Psychology research postgraduates

Below is a list of current research students in the Department of Psychology.

A

Name Research Topic Primary Supervisor Email
Albesisi, Siham Meta analysis of emotion regulation on ADHD children Prof Paul Overton SAlbesisi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Al-Jawahiri, Reem Heterogeneity within the autism spectrum Prof Elizabeth Milne r.jawahiri@sheffield.ac.uk
Alshebali, Munirah A study of CBT for perfectionism as a means of reducing anxiety Prof Glenn Waller MHAlshebali1@sheffield.ac.uk
Altammar, Shahah Psychological Well-Being in Children with Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes Prof Paul Norman SMAltammar1@sheffield.ac.uk
Altin, Nazli An investigation of eye cueing effect: Universal or not, cross-cultural study Dr Megan Freeth NAltin1@sheffield.ac.uk
Aristotelidou, Vasileia Self- disgust and Parkinson Disease, identifying their relationship Dr Ana Vivas VAristotelidou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Armstrong Gallegos, Stephanie Alejandra Relation between the Executive Function development and the reading acquisition, from a neuropsychological view Prof Rod Nicolson SArmstrong2@sheffield.ac.uk
Aytemur, Ali Neuroscientific investigation into sense of agency Dr Liat Levita AAytemur1@sheffield.ac.uk

B

Beaton, Danielle Mental Health in Adults with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD): The Role of the Self Dr Fuschia Sirios dmbeaton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bin Dawood, Abdullah Does the grammatical gender system of Arabic affect the categorization of objects for English Arabic Bilinguals? Dr Yanjing Wu ABinDawood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bin Haamed, Haifa Comorbid anxiety and impulsivity with eating disorders Professor Glenn Waller habinhaamed1@sheffield.ac.uk
Blouchou, Panagiota Positive Dyslexia. An ivestigation into the strengths of primary school children Prof Rod Nicolson PBLOUCHOU1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brance, Kristine The mental health of refugees: Discrimination, integration and identity Professor Richard Bentall KBrance1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brighouse, Amelia Understanding how therapy works for the eating disorders Professor Glenn Waller ajbrighouse1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brooke, John Reaction Diffusion Modelling of Cortical Arealization Dr Stuart Wilson jmbrooke1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brookes, James Heterogeneity in the Development of Antisocial Behaviour Dr Richard Rowe JDBrookes1@sheffield.ac.uk

C

Castillo Eito, Laura Developing a theory-driven prevention for antisocial behaviour Dr Richard Rowe LCastilloEito1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chamorro Coneo, Ana Maria Skin conditions and psychological adjustment Dr Andrew Thompson AMChamorroConeo1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chen, Jiayi How different cultural background influence the different genders people with ASC and their camouflage Professor Elizabeth Milne JChen108@sheffield.ac.uk
Chua, Deng (Adriel) What are the Functions of Beta Oscillations in the Basal Ganglia? Dr Robert Schmidt dxachua1@sheffield.ac.uk
Clarke, Elaine Can compassion meditation training reduce self-disgust, shame and improve symptoms of depression? Dr Andrew Thompson E.N.Clarke@sheffield.ac.uk
Copeland, Amber Value-based decision-making and self-control in alcohol-related behaviour change and recovery from addiction Professor Matt Field acopeland1@sheffield.ac.uk
Corniani, Giulia Spiking Model of realistic human tactile interactions Dr Hannes Saal GCorniani1@sheffield.ac.uk

D

Day, Marianne Does an interactive child-centered workshop reduce treatment related distress and improve quality of life in children with leukaemia? Professor Richard Rowe pcp11mrd@sheffield.ac.uk
Dogru, Onur Cem Self-Regulation intervention via digital technology Dr Thomas Webb OCDogru1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dotse, John Influence of Traffic Stress/Anxiety, Emotional Stability, and Risk Perception on Susceptibility to Risky Driving Behaviour and Road Accidents: A Study among New and Experienced Drivers Dr Richard Rowe JEKDotse1@sheffield.ac.uk

E

Edmondson, Laura Computational modelling of the emergence of somatosensory cortical maps Dr Hannes Saal LREdmondson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Edwards, Ian Impulsive Control in a Road Safety Setting Professor Paul Norman IEdwards1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ellis (Beal), Rhianan Fear learning, extinction and consolidation processes in the transition from adolescence to adulthood and early life stress Dr Liat Levita reellis1@sheffield.ac.uk
Evans, Rachel Planning and health behaviour Professor Paul Norman p.norman@sheffield.ac.uk
Eyre, Bethany Is blood flow the key to the early detection and treatment of Alzheimer's Disease? Dr Jason Berwick BLEyre1@sheffield.ac.uk

F

Favila Vazquez, Natalia Chunking of behavioural sequences Prof Paul Overton NFavilaVazquez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fu, Yuan How the sociopolitical environment affects children's ability to recognize and understand advertising in Web Dr Mark Blades YFu15@sheffield.ac.uk

G

Gagnon, Emily Developing domain specific models for predicting and changing health-risk and health-promotion behaviour Prof Paul Norman ECGagnon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gallant, Zoe The cognitive neuroscience of ageing Prof Rod Nicolson zoe.gallant@sheffield.ac.uk
Gallopeni, Bujar Investigating executive control and attention in relation to workload in younger and older employees: the role of psychological processes such as personal motivation, job satisfaction and work readiness as mediators/mod.. Prof Rod Nicolson BGallopeni1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gavriilidis, Ioannis Cognitive Neuroscience of emotions in older adults: Self-disgust Prof Paul Overton IGavriilidis1@sheffield.ac.uk
Genes, Denisa             Exploring strategies for succssful weight loss maintenance Dr Nicola Buckland

DLungu1@sheffield.ac.uk

Giannadou, Aikaterini Attention and Perception in ASC Dr Elizabeth Milne AGiannadou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gorgiev, Anka Towards a New Marketing Paradigm: The Impact of Neuroscience and Behavioral Economics on Marketing. Dr Chris Martin AGorgiev1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gyurkovics, Máté Affective factors in cognitive control: Behavioural and neural investigations in adults and adolescents Dr Liat Levita MGyurkovics1@sheffield.ac.uk

H

Haake, Merinda Competences in Person Centred Experiential Therapy Professor Michael Barkham mjhaake1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hales, George Resilience and Child Trauma Dr Agata Debowska gkhales1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hernández Hernández, Maria Elena Therapist Drift Prof Glenn Waller MEHernandezHernandez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hu, Zhuozhuo Sexual objectification: the role of media and efficiency of media literacy intervention Dr Chantelle Wood ZHu5@sheffield.ac.uk

I

Ibrahim,Bashirat Towards Positive Intergroup Attitudes and Prosocial Humanity: The Roles of Virtual Simulated Intergroup Contact, Integrative Complexity and Life Skills among Adolescents Dr Chantelle Wood BAIbrahim1@sheffield.ac.uk   

J

James, Katy Therapist effects Prof Michael Barkham KMJames1@sheffield.ac.uk
James, Poppy Living with stigma: An exploratory study of self-beliefs and integration outcomes in selected refugee groups Dr Aarti Iyer PRJames1@sheffield.ac.uk
James-Brabham, Ella Why do we see Socioeconomic Attainment Gaps in Early Maths Ability? Dr Emma Blakey eljames-brabham1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jiang, Shuangke Working memory Dr Claudia Von Bastian SJiang17@sheffield.ac.uk
Johnstone, Kirsty The gestural misinformation effect in relation to the eyewitness paradigm Dr Mark Blades KLJohnstone1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Gwyn Interviewing Child Eyewitnesses Dr M Blades GLJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

K

L

Laker, Victoria Body comparison behaviours within eating disorders Prof Glenn Waller VLaker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Laketa, Aleksandra Cognitive correlates of bilingualism through the life-span Dr Emma Blakey ALaketa1@sheffield.ac.uk
Lee, Llywelyn Cellular mechanisms of neurovascular coupling in health and ageing Dr Clare Howarth lmtlee1@sheffield.ac.uk
Leyland, Anna Mindfulness in Schools Dr Lisa-Marie Emerson a.f.leyland@sheffield.ac.uk
Lorimer, Ben Exploring relapse following low and high intensity cognitive behavioural therapy: A network analysis Dr Jaime Delgadillo bdlorimer1@sheffield.ac.uk

M

Manalastas, Eric Transforming Political Action Intentions into Political Behaviour Dr Chantelle Wood EJDManalastas1@sheffield.ac.uk
Martinez, Anton The role of explicit and implicit psychological processes in clinical and subclinical paranoia Prof Richard Bentall APMartinez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Matiaki, Maria An exploration of counselling psychologist trainees therapeutic work with college students: The use of feedback and outcome measurement in counselling psychology Dr Andrew Thompson MMatiaki1@sheffield.ac.uk
Matthews, Meghann Factors that influence the extent and nature of interpersonal emotion regulation Dr Thomas Webb MRMatthews1@sheffield.ac.uk
McCoy, Peter Investigating the role of self-compassion in the self-regulation of drinking behaviour Dr Fuschia  Sirois PAMcCoy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mcsweeney, Marco Fear Learning, Extinction and Consolidation Processes in the Transition from Adolescence to Adulthood and Early Life Stress Dr Liat Levita MMcsweeney1@sheffield.ac.uk
Meyer, Kendra Best practice in interviewing child witnesses and child victims: An international comparison of regulations and procedures Dr Mark Blades KRMeyer1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mischewski, Justina Intergroup Contact and Social Class: Impact on Social Attitudes and Judgment Prof Richard Crisp JMischewski1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mohamad Ramdzan, Hanis Durrani The effects of advertising on children Dr Mark Blades HDMohamadRamdzan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Morgan, Emma Attention in Real Life Interactions Dr Megan Freeth EJMorgan1@sheffield.ac.uk

N

Naneva, Stanislava Attitudes toward robots Dr Thomas Webb SNaneva1@sheffield.ac.uk

O

P

Patel, Vibhuti Exploring the role of social norms in contributing to sustainable reduced meat food choices, offline and on social media Dr Nicola Buckland vpatel5@sheffield.ac.uk
Pitfield, Gabrielle Positive Dyslexia: Working to one's strengths Prof Rod Nicolson GFPitfield1@sheffield.ac.uk
Pott, Sophie Integrating Behavioural Activation for depression into Community Drug and Alcohol Treatment Dr Jaime Delgadillo SLPott1@sheffield.ac.uk
Powell, Stephanie Young children's technology use: exploring relationships and effects on divergent thinking Dr Elena Hoicka stephanie.powell@sheffield.ac.uk

Q

Qehaja-Osmani, Fatbardha Language Comprehension Skills and executive functions in children Dr Dan Carroll pcp12fq@sheffield.ac.uk

R

Rosales Cadena, Sandy Belle Self-compassion Dr Fuschia Sirois SBRosalesCadena1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rautkauskas, Laurynas Barriers to help-seeking for mental health problems among university students Dr Abigail Millings lrutkauskas1@sheffield.ac.uk

S

Sarda Gou, Marina Attitudes towards robots Dr Thomas Webb MSardaGou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sari, Ayu Riana Youth depression, psychological well-being, developing intervention for psychopathology problems Professor Richard Rowe ARSari1@sheffield.ac.uk
Saribaz, Zeliha Ezgi The development of well being and its links with psychopathology Professor Richard Rowe ZESaribaz1@sheffield.ac.uk
Satmarean, Tamara Neural correlates of cognitive biases associated with antisocial behaviour: A social information-processing perspective Professor Richard Rowe tssatmarean1@sheffield.ac.uk
Shabir, Osman Neurovascular Coupling in Atherosclerosis Dr Jason Berwick Oshabir1@sheffield.ac.uk
Simpson-Southward, Chloe Understanding therapist drift: patient, therapist and relationship factors Prof Glenn Waller CRSimpson-Southward1@sheffield.ac.uk
Smales, Bethanie Childhood Obesity Dr Mark Blades BOSmales1@sheffield.ac.uk
Soy-Telli, Burcu Toddlers' and preschoolers' understanding of complex intentions Dr Elena Hoicka BSoy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Spentza, Ioanna Dr Tom Stafford ISSpentza1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stephens, Gemma Longitudinal study into individual differences in pragmatic development Dr Danielle Matthews GStephens1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stevenson, Jodie Applying adult attachment to health domains Dr Abi Millings JStevenson4@sheffield.ac.uk
Studenica, Arvesa Cognitive correlates of bilingualism through the life-span Dr Emma Blakey AStudenica1@sheffield.ac.uk

T

Turk, Fidan The aim of this study is to explore the relationship between eating symptomology and self-criticism and self-compassion in non-clinical sample Professor Glenn Waller fturk1@sheffield.ac.uk

U

Ulusoy, Kubra Studying approach-avoidance conflict during adolescence Dr Liat Levita KUlusoy1@sheffield.ac.uk

V

von Nordheim, Laura Relationships between parenting, eating behaviour, media influences, body image, and health and wellbeing outcomes Dr Mark Blades LvonNordheim1@sheffield.ac.uk

W

Whiteley, Daniel Cortical plasticity within and between lifetimes Dr Stuart Wilson dwhiteley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Wilson, Daniel Self-organisation as a theory of brain development Dr Stuart Wilson mba03daw@sheffield.ac.uk
Wood, Natalie Robots in healthcare: An investigation of the proposed therapeutic effects of the PARO seal Dr Abi Millings NWood1@sheffield.ac.uk

X

Xie, Jiawei Emotional Memory and Stress Dr Fuschia Sirios JXie16@sheffield.ac.uk

Y

Yang, Sisi Embracing the furture self : Understanding and Addressing the Temporal Mood-Regulation Dynamics of Procrastination Dr Fuschia Sirois SYang37@sheffield.ac.uk
Yavaslar-Dogru, Yesim The development of cognitive processes in preschool and early school-age children Dr Dan Carroll
YYavaslar1@sheffield.ac.uk

Z