Psychology Research Postgraduates

Below is a list of current Research Students in the Department of Psychology.

A

Name Research Topic Primary Supervisor Email
Adkins, Kate Understanding body shame, stigma, disgust, and depression: How can developing self-compassion help in living with a visible skin condition Dr Andrew Thompson KAdkins1@sheffield.ac.uk
Al-Jawahiri, Reem Heterogeneity within the autism spectrum Dr Liz Milne r.jawahiri@sheffield.ac.uk
Altammar, Shahah Psychological Well-Being in Children with Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes Prof Paul Norman SMAltammar1@sheffield.ac.uk
Altin, Nazli An investigation of eye cueing effect: Universal or not, cross-cultural study Dr Megan Freeth NAltin1@sheffield.ac.uk
Armstrong Gallegos, Stephanie Alejandra Relation between the Executive Function development and the reading acquisition, from a neuropsychological view Prof Rod Nicolson SArmstrong2@sheffield.ac.uk
Aytemur, Ali Neuroscientific investigation into sense of agency Dr Liat Levita AAytemur1@sheffield.ac.uk
Azab, Fatma Habits and Health Behaviour Prof Paul Norman pcp10faa@sheffield.ac.uk
Azlan, Haffiezhah An-Nadiah Examining self-disgust in cancer patients Prof Paul Overton HAAzlan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

B

Baird, Harriet The Role of Time Perspective in Monitoring Goal Progress Dr Tom Webb pcp11hmb@sheffield.ac.uk
Barkoukis, Vasileios Self-affirmation and doping behaviour Dr Richard Rowe pcp11vb@sheffield.ac.uk
Beal, Rhianan Fear learning, extinction and consolidation processes in the transition from adolescence to adulthood and early life stress Dr Liat Levita RBeal1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bennion, Matthew Affective computing to support good mental health in later life Dr Abi Millings m.bennion@sheffield.ac.uk
Bin Dawood, Abdullah Does the grammatical gender system of Arabic affect the categorization of objects for English Arabic Bilinguals? Dr Yanjing Wu ABinDawood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Blouchou, Panagiota Positive Dyslexia. An ivestigation into the strengths of primary school children Prof Rod Nicolson PBLOUCHOU1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bray, Agnes Waking the silent majority: Predicting and preventing the `democratic deficit' in wind farm siting Dr Chris Jones AKovacs2@sheffield.ac.uk
Brezzo, Gaia Brain imaging and brain disease: understanding the effects of brain disease on the relationship between neuronal activity and the blood flow changes that underlie brain imaging signals. Dr Chris Martin g.brezzo@sheffield.ac.uk
Broglia, Emma A feasibility trial of the effectiveness and impact of counselling in universities and/or colleges of further education Prof Michael Barkham ELBroglia1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brookes, James Heterogeneity in the Development of Antisocial Behaviour Dr Richard Rowe JDBrookes1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brown, Christopher Leaving elite sport: Understanding the determinants of adjustment to retirement Dr Thomas Webb CJBrown1@sheffield.ac.uk
Buxton, David Chunking Prof Kevin Gurney DRBuxton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

C

Castillo Eito, Laura Developing a theory-driven prevention for antisocial behaviour Dr Richard Rowe LCastilloEito1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chamorro Coneo, Ana Maria Skin conditions and psychological adjustment Dr Andrew Thompson AMChamorroConeo1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chivers, Carla The Categorisation-Processing-Adaptation-Generalisation model to the de-bias of jury decision making Prof Richard Crisp pcp12cac@sheffield.ac.uk
Clark, Martin Investigating the striatal reward circuits with a specific focus on areas associated with the pleasure aspects of reward Dr Enrico Bracci lip07mtc@sheffield.ac.uk
Clarke, Elaine Can compassion meditation training reduce self-disgust, shame and improve symptoms of depression? Dr Andrew Thompson E.N.Clarke@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

D

Damer, Ekaterina Cognitive Adaptation to Social and Cultural Diversity Prof Richard Crisp ek.damer@sheffield.ac.uk
Day, Marianne Does an interactive child-centered workshop reduce treatment related distress and improve quality of life in children with leukaemia? Dr Richard Rowe marianne.day@sheffield.ac.uk
Denis, Daniel Identifying the neural processing underlying expert anticipation in real world skills Dr Richard Rowe DDenis1@sheffield.ac.uk
Diaz Barriga Yanez, Andrea Exploring the role of the prefrontal cortex and the executive functions across lifespan development Dr Dan Carroll ADiazBarrigaYanez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Donnellan, Ed Understanding intentional communication: a developmental and comparative approach Dr Danielle Matthews ed.donnellan@sheffield.ac.uk
Dotse, John Influence of Traffic Stress/Anxiety, Emotional Stability, and Risk Perception on Susceptibility to Risky Driving Behaviour and Road Accidents: A Study among New and Experienced Drivers Dr Richard Rowe JEKDotse1@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

E

Eman, Saima Understanding antisocial behaviours: The roles of sensation seeking and subtypes of empathy Professor Rod Nicolson saima.eman@sheffield.ac.uk
Evans, Rachel Planning and health behaviour Prof Paul Norman REvans9@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

F

Favila Vazquez, Natalia Chunking of behavioural sequences Prof Paul Overton NFavilaVazquez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ferra, Fenia Police interviews with children Dr Mark Blades pcp12gf@sheffield.ac.uk
Fu, Yuan How the sociopolitical environment affects children's ability to recognize and understand advertising in Web Dr Mark Blades YFu15@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

G

Gagnon, Emily Developing domain specific models for predicting and changing health-risk and health-promotion behaviour Prof Paul Norman ECGagnon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gallant, Zoe The cognitive neuroscience of ageing Prof Rod Nicolson zoe.gallant@sheffield.ac.uk
Gallopeni, Bujar Investigating executive control and attention in relation to workload in younger and older employees: the role of psychological processes such as personal motivation, job satisfaction and work readiness as mediators/mod.. Prof Rod Nicolson BGallopeni1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gates, Lesia Health Psychology Dr Steve Kellett LDGates1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gavriilidis, Ioannis Cognitive Neuroscience of emotions in older adults: Self-disgust Prof Paul Overton IGavriilidis1@sheffield.ac.uk
Giannadou, Aikaterini Attention and Perception in ASC Dr Liz Milne AGiannadou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gorgiev, Anka Towards a New Marketing Paradigm: The Impact of Neuroscience and Behavioral Economics on Marketing. Dr Chris Martin AGorgiev1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gyurkovics, Máté Affective factors in cognitive control: Behavioural and neural investigations in adults and adolescents Dr Liat Levita MGyurkovics1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

H

Harrison, Phillippa Patient engagement in contrasting psychological therapies for depression Prof Michael Barkham PHarrison1@sheffield.ac.uk
Heapy, Connor The relationship between obsessive intrusive thoughts, mindfulness and executive function Dr Lisa-Marie Emerson pcb08ch@sheffield.ac.uk
Hernández Hernández, Maria Elena Therapist Drift Prof Glenn Waller MEHernandezHernandez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hunger, Lars Dopamine effects on the Basal Ganglia Dr Robert Schmidt LHunger1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

I

Back to the top

J

James, Katy Therapist effects Prof Michael Barkham KMJames1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jimenez Rodriguez, Alejandro Population coding of action execution in the basal ganglia Dr Robert Schmidt AJimenezRodriguez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Johnstone, Kirsty The gestural misinformation effect in relation to the eyewitness paradigm Dr Mark Blades KLJohnstone1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Gareth Habit and health behaviour Prof Paul Norman gareth.jones@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Gwyn Interviewing Child Eyewitnesses Dr M Blades GLJones1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

K

Kandemirci, Birsu Effects of Technology and Scaffolding on Children's Creativity Dr Elena Hoicka BKandemirci1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kelly, Ciara Social-Cognitive Development in Deaf Children Dr Danielle Matthews ciara.kelly@sheffield.ac.uk
Kirkham, Lizzy Social cognitive neuroscience: Early life stress and the adult brain Dr Liat Levita EKirkham1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

L

Laker, Victoria Body comparison behaviours within eating disorders Prof Glenn Waller VLaker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Laketa, Aleksandra Cognitive correlates of bilingualism through the life-span Dr Emma Blakey ALaketa1@sheffield.ac.uk
Lane, Chloe Establishing the Cognitive Profile of Sotos Syndrome Dr Megan Freeth CLane2@sheffield.ac.uk
Leyland, Anna Mindfulness in Schools Dr Lisa-Marie Emerson a.f.leyland@sheffield.ac.uk
Linton, Samantha A Neuroscientific investigation into sense of agency Dr Liat Levita SRLinton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

M

Ma'rof, Aini Azeqa Out-group trust, out-group cultural values, and intergroup anxiety as mediators of the effect of imagined intergroup contact on prosocial behaviour tendencies, intergroup prejudice and intergroup behavioural tendencies: A study among Malaysian mainstream and indigenous adolescents Dr Richard Crisp AABMarof1@sheffield.ac.uk
McCoy, Peter Investigating the role of self-compassion in the self-regulation of drinking behaviour Dr Fuschia  Sirois PAMcCoy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mcsweeney, Marco Fear Learning, Extinction and Consolidation Processes in the Transition from Adolescence to Adulthood and Early Life Stress Dr Liat Levita MMcsweeney1@sheffield.ac.uk
Meade, Keelan Integrated Impact Assessment of Urban Wind Turbines Dr Chris Jones k.meade@sheffield.ac.uk
Meyer, Kendra Best practice in interviewing child witnesses and child victims: An international comparison of regulations and procedures Dr Mark Blades KRMeyer1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mischewski, Justina Intergroup Contact and Social Class: Impact on Social Attitudes and Judgment Prof Richard Crisp JMischewski1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mohamad Ramdzan, Hanis Durrani The effects of advertising on children Dr Mark Blades HDMohamadRamdzan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Montgomery, Kerry Mindfulness and chronic skin conditions Dr Andrew Thompson KMontgomery1@sheffield.ac.uk
Morgan, Emma Attention in Real Life Interactions Dr Megan Freeth EJMorgan1@sheffield.ac.uk

N

Naneva, Stanislava Attitudes toward robots Dr Thomas Webb SNaneva1@sheffield.ac.uk
Nunes, Luana 'Herding cats': Visually guided decision making with target swarms Prof Kevin Gurney LFNunes1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

O

Orellana Calderon, Ligia Maria Emotional regulation of others and self; prejudice, discrimination and fostering positive emotions Prof Peter Totterdell l.orellana@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

P

Parker, Zach Clinicians use of evidence-based psychological therapies: What methods are used, what methods are not used, and why? Prof Glenn Waller ZJParker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Pitfield, Gabrielle Positive Dyslexia: Working to one's strengths Prof Rod Nicolson GFPitfield1@sheffield.ac.uk
Powell, Stephanie Young children's technology use: exploring relationships and effects on divergent thinking Dr Elena Hoicka stephanie.powell@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Q

Qehaja-Osmani, Fatbardha Language Comprehension Skills and executive functions in children Dr Dan Carroll pcp12fq@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

R

Radulescu, Carola Understanding the fundamental mechanisms contributing to behavioural control Dr Enrico Bracci CIRadulescu1@sheffield.ac.uk
Riley, Tim Effects of Ethanol Exposure During Early Development on the Sensory Responsiveness of the Superior Colliculus Prof Paul Overton TBRiley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rosales Cadena, Sandy Belle Self-compassion Dr Fuschia Sirois SBRosalesCadena1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

S

Sarda Gou, Marina Attitudes towards robots Dr Thomas Webb MSardaGou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Saxon, David Therapist effects in psychological therapy services, using multilevel modelling Prof Michael Barkham cmp03ds@sheffield.ac.uk
Sepulveda, Poliana Entrepreneur behaviours in Dyslexics: Qualitative and Quantitative Analysis Prof Rod Nicolson PPSepulveda1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sepulveda Maldonado, José Andres Emotional regulation on other and self and its influence on prejudice reduction, intergroup conflict and discrimination Prof Peter Totterdell j.sepulveda@sheffield.ac.uk
Simmonds-Buckley, Melanie Understanding when and why evidenced-based treatment for depression fails to work - and testing an intervention to improve outcomes. Dr Steve Kellett MKSimmonds-Buckley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Simpson-Southward, Chloe Understanding therapist drift: patient, therapist and relationship factors Prof Glenn Waller CRSimpson-Southward1@sheffield.ac.uk
Smales, Bethanie Childhood Obesity Dr Mark Blades BOSmales1@sheffield.ac.uk
Soy, Burcu Toddlers' and preschoolers' understanding of complex intentions Dr Elena Hoicka BSoy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Spigler, Giacomo Towards an embodied model of multimodal musical learning Dr Stuart Wilson GSpigler1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stephens, Gemma Longitudinal study into individual differences in pragmatic development Dr Danielle Matthews GStephens1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stevenson, Jodie Applying adult attachment to health domains Dr Abi Millings JStevenson4@sheffield.ac.uk
Studenica, Arvesa Cognitive correlates of bilingualism through the life-span Dr Emma Blakey AStudenica1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

T

Treweek, Caroline Improving public perceptions of people who have Autism Dr Megan Freeth soa05cat@sheffield.ac.uk
Tsatali, Marianna The connection between self disgust, cognition and emotions among adults with depressive symptoms. Can this relationship generalized beyond depressive symptoms? Prof Paul Overton

MTsatali1@sheffield.ac.uk

Turnbull, Sophie The development of flexible cognition in children and adults Dr Dan Carroll SATurnbull1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

U

Back to the top

V

von Nordheim, Laura Relationships between parenting, eating behaviour, media influences, body image, and health and wellbeing outcomes Dr Mark Blades LvonNordheim1@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

W

Wiechmann, Marcel Cognitive Adaptation to Social and Cultural Diversity Prof Richard Crisp MWiechmann1@sheffield.ac.uk
Wilson, Daniel Self-organisation as a theory of brain development Dr Stuart Wilson mba03daw@sheffield.ac.uk
Wood, Natalie Robots in healthcare: An investigation of the proposed therapeutic effects of the PARO seal Dr Abi Millings NWood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

X

Back to the top

Y

Yang, Sisi Embracing the furture self : Understanding and Addressing the Temporal Mood-Regulation Dynamics of Procrastination Dr Fuschia Sirois SYang37@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

Z