Contact us

The Department of Physics and Astronomy
Hicks Building
Hounsfield Road
Sheffield S3 7RH
United Kingdom

Phone: +44 (0)114 22 23752

You can find contact details for most of our staff by using the menu on the left. However, the staff listed below should be able to deal with most enquiries.

Visitors

Our home is the Hicks Building, situated at the heart of the main university campus, near to the library and next to the student's union. We are less than a mile from the city centre and with easy access by bus or tram from the railway station.

Official visitors to the university can arrange for parking space in one of the university car parks via their departmental contact. There is pay and display parking directly outside the Hicks Building along Hounsfield Road.

Information for visitors | Maps and travel

Head of Department Name Phone Email
Head of Department Professor David Mowbray 0114 22 24561 physics-hod@sheffield.ac.uk
Personal Assistant Mrs Pam Gregory 0114 22 23519 p.gregory@sheffield.ac.uk
Departmental Administration Name Phone Email
Departmental Manager Miss Danielle Jackson 0114 22 23801 d.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk
Deputy Departmental Manager (Operations and Research) Ms Angie Rollinson 0114 22 24360 a.rollinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Deputy Departmental Manager (Learning and Teaching) Mrs Elizabeth Lydon 0114 22 23539 e.lydon@sheffield.ac.uk
Technical Manager Mr Martin Bentley 0114 22 24576 m.d.bentley@sheffield.ac.uk
Finance Officer Mrs Janice Whittaker 0114 22 23902 j.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk
Finance Officer Miss Rebecca Raynor 0114 22 23520 r.j.raynor@sheffield.ac.uk
Schools Liaison Dr Susan Cartwright and Dr Simon Goodwin 0114 22 24572/23585 s.cartwright@sheffield.ac.uk and s.goodwin@sheffield.ac.uk
Safety Officer Dr Matt Mears 0114 22 24289 m.mears@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Name Phone Email
Director of Research Professor Alexander Tartakovskii 0114 22 24545 a.tartakovskii@sheffield.ac.uk
Research Officer Mr Alex Goode 0114 22 24546 a.goode@sheffield.ac.uk
Postgraduate Support and Admissions Name Phone Email
Postgraduate Student Support Adviser Ms Laura Oliver 0114 22 23731 l.oliver@sheffield.ac.uk
Undergraduate Support and Admissions Name Phone Email
Head of Undergraduate Admissions Prof Lee Thompson 0114 22 24577 l.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk
Undergraduate Admissions Officer Mrs Ann Davis 0114 22 24362 a.davis@sheffield.ac.uk
Undergraduate Courses Student Support Office 0114 22 23752 hicksstudentsupport@sheffield.ac.uk
Director of Learning and Teaching Dr Luke Wilson 0114 22 23532 physics-dot@sheffield.ac.uk
Senior Tutor Prof John Cockburn 0114 22 23507 j.cockburn@sheffield.ac.uk
Undergraduate Student Support Advisor Miss Sally Merrett 0114 22 23706 phy_support@sheffield.ac.uk
Undergraduate Student Support Adviser Mrs Julie Milner 0114 22 23514 phy_support@sheffield.ac.uk
Foundation Year Tutor Dr Martin Grell 0114 22 23508 m.grell@sheffield.ac.uk
1st Year Physics Tutor Dr Pieter Kok 0114 22 23538 p.kok@sheffield.ac.uk
2nd Year Physics Tutor Dr Vitaly Kudryavtsev 0114 22 24531 v.kudryavtsev@sheffield.ac.uk
3rd Year Physics Tutor Dr Chris Booth 0114 22 23541 c.booth@sheffield.ac.uk
4th Year Physics Tutor Prof Mark Fox 0114 22 24527 mark.fox@sheffield.ac.uk
Theoretical Physics Tutor Prof David Whittaker 0114 22 23537 d.m.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk
1st Year Astronomy Tutor Dr Susan Cartwright 0114 22 24572 s.cartwright@sheffield.ac.uk
2nd Year Astronomy Tutor Dr Stuart Littlefair 0114 22 24525 s.littlefair@sheffield.ac.uk
3rd and 4th Year Astronomy Tutor Prof Clive Tadhunter 0114 22 24300 c.tadhunter@sheffield.ac.uk
Careers Liaison Officer Mr Jim Weston 0114 22 24547

j.weston@sheffield.ac.uk