for Research and Chair of the University Postgraduate Research Student Committee	Professor Lorraine Maltby
Faculty Director of Research & Innovation (Arts & Humanities)	Professor Nicola Dibben
Faculty Director of Research & Innovation (Engineering)	Professor George Panoutsos
Faculty Director of Research & Innovation (Science)	Professor Simon Foster
Faculty Director of Research & Innovation (Social Sciences)	Professor John Flint
Faculty Director of Research & Innovation (Medicine, Dentistry & Health)	Professor Wendy Baird
Vice-President of Research of the International Faculty	Professor Panayiotis Ketikidis
Director of Research Services	Ms Deborah McClean
Deputy Director of Research Services	Dr Neil Harris
Director of Regional Engagement & Partnerships	Dr Sarah Want

Representative members:	
Representative of IT Services	Mr John McAuley
Representative of the Library	Mrs Anna Clements
Representative of the Advanced Manufacturing Research	ch Centre Mr Ben Morgan

One student representative, nominated by the Students' Union President: Ms Beth Eyre (President) 2020-21

Four members of the academic staff or academic-related staff who teach, appointed by the Senate:

Professor Sumon Bhaumik (Management School)	2019-22
Dr Heather Ellis (Education)	2018-21
Professor Dominic McHugh (Music)	2020-23
Dr Sarah Staniland (Chemistry)	2020-23

In attendance:	
N/A	

Secretary

Dr Claire Hinchliffe (Research Services)