Spring & Summer 2003 Reading Groups

Contact

Causation and Explanaton
We will be reading a selection of papers on causation and explanation. We will begin with C.B. Martin's "Power for Realists", a copy is in the folder in the common room, or it can be found in J. Bacon, K. Campbell, & L. Reinhardt (eds.) Ontology, Causality and Mind: Essays in Honour of D.M. Armstrong
Sue Lock
S.Lock@sheffield.ac.uk
Conceivability and Possibility
We will begin by reading some chapters from Tamar Szabo Gendler and John Hawthorne's (eds.) Conceivability and Possibility.
John Divers
j.divers@sheffield.ac.uk
Hegel/Aesthetics Reading Group
We will be continuing to read Hegel's Lectures on Fine Art.
Robert Stern
R.Stern@sheffield.ac.uk
Innateness
We will be reading a selection of recent work in philosophy and cognitive science on the topic of innateness.
Tom Walker and Sarah Clegg
PIP00TW@sheffield.ac.uk
PIP00SEC@sheffield.ac.uk
McDowell Reading Group
We will be reading a variety of recent work by John McDowell. We will be starting with his paper "Values and Secondary Qualities".
Peggy Voutsina & David Liggins

p.voutsina@sheffield.ac.uk

pip00del@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Psychology
We will be reading John Doris's Lack of Character: Personality and Moral Behavior.
George Botterill
g.botterill@sheffield.ac.uk
Quine
We will be reading a vareity of work both on and by Quine.
David Liggins
pip00del@sheffield.ac.uk
Semantics/Pragmatics
We will be reading a variety of recent work on the semantics/pragmatics distinction, beginning with Kent Bach's paper, "You Don't Say?", Synthese 128: 15-44, 2001.
Jenny Saul
j.saul@sheffield.ac.uk
Tractatus
We will be reading Wittgenstein's Tractatus along with some early Russell.
Naomi Rosenberg & Gerry Hough
N.Rosenberg@sheffield.ac.uk
pip01gmh@sheffield.ac.uk

Autumn 2002 Reading Groups

Contact

Aesthetics
We will be (continuing) reading Kant's Critique of Aesthetic Judgement, a work of importance not just in
aesthetics, but in the study of the conditions of judgment itself.
Robert Hopkins
R.Hopkins@sheffield.ac.uk
Causation and Explanaton
We will be reading a variety of papers on causation and explanation, some (but not all) of which are of particular interest for mental/special science causation, e.g. supervenient causation. We will begin with Frank Jackson's "Mental Causation" (Mind 1996, 105, pp. 377-413)
Sue Lock
S.Lock@sheffield.ac.uk
Innateness
We will be reading a selection of recent work in philosophy and cognitive science on the topic of innateness.
Tom Walker and Sarah Clegg
PIP00TW@sheffield.ac.uk
PIP00SEC@sheffield.ac.uk
Jenny Saul's New Book Manuscript
This reading group will be reading Jenny Saul's new book manuscript, Feminism: Issues and Arguments
Stephen Laurence
s.laurence@sheffield.ac.uk
Jonathan Webber's New Translation Manuscript
This reading group will be reading the manuscript for Jonathan Webber's new translation of Sartre's L'Imaginaire.
Jonathan Webber
j.m.webber@sheffield.ac.uk
Peirce/Hegel Reading Group
We will be reading some papers from Peirce that relate to Hegelian themes.
Robert Stern
R.Stern@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Psychology
We will be reading a selection of recent work in Philosophy of Psychology, starting with Patricia Greenspan's paper, "Emotions, Innateness, and Ethics".
George Botterill
g.botterill@sheffield.ac.uk