Spring & Summer 2005 Reading Groups Contact
Context in Language
We will start by reading Michael Glanzberg's paper on 'Context
and Discourse'
which appeared in 2002 in Mind and Language.
Chris Hookway
C.J.Hookway@sheffield.ac.uk
Korsgaard's Locke Lectures
We will be reading Christine Korsgaard's Locke Lectures Self-Constitution: Agency, Identity, and Integrity.
Jimmy Lenman
j.lenman@sheffield.ac.uk
Paul Faulkner's New Book Manuscript
This reading group will be reading Paul Faulkner's new book manuscript on estimony.
Paul Faulkner
paul.faulkner@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Language
We will start by reading some of the chapters in Szabo (ed.) Semantics Versus Pragmatics, OUP.
Jenny Saul
j.saul@sheffield.ac.uk

Autumn 2004 Reading Groups Contact
Aesthetics
We will be reading T.W. Adorno's Aesthetic Theory (in the Hullot-Kentor translation, published by Athlone in 1997).
Fabian Freyenhagen
ffreyenhagen@yahoo.com
Epistemology
We will be reading John Greco's book, Putting Skeptics in Their Place: The Nature of Skeptical Arguments and their Role in Philosophical Inquiry
Joe Morrison
pip02jem@sheffield.ac.uk
Feminism
We will begin with an extract from Elizabeth Spelman's book Inessential Woman: Problems of Exclusion in Feminist Thought.
Mari Mikkola
M.Mikkola@sheffield.ac.uk
Jenny Saul's New Book Manuscript
This reading group will be reading Jenny Saul's new book manuscript on Simple Sentences.
Jenny Saul
j.saul@sheffield.ac.uk
Metaphysics
We will begin by reading some chapters from The Oxford Handbook of Metaphysics edited by Michael Loux and Dean Zimmerman.
Rich Woodward
pip03rdw@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy of Psychology
We will be reading a selection of recent work in the philosophy of psychology. We will start with Shaun Nichols (2004) The Folk Psychology of Free Will: Fits and Starts.
Simon Fitzpatrick
s.fitzpatrick@sheffield.ac.uk
Political Theory
This reading group is based in the Politics Department. We will be reading a variety of recent work on Political Theory.
Sarah Cooke
s.cooke@sheffield.ac.uk