Personnel

  

Molecular Ecology Lab Group Picture 5 Feb 2013
Molecular Ecology Laboratory members, February 2013
From left to right:
Sarah Buckland, Katy Maher, Caitriona McInerney, Gareth Fraser, Anna Santure, Kai Zeng, Lindsay Farrell (V), Natalie dos Remedios (V),  Roger Butlin, Lily Herridge (V), Sophie Webster, Anne-Lise Liabot (V), Andy Krupa, Liam Rasch, Shaun Croft, Aaron Comeault, Jenny Armstrong, Jenny Kaden (V), Ludovic Duvaux, CĂ©line Pagnier, Toby Fountain, Rachel Tucker, Ben Jackson, Sigrid Zhang, Issie Winney, Jon Slate, Jun-Mo Kim, Claudius Kerth, Mauricio Montano-Rendon, Haris Pilides (V), Clemens Kuepper, Kang-Wook Kim, Maria-Elena Manarelli, Jamie Davies, Moritz Muschik, Victor Soria-Carrasco, Rudiger Riesch, Anja Westram, Tim Farkas, Terry Burke.

(V) denotes visitors to the laboratory

Professor Terry Burke Head of Laboratory
Director, NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility (NBAF)
Professor of Molecular Ecology
t.a.burke@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0096
Professor Roger Butlin Professor of Evolutionary Biology r.k.butlin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0097
Dr Deborah Dawson Manager of the NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility - Sheffield
d.a.dawson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0106
Dr Gareth Fraser Lecturer in Zoology
g.fraser@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 4317
Dr Nicola Nadeau Independent Research Fellow n.nadeau@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 4717
Dr Patrik Nosil Lecturer p.nosil@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0089
Dr Mirre Simons Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow m.simons@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Jon Slate Professor of Evolutionary Genetics j.slate@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0048
Dr Alison Wright NERC Fellow a.e.wright@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kai Zeng Lecturer in Biology
k.zeng@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 4708
Back to the top

 

Rachel Tucker Senior Research Technician
Population genetics and genomics
r.tucker@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0115
Back to the top

 

Gracie Adams
(2016-
Technician
(Supervisor: Dr M Simons)
Fly lab technical support gadams2@sheffield.ac.uk
Charlotte Bartleet-Cross
(2016-2020)
Graduate student
(Supervisor: Prof T A Burke)
Conservation genomics of the Seychelles warbler clbartleet-cross1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alex Charles
(2017-2021)
Graduate student
(Supervisors: Dr M Simons and Dr T Gossman)
Hyper-omics to understand how diet reduces ageing AJCharles2@sheffield.ac.uk
Pragya Chaube
(2014-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)
The genetic basis of adaptive phenotypes in Littorina

pchaube1@sheffield.ac.uk

Padraic Corcoran
(2014-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Dr K Zeng)
p.corcoran@sheffield.ac.uk
Darcie Cowap
(2018-2019)
MRes Student
(Supervisor: Dr DA Dawson)
A DNA-based assessment of otter numbers and seasonal movement in the Peak District. drcowap1@sheffield.ac.uk
Emma Curran
(2014-
Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Dr N Nadeau)
The evolution and genetics of iridescent colour in butterflies EVCurran1@sheffield.ac.uk
Luke Dunning Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisors: Dr P Nosil & Dr PA Christin)
Evolution of C3 and C4 photosynthesis in grasses. l.dunning@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Christophe Dufresne
(2017-2018)
Research Fellow (Supervisor Prof RK Butlin) c.dufresne@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Isobel Eyres
(2014-)

Postdoctoral Associate (Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)

Candidate genes for host race formation in aphids

0114 222 0113
i.eyres@shef.ac.uk

Clarissa Ferreira de Carvalho
(2015-)
Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Dr P Nosil)
Genomic basis of adaptation and species divergence cferreiradecarvalho1@sheffield.ac.uk
Laura Hartshorne
(2016-
Research technician
(Supervisor: Dr M Simons)
Drosophila melanogaster (fruit fly) genetics l.hartshorne@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Gavin Horsburgh
(2006-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisors: Prof T A Burke & Dr DA Dawson)

Research Assistant for the NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility - Sheffield

0114 222 0115
g.horsburgh@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kang-Wook Kim
(2017-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Dr M Simons)
Evolution and genetics of senescence in the wild k.kim@sheffield.ac.uk
Jenny Larsson
(2017-2021)
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)
JLarsson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Katy Maher
(2018-)
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisors: Prof T A Burke & Dr DA Dawson)
Data Analyst
NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility - Sheffield
 0114 222 4718
kathryn.maher@sheffield.ac.uk

Andy McCracken
(2016-)

Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Dr Mirre Simons)
The evolution and genetics of aging: adapting to changes in life expectancy and reproductive opportunities awmccracken1@sheffield.ac.uk

Celine Pagnier
(2006-

NBAF Secretary

Secretary for the NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility (NBAF)

0114 222 4314
c.pagnier@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Daniela Palmer
(2019-2021)
US NSF Postdoctoral Research Fellow
(Supervisor: Dr A Wright)
Sara Peixoto
(2018-2019)
Erasmus Internee
Supervisor: Dr DA Dawson)
Developing eDNA approaches to monitor biodiversity in the waterways surrounding Sheffield
Dr Suo Qiu Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisors: Prof J Scholes and Prof RK Butlin)
Genetics of virulence in Striga
Francesca Raffini
(2018-)
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)
Parallel speciation in Littorina saxatilis
Thea Rogers
(2017-2021)
Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Dr Alison Wright)
Evolutionary dynamics of the avian sex chromosomes TFRogers1@sheffield.ac.uk
Aaron Sibma
(2015-
Graduate Student (Supervisor: Prof T A Burke) ssibma1@sheffield.ac.uk

Jo Stonehouse
(2017-2021)

Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Prof J Slate)
Genomics of diversity and adaptation in great tits Parus major
Dominic Swain Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Dr G Fraser in collaboration with Dr A Beckerman, UoS)
Developmental Plasticity, Eco-Evo-Devo and Morphological Patterning in Daphnia
Alex Thiery Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Dr G Fraser)
Functional evolution and development of novel feeding apparatus in parrotfish, pufferfish and other fishes APThiery1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Ben Wielstra (2017-2019) Marie Curie Fellow
(Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)
b.wielstra@sheffield.ac.uk
Nathan White
(2017-2021)
Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Prof R K Butlin)
Experimental evolution of local adaptation and speciation NWhite3@sheffield.ac.uk
Lucy Winder
(2017-2021)
Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Prof T Burke)
Why do individuals differ in fitness? Quality differences and life-history trade-offs in a wild bird lwinder1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top