Spring & Summer 2006 Reading Groups Contact
Altruism
We will start by reading Daniel Batson's, The Altruism Question: Toward a Social Psychological Answer.
Robin Scaife
pip05drh@sheffield.ac.uk
Coherentism
We will be reading Erik Olsson's — no relation to our Eric Olson! — Against Coherence: Truth, Probability, and Justification.
Robert Stern
R.Stern@sheffield.ac.uk
Ethics
We will be reading a selection of recent journal articles on ethics.
Jimmy Lenman
Feminism
we will be reading a selection of recent articles on feminism.
Jenny Saul
j.saul@sheffield.ac.uk
Logic and A Priority
We'll be meeting fortnightly to discuss recent papers about a priori knowledge and knowledge of logic. We'll start by working through selected papers from Boghossian and Peacocke's 2000 volume New Essays On The A Priori, beginning with 'Knowledge of Logic' by Paul Boghossian, and then we'll move on to some other materials.
Joe Morrison joe.morrison@sheffield.ac.uk
or Rich Woodward r.woodward@sheffield.ac.uk
Metaphysics
We will be reading some of the papers in Ramsey's Legacy.
Rich Woodward
pip03rdw@sheffield.ac.uk
Moral Psychology
We will start by reading Shaun Nichol's, Sentimental Rules: On the Natural Foundations of Moral Judgement.
Stephen Laurence
s.laurence@sheffield.ac.uk
Parfit Manuscript
We will be reading the manuscript for Derek Parfit's forthcoming Climbing the Mountainas a precursor to the symposium on the text, with Prof Parfit, in Reading (autumn 2006).
Jules Holroyd
J.D.Holroyd@sheffield.ac.uk

Autumn 2005 Reading Groups Contact
Ethics
We will be reading a selection of recent journal articles on ethics.
Jimmy Lenman
Metaphysics
We will be reading Graham Priest's book Towards Non-Being: The Logic and Metaphysics of Intentionality and various connected papers in the neo-Meinongian tradition.
Rich Woodward
pip03rdw@sheffield.ac.uk
Pragmatism
We will be reading David Hildebrand's recent book Beyond Realism & Anti-Realism: John Dewey and the Neopragmatists. We will meet fortnightly and read one chapter for each session.
Andrew Howat
a.howat@sheffield.ac.uk
Stich Reading Group
We will be reading a variety of recent work by Stephen Stich. We will start with John M. Doris & Stephen Stich, As a Matter of Fact: Empirical Perspectives on Ethics, to appear in F. Jackson and M. Smith, eds., The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Analytic Philosophy.
Stephen Laurence
s.laurence@sheffield.ac.uk