Spring 2002 Reading Groups

Contact

Aesthetics
We will be reading Kant's Critique of Aesthetic Judgement, a work of importance not just in
aesthetics, but in the study of the conditions of judgment itself.
Robert Hopkins
R.Hopkins@sheffield.ac.uk
Global Justice
We will be reading a variety of recent work on global justice.
Leif Wenar
L.Wenar(AT)sheffield.ac.uk
Hegel's Logic
This reading group will work through Hegel's Encyclopaedia Logic.
Robert Stern
R.Stern@sheffield.ac.uk
Innateness
We will be reading a selection of recent work in philosophy and cognitive science on the topic of innateness.
Tom Walker and Sarah Clegg
PIP00TW@sheffield.ac.uk
PIP00SEC@sheffield.ac.uk
Phenomenology
We will begin by reading Dermot Moran's Introduction to Phenomenology Routledge.
Jonathan Webber
j.m.webber@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Language
We will start by reading Scott Soames's Beyond Rigidity: The Unfinished Semantic Agenda of Naming and Necessity, OUP.
Jenny Saul
j.saul@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Psychology
We will be reading a selection of recent work in Philosophy of Psychology and cognitive science.
George Botterill
g.botterill@sheffield.ac.uk
Pragmatism
We will begin by reading Dewey's Human Nature and Conduct.
Danielle Bromwich
danielle_bromwich@hotmail.com

Autumn 2001 Reading Groups

Contact

Hegel's Logic
This reading group will work through Hegel's Encyclopaedia Logic.
Robert Stern
R.Stern@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Language
We will begin by reading a couple papers about Intensional Transitives.
Jenny Saul
j.saul@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Psychology
We will be reading a selection of recent work in Philosophy of Psychology and cognitive science, starting with Paul Griffith's book What Emotions Really Are: The Problem of Psychological Categories.
George Botterill
g.botterill@sheffield.ac.uk