Hospitals and University team up to train doctors of the future

The University of Sheffield is awarding four South Yorkshire hospitals with Associate Teaching Hospital status to recognise their outstanding contribution and commitment to training medical students from the University of Sheffield.

The four NHS Trusts to be recognised are:
· Barnsley District General Hospital NHS Trust
· Rotherham General Hospitals NHS Trust
· Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Trust
· Chesterfield and North Derbyshire Royal Hospital NHS Trust

Representatives from the four NHS Trusts, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and the University will be attending a lunch to sign a Memorandum of Understanding on 14 January 2004.

The agreement will benefit students, as the Trusts will appoint an Associate Director of Teaching to co-ordinate teaching at the Trust. The University will give consultant staff involved in teaching the title of Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer.

Professor Tony Weetman, Dean of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University of Sheffield explains, "This agreement allows us to formalise the strong relationship that we already have with these hospitals. Medical students spend 80 to 90 percent of the second half of their course learning in a clinical setting and these hospitals each train on average twenty students a week. We are proud to be working so closely with our local hospitals."

Please contact Jeanette Newcombe on 0114 2221032 or email