Departments of Physics and Astronomy and Medical Physics

Staff Student Committee

The Staff Student Committee provides a forum via which students can convey any concerns they may have to the departments.

The committee meets twice per semester (dates given below). Its membership consists of academic members of staff (including the Senior Tutor and Director of Teaching) and undergraduate students.

The committee aims to have student representatives from all years (including MPhys) and all major degree programmes.

If you have any concerns or comments regarding teaching or any aspect of the organisation of the departments you are encouraged to pass these to one of the committee representatives (see list below) who will raise the matter at the next committee meeting. Items raised by committee representatives will be treated anonymously if requested.

If you are interested in serving as a representative on the committee please contact the current chair, Jessica Forsyth, who will be happy to provide further information.

email: JForsyth1@sheffield.ac.uk

Dates of meetings in 2016/17

Meetings are held in room E28 at 1pm

  • Wednesday 26th October
  • Wednesday 23rd November
  • Wednesday 8th March (This is a new date and the room is G07, Hicks, 1pm)
  • Wednesday 26th April

Minutes from past meetings can be downloaded at the bottom of this page

Committee representatives

Name Email Year
George Dawes gtdawes1@sheffield.ac.uk 1 (not attending in 2016/17)
Christopher Jones CJones12@sheffield.ac.uk 1
Faye Raybould fraybould1@sheffield.ac.uk 1
Michael Holliday mholliday1@sheffield.ac.uk 1
Cheyenne Polius ckmpolius1@sheffield.ac.uk 2
Marina Sanz Orell MSanzOrell1@sheffield.ac.uk 2
Lianne Gahan LDGahan1@sheffield.ac.uk 3
Rose Ireland rireland1@sheffield.ac.uk 3
Patrick Lewis PLewis3@sheffield.ac.uk 3
Lisa Scaife LScaife1@sheffield.ac.uk 3
Harpreet Thandi hthandi1@sheffield.ac.uk 3
Isabelle Gessey igessey1@sheffield.ac.uk 4 (not attending in 2016/17)
James Baxter jbaxter4@sheffield.ac.uk 4
Jessica Forsyth JForsyth1@sheffield.ac.uk 4 (SSC Chair and rep at Dept Teaching Committee)
Emre Saglik ECSaglik1@sheffield.ac.uk 4
Paul Crowther paul.crowther@sheffield.ac.uk Staff
Luke Wilson luke.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk Staff
John Cockburn j.cockburn@sheffield.ac.uk Staff

Minutes of previous meetings

8th May 2013

13th February 2013

16th October 2013

20th November 2013

20th February 2014

3rd April 2014

22nd October 2014

20th November 2014

11th March 2015

29th April 2015

21st October 2015

25th November 2015

7th March 2016

20th April 2016


26th October 2016