Personnel

  

Molecular Ecology Lab Group Picture 5 Feb 2013
Molecular Ecology Laboratory members, February 2013
From left to right:
Sarah Buckland, Katy Maher, Caitriona McInerney, Gareth Fraser, Anna Santure, Kai Zeng, Lindsay Farrell (V), Natalie dos Remedios (V),  Roger Butlin, Lily Herridge (V), Sophie Webster, Anne-Lise Liabot (V), Andy Krupa, Liam Rasch, Shaun Croft, Aaron Comeault, Jenny Armstrong, Jenny Kaden (V), Ludovic Duvaux, CĂ©line Pagnier, Toby Fountain, Rachel Tucker, Ben Jackson, Sigrid Zhang, Issie Winney, Jon Slate, Jun-Mo Kim, Claudius Kerth, Mauricio Montano-Rendon, Haris Pilides (V), Clemens Kuepper, Kang-Wook Kim, Maria-Elena Manarelli, Jamie Davies, Moritz Muschik, Victor Soria-Carrasco, Rudiger Riesch, Anja Westram, Tim Farkas, Terry Burke.

(V) denotes visitors to the laboratory

Professor Terry Burke Head of Laboratory
Director, NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility (NBAF)
Professor of Molecular Ecology
t.a.burke@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0096
Professor Roger Butlin Professor of Evolutionary Biology r.k.butlin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0097
Dr Deborah Dawson Manager of the NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility - Sheffield
d.a.dawson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0106
Dr Gareth Fraser Lecturer in Zoology
g.fraser@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 4317
Dr Nicola Nadeau Independent Research Fellow n.nadeau@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 4717
Dr Patrik Nosil Lecturer p.nosil@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0089
Dr Mirre Simons Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow m.simons@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Jon Slate Professor of Evolutionary Genetics j.slate@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0048
Dr Alison Wright NERC Fellow a.e.wright@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kai Zeng Lecturer in Biology
k.zeng@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 4708
Back to the top

 

Rachel Tucker Senior Research Technician
Population genetics and genomics
r.tucker@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0115
Back to the top

 

Gracie Adams Technician
(Supervisor: Dr M Simons)
fly lab support
Bilal Ashraf
(2015-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Prof J Slate)
Genomic prediction in Soay sheep 0114 222 0113
b.ashraf@sheffield.ac.uk
Pragya Chaube
(2014-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)
The genetic basis of adaptive phenotypes in Littorina

0114 222 0113
pchaube1@sheffield.ac.uk

Padraic Corcoran
(2014-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Dr K Zeng)
p.corcoran@sheffield.ac.uk
Emma Curran
(2014-
Graduate student
(Supervisor: Dr N Nadeau)
The evolution and genetics of iridescent colour in butterflies EVCurran1@sheffield.ac.uk
Luke Dunning Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisors: Dr P Nosil & Dr PA Christin)
Evolution of C3 and C4 photosynthesis in grasses.
Dr Natalie dos Remedios
(2015-
Research Technician
(Supervisor: Prof T A Burke)
Transgenerational effects of parental age on fitness 0114 222 0113
ndosremedios@hotmail.co.uk
Christophe Dufresne (2017-) Research Fellow (Supervisor Prof RK Butlin) c.dufresne@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Isobel Eyres
(2014-)

Postdoctoral Associate (Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)

Candidate genes for host race formation in aphids

0114 222 0113
i.eyres@shef.ac.uk

Dr Rui Faria
(2016-18)
Marie Curie Research Fellow (Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin) rmacieiradefaria@sheffield.ac.uk
Clarissa Ferreira de Carvalho
(2015-)
Graduate Student
(Supervisor: Dr P Nosil)
Genomic basis of adaptation and species divergence cferreiradecarvalho1@sheffield.ac.uk
Laura Hartshorne Research technician
(Supervisor: Dr M Simons)
Drosophila melanogaster (fruit fly) genetics l.hartshorne@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Helen Hipperson
(2014-

Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisors: Prof T A Burke & Dr DA Dawson)

Data Analyst
NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility - Sheffield

0114 222 4718
h.hipperson@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Gavin Horsburgh
(2006-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisors: Prof T A Burke & Dr DA Dawson)

Research Assistant for the NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility - Sheffield

0114 222 0115
g.horsburgh@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Kang-Wook Kim
(2017-
Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Dr M Simons)
Evolution and genetics of senescence in the wild k.kim@sheffield.ac.uk
Camille Lee-Own
(2016-17)
L4 Student
(Supervisor: Dr M Simons)
Dietary restriction: the connection between functional senescence and mortality
Mr Andy McCracken Graduate student
(Supervisor: Dr Mirre Simons)
The evolution and genetics of aging: adapting to changes in life expectancy and reproductive opportunities awmccracken1@sheffield.ac.uk

Celine Pagnier
(2006-

NBAF Secretary

Secretary for the NERC Biomolecular Analysis Facility (NBAF)

0114 222 4314
c.pagnier@sheffield.ac.uk
Aaron Sibma
(2015-
Graduate Student (Supervisor: Prof T A Burke) 0114 222 0113
ssibma1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dominic Swain Ph.D Researcher (Supervisor: Dr G Fraser in collaboration with Dr A Beckerman, UoS) Developmental Plasticity, Eco-Evo-Devo and Morphological Patterning in Daphnia
Alex Thiery NERC Ph.D Researcher (Supervisor: Dr G Fraser) Functional evolution and development of novel feeding apparatus in parrotfish, pufferfish and other fishes APThiery1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Anja Marie Westram
(2011-

Postdoctoral Associate
(Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)
Parallel speciation in Littorina saxatilis

0114 222 0113 a.westram@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Ben Wielstra (2017-19) Marie Curie fellow
(Supervisor: Prof RK Butlin)
b.wielstra@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top