Meet the Team

Person Responsibility Contact Information

Al Carlile

Director of Planning & Insight (Acting)

  • Oversight of the Planning Round (including Professional Services Planning Round)
  • Team Leader of the Planning and Performance Team including co-ordination of Faculty Planning Support
  • Oversight of Student fee setting, monitoring and business analysis
  • Project Sponsor, Corporate Data Warehouse Project
  • Oversight of statutory reporting in P &I 
  • Chair of the University Data Assurance Group
  • Member of the Senate Budget Committee UEB Strategic Advisory Group (Student Numbers and Fees) and Risk Assessment Group
  • Risk Management (including working with Risk Review Group)
  • Planning Support Officer for the Professional Services

Tel: 0114 22 21200

Email: a.carlile@sheffield.ac.uk

Cara Corden

PA to Director of Planning & Insight

  • PA to the Director of Planning & Insight

Tel: 0114 22 21439

Email: c.corden@sheffield.ac.uk

Felicity Bingham

Senior Business Intelligence Analyst

  • Data Warehouse Project
  • Leading the BIA team
  • Delivering requirements gathering process
  • Delivering the MI reporting service
  • Supporting hub & spoke development

Tel: 0114 22 21714

Email: f.p.bingham@sheffield.ac.uk

Rebecca Carpenter

Senior Planning Officer

  • Academic Planning Round - management and operational support
  • Faculty facing Planning Support Officer
  • External comparator performance review data
  • Data and analysis for strategic decision making
  • Business planning
  • Fees (setting, monitoring and business analysis)
  • Planning Support Officer for the Faculty of Science

Tel: 0114 22 21063

 Email: r.carpenter@sheffield.ac.uk

Tom Chapman

Head of Student Forecasting & Statutory Returns

  • Academic Planner and TM1 development 
  • Statutory returns to OfS, NCTL and other bodies
  • Data Assurance
  • Development of Business Intelligence
  • Delivery of reporting and ad hoc analysis

Tel: 0114 22 21713

Email: T.Chapman@sheffield.ac.uk

Zahir Chaudhary

Senior Reports Officer

  • Advice and support to corporate data authors
  • Liaison and collaboration with IT technical and infrastructure staff
  • Report design expertise to existing trained authors
  • Data modelling within Cognos Framework Manager
  • Trainer in Cognos Analytics

Tel: 0114 22 21129

Email: Z.Chaudhary@sheffield.ac.uk

Lucy Cheesman

Business Intelligence Analyst

  • Data Warehouse Project
  • Requirements Gathering
  • Data and User Acceptance Testing
  • Developing management information and reporting
  • Developing MI portal

Tel: 0114 22 26256

Email: l.m.cheesman@sheffield.ac.uk

Mark Dickinson

Reports Support Officer

  • Advice and support to corporate data authors
  • Liaison and collaboration with IT technical and infrastructure staff
  • Report design expertise to existing trained authors
  • Data modelling within Cognos Framework Manager
  • Trainer in Cognos Analytics

Tel: 0114 22 21185

Email: M.Dickinson@sheffield.ac.uk

Scotty Dixon

Business Intelligence Analyst

  • Data Warehouse Project
  • Requirements Gathering
  • Data and User Acceptance Testing
  • Developing management information and reporting
  • Developing MI portal

Tel: 0114 21 57403

Email: scotty.dixon@sheffield.ac.uk

Josh Dodd

Data Analyst

  • Extracting and validating data from multiple electronic sources
  • Preparation, presentation and analysis of management information, performance indicators and benchmarks
  • Assist with the compilation and administration of statutory data returns
  • Transferring & validation of data into Academic Planner
  • Competitor Analysis

Tel: 0114 22 57402

Email: josh.dodd@sheffield.ac.uk

Richard Eastall

Senior Planning Officer

  • Academic Planning Round - management and operational support
  • Faculty facing Planning Support Officer
  • External comparator performance review data
  • Data and analysis for strategic decision making
  • Business planning
  • Fees (setting, monitoring and business analysis)
  • Planning Support Officer for the Faculty of Engineering 

Tel: 0114 22 21008

Email: R.Eastall@sheffield.ac.uk

Laura Filsak

Senior Planning Officer

  • Academic Planning Round - management and operational support
  • Faculty facing Planning Support Officer
  • External comparator performance review data
  • Data and analysis for strategic decision making
  • Business planning
  • Fees (setting, monitoring and business analysis)
  • Planning Support Officer for the Faculty of Arts & Humanities 

Tel: 0114 22 21068

Email: l.filsak@sheffield.ac.uk

Margery Green

Data Quality Assistant

  • Support on data quality for the production of statutory returns
  • Liaison with professional service offices on good data practices
  • Supplies data to the NSS via HESA/IPSOS
  • Creates the Unistats in-year return and works with Programme and Student Engagement in its maintenance
  • Undertakes CIS student record maintenance and Reference Data updates
  • Member of the Data Futures SLP Review Group

Tel: 0114 22 21151

Email: M.Green2@sheffield.ac.uk

Zoe Harrison

Data Analyst

  • Extracting and validating data from multiple electronic sources
  • Preparation, presentation and analysis of management information, performance indicators and benchmarks
  • Assist with the compilation and administration of statutory data returns
  • Transferring & validation of data into Academic Planner
  • Competitor Analysis

Tel: 0114 21 57400

Email: Zoe.Harrison@sheffield.ac.uk

Claire Justice

Senior Analyst, Student HESA

  • Management of the Student HESA Return including in depth data analysis, design and changes to corporate systems
  • Manage specific areas of the CIS relating to reference data and meta data
  • Works along-side CIS developers in the creation of new are necessary data sources for statutory returns
  • Manage risks resulting from new statutory compliance requirements
  • Member of the Data Futures SLP Review Group
  • Member of the Apprenticeship Operations Group

Tel: 0114 22 21152

Email: C.Justice@sheffield.ac.uk

Hugh Mather

Business Intelligence Analyst

  • Data Warehouse Project
  • Requirements Gathering
  • Data and User Acceptance Testing
  • Developing management information and reporting
  • Developing MI portal

Tel: 0114 22 21217

Email: H.Mather@sheffield.ac.uk

James Mumford

Senior Planning Officer

  • Academic Planning Round - management and operational support
  • Faculty facing Planning Support Officer
  • External comparator performance review data
  • Data and analysis for strategic decision making
  • Business planning
  • Fees (setting, monitoring and business analysis)
  • Member of the Apprenticeship Operations Group
  • Planning Support Officer for the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health

Tel: 0114 22 21056

Email: j.mumford@sheffield.ac.uk

Luke Reynolds

Head of Planning & Performance

  • Team Leader of the Planning and Performance Team including co-ordination of Faculty Planning Support
  • Preparation and delivery of Academic Planning Round (performance review briefings, student number targets and risk registers)
  • Senior level guidance on data analysis
  • Delivering University Tuition Fee Processes (fee policies, competitor analysis and programme level fee setting)
  • Business Planning & Financial Viability Planning
  • Horizon scanning and policy landscape assessment
  • Planning Support Officer for the Faculty of Social Sciences

Mark Shephard

Data Warehouse Project Lead

  • Data Warehouse Project Lead
  • Manages the Reporting and Insight Team
  • Data and Reporting Strategy
  • MI Development
  • Data Assurance & Governance oversight

Tel: 0114 22 21061

Email: M.A.Shephard@sheffield.ac.uk

Chris Smith

Systems Analyst

  • Data Warehouse Project Technical Lead
  • Liaison and collaboration with IT technical and infrastructure staff
  • Development of new reporting tools
  • Development of MI reporting website portal

Tel: 0114 22 23128

Email: C.P.Smith@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Helen Southern

Business Intelligence Analyst

  • Data Warehouse Project
  • Requirements Gathering
  • Data and User Acceptance Testing
  • Developing management information and reporting
  • Developing MI portal

Tel: 0114 22 57401

Email: H.Southern@sheffield.ac.uk

Catherine Spencer

Business Analyst

  • Currently on maternity leave

Jan Szczerbiuk

Data Warehouse Architect

  • Data Warehouse Project
  • Development of Corporate Data Warehouse (CDW)
  • Lead on data governance of the CDW

Tel: 0114 22 25574

Email: J.Szczerbiuk@sheffield.ac.uk

Jackie Toyne

Project Manager

  • Data Warehouse Project
  • Project Planning
  • Project Board Meeting Management
  • Project Budget Management
  • Communications and relationship management
  • Project Risk Management

Tel: 0114 22 21060

Email: J.M.Toyne@sheffield.ac.uk

Jim Wade

Technical Analyst

  • Technical support for Academic Planner
  • Managing the Fees data process
  • Data Assurance
  • Support for Statutory Returns
  • TM1 development
  • Assist with the forecasting of income including modelling different income scenarios

Tel: 0114 22 21214

Email: Jim.Wade@sheffield.ac.uk