Members

Name Email Supervised by/ associated with Research interests
Dr Mark Blades m.blades@sheffield.ac.uk   Assessment of police interviews with abused children; children’s eyewitness testimony and suggestibility during questioning; children’s understanding of media, advertising and marketing
Iryna Brearley pcp08ib@sheffield.ac.uk P. Harris Self-affirmation; health interventions
Dr Abigail Millings a.millings@sheffield.ac.uk   Trait-like characteristics associated with individuals’ attachment histories, namely, attachment anxiety and attachment avoidance (Brennan et al., 1998), and how these constructs affect psychosocial functioning:

Caring for other people (including partners, children, and also caring in professional contexts)
Help-seeking and engaging in therapy
Engaging with contemporary interventions in mental health (such as internet therapy and social robots)

Dr Chantelle Wood

chantelle.wood@sheffield.ac.uk

  Person perception and intergroup relations (particularly as it relates to stereotyping, prejudice, category conjunction and social categorisation), self-control, and the broader area of social and health behaviour change.
 
Tracy Epton t.epton@sheffield.ac.uk Self affirmation, health behaviour change
Dr. Chris Jones c.r.jones@sheffield.ac.uk Attitude formation through the exploration of novel environments; public attitudes towards climate change and future energy choices (e.g. nuclear power and wind power)
Prof. Paul Norman p.norman@sheffield.ac.uk   Social psychology and health; attitude-behaviour models; health behaviour; illness representations and coping with chronic illness; theory of cognitive adaptation
Dr Jilly Martin jilly.martin@sheffield.ac.uk The prediction and self-regulation of behaviour; and designing behaviour change interventions to help young people make positive changes to their health-related behaviour. I am particularly interested in risk behaviour and work in the behavioural domains of obesity, sexual health and alcohol use.
Dr. Richard Rowe r.rowe@sheffield.ac.uk   The development of antisocial behaviour; unintentional injury: Psychological risk factors for accidents in children and adolescents; driver behaviour
Dr. Tom Webb t.webb@sheffield.ac.uk Goal striving and goal management – direction of thoughts, feelings and actions to achieve particular goals