PhD Research Projects

Composition

Name PhD Title Email
Alejandro Albornoz Voice and Poetry in Electroacoustic Composition: acousmatic and algorithmic approaches aaalbornozrojas1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ian Baxter Data Sonification as a Means to Generative Music iwbaxter1@sheffield.ac.uk
Vanessa (Sorce-Lévesque) Massera Performance in Electroacoustic Music v.sorce-levesque@sheffield.ac.uk

Ethnomusicology

Name PhD Title Email
Nicola Beazley How do professional performers of contemporary folk and traditional music within the last 5 years, negotiate the relationship between creativity and tradition in the English Folk scene. nbeazley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Helen Gubbins The Mediation of Irish Traditional Music in Irish Public Broadcasting, 1970-94 [Working title] hgubbins1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kate Walker Taiko in the United Kingdom: the Development of a British Performing Art through Engagement with Communities of Practice kewalker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Michael Walsh "A 'Celtic' or 'National' aesthetic? Flute playing in the contemporary Asturian Folk Scene" mpwalsh1@sheffield.ac.uk

Musicology

Name PhD Title Email
Bridget Coulter Exploring Girls’ Musical Judgements: Discourses of Value, Power and Selfhood in Girls’ Evaluations of Popular Music bhcoulter1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rebecca Dellow Fiddlers' Tunebooks' - Music and Musicians Observed Through Three Monophonic Manuscript Sources (1860-c1875). (working title) redellow1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hannah Robbins ‘ANOTHER OP’NIN’, ANOTHER SHOW’: Reading cultural aesthetics and entertainment in Kiss Me, Kate h.robbins@sheffield.ac.uk
Serenella Sessini The Educative Role of Depictions of Musical Angels in Renaissance Italian Domestic Art, c.1420-c.1540 ssessini1@sheffield.ac.uk

Music Technology

Name PhD Title Email
James Surgenor Exploring Compositional Methods in Electroacoustic Music: Comparing real-time and non-real-time software working methods jrsurgenor1@sheffield.ac.uk

Performance

Name PhD Title Email
Henrique Meissner Teaching and learning expressive music performance h.meissner@sheffield.ac.uk
Mengjiao Yan Tradition and Innovation - The exploration of Stravinsky’s musical language in relation to his piano music ymengjiao1@sheffield.ac.uk

Psychology of Music

Name PhD Title Email
Jonathan Ayerst A psychological study of classical (musical) improvisation: with special emphasis on learning techniques. jwayerst1@sheffield.ac.uk
Claudia Braz Nunes Lifelong engagement with music: Learning through the lives of Portuguese music educators cbnunes1@sheffield.ac.uk
Miranda Cournane Investigating the authenticity of Higher Education Institutes as learning environments for students of music mup11mc@sheffield.ac.uk
Jessica Crich Multi-stakeholder perspectives of live music based services as part of dementia care in care homes within the UK j.crich@sheffield.ac.uk
Caroline Curwen Music colour synaesthesia (working title) ccurwen1@shef.ac.uk
Jacob Downs Space and embodiment in headphone listening jkdowns1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ioanna Filippidi Involuntary Musical Imagery as conditioned by everyday music listening ifilippidi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Shen Li The embodied perspective on the perception and production of piano timbre sli37@sheffield.ac.uk
Nicola Pennill Working together: the interactive dynamics of chamber ensembles in rehearsal npennill1@sheffield.ac.uk