PHY120 - Mathematics for Physicists and Astronomers

Module Leader

Dr Matt Mears: m.mears@sheffield.ac.uk

Semester 1

Functions

Dr Mark Quinn

Phone: 0114 222 4574
Room: D18

email: m.quinn@sheffield.ac.uk

Matrices

Dr Pieter Kok

Phone: 0114 222 3538
Room: E12A

email: p.kok@sheffield.ac.uk

Integration

Dr Matt Mears

Phone: 0114 222 4289
Room: D29

email: m.mears@sheffield.ac.uk

Introduction to Vectors

Prof Nigel Clarke

Phone: 0114 222 4273
Room: E43

Email: n.clarke@sheffield.ac.uk

Complex Numbers

Prof Paul Crowther

Phone: 0114 222 4291 
Room: F09a

Email: paul.crowther@sheffield.ac.uk

ODEs

Prof David Whittaker

Phone: 0114 222 3537 
Room: E12b               

Email: d.m.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk

Semester 2

Probability

Prof Stuart Littlefair

Phone: 0114 222 4525
Room:F29

Email:s.littlefair@sheffield.ac.uk

Vector Calculus

Dr Buddhapriya  Chakrabarti

Phone: 0114 222 3764
Room: E34

Email: b.chakrabarti@sheffield.ac.uk

Vectors & Differentiation

Prof David Whittaker

Phone: 0114 222 3537
Room: E12b

Email: d.m.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk

Module Summary

This core module provides the necessary first year mathematics for students taking all physics degrees, including algebra, series, functions, differentiation, integration, complex numbers, first and second order ordinary differential equations, matrices, vector calculus and elementary probability theory.

Aims/Description

Module description

Timetable

Timetable information for this module can be found listed here

Course information

Please see MOLE