Psychology research postgraduates

Below is a list of current research students in the Department of Psychology.

A

Name Research Topic Primary Supervisor Email
Albesisi, Siham Meta analysis of emotion regulation on ADHD children Prof Paul Overton SAlbesisi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Al-Jawahiri, Reem Heterogeneity within the autism spectrum Prof Liz Milne r.jawahiri@sheffield.ac.uk
Alshebali, Munirah A study of CBT for perfectionism as a means of reducing anxiety Prof Glenn Waller MHAlshebali1@sheffield.ac.uk
Altammar, Shahah Psychological Well-Being in Children with Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes Prof Paul Norman SMAltammar1@sheffield.ac.uk
Altin, Nazli An investigation of eye cueing effect: Universal or not, cross-cultural study Dr Megan Freeth NAltin1@sheffield.ac.uk
Armstrong Gallegos, Stephanie Alejandra Relation between the Executive Function development and the reading acquisition, from a neuropsychological view Prof Rod Nicolson SArmstrong2@sheffield.ac.uk
Aytemur, Ali Neuroscientific investigation into sense of agency Dr Liat Levita AAytemur1@sheffield.ac.uk

B

Barkoukis, Vasileios Self-affirmation and doping behaviour Dr Richard Rowe pcp11vb@sheffield.ac.uk
Beal, Rhianan Fear learning, extinction and consolidation processes in the transition from adolescence to adulthood and early life stress Dr Liat Levita RBeal1@sheffield.ac.uk
Beaton, Danielle
Bin Dawood, Abdullah Does the grammatical gender system of Arabic affect the categorization of objects for English Arabic Bilinguals? Dr Yanjing Wu ABinDawood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bin Haamed, Haifa
Blouchou, Panagiota Positive Dyslexia. An ivestigation into the strengths of primary school children Prof Rod Nicolson PBLOUCHOU1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brighouse, Amelia
Brooke, John
Brookes, James Heterogeneity in the Development of Antisocial Behaviour Dr Richard Rowe JDBrookes1@sheffield.ac.uk

C

CanoGomez, Ivan
Castillo Eito, Laura Developing a theory-driven prevention for antisocial behaviour Dr Richard Rowe LCastilloEito1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chamorro Coneo, Ana Maria Skin conditions and psychological adjustment Dr Andrew Thompson AMChamorroConeo1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chua, Deng (Adriel)
Clarke, Elaine Can compassion meditation training reduce self-disgust, shame and improve symptoms of depression? Dr Andrew Thompson E.N.Clarke@sheffield.ac.uk
Copeland, Amber

D

Day, Marianne
Diaz Barriga Yanez, Andrea Exploring the role of the prefrontal cortex and the executive functions across lifespan development Dr Dan Carroll ADiazBarrigaYanez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dogru, Onur Cem Self-Regulation intervention via digital technology Dr Thomas Webb OCDogru1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dotse, John Influence of Traffic Stress/Anxiety, Emotional Stability, and Risk Perception on Susceptibility to Risky Driving Behaviour and Road Accidents: A Study among New and Experienced Drivers Dr Richard Rowe JEKDotse1@sheffield.ac.uk

E

Edmondson, Laura Computational modelling of the emergence of somatosensory cortical maps Dr Hannes Saal LREdmondson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ellis (Beal), Rhianan
Evans, Rachel

F

Favila Vazquez, Natalia Chunking of behavioural sequences Prof Paul Overton NFavilaVazquez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fu, Yuan How the sociopolitical environment affects children's ability to recognize and understand advertising in Web Dr Mark Blades YFu15@sheffield.ac.uk

G

Gagnon, Emily Developing domain specific models for predicting and changing health-risk and health-promotion behaviour Prof Paul Norman ECGagnon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gallant, Zoe The cognitive neuroscience of ageing Prof Rod Nicolson zoe.gallant@sheffield.ac.uk
Gallopeni, Bujar Investigating executive control and attention in relation to workload in younger and older employees: the role of psychological processes such as personal motivation, job satisfaction and work readiness as mediators/mod.. Prof Rod Nicolson BGallopeni1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gavriilidis, Ioannis Cognitive Neuroscience of emotions in older adults: Self-disgust Prof Paul Overton IGavriilidis1@sheffield.ac.uk
Genes, Denisa Exploring strategies for succssful weight loss maintenance Dr Nicola Buckland

DLungu1@sheffield.ac.uk

Giannadou, Aikaterini Attention and Perception in ASC Dr Liz Milne AGiannadou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gorgiev, Anka Towards a New Marketing Paradigm: The Impact of Neuroscience and Behavioral Economics on Marketing. Dr Chris Martin AGorgiev1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gyurkovics, Máté Affective factors in cognitive control: Behavioural and neural investigations in adults and adolescents Dr Liat Levita MGyurkovics1@sheffield.ac.uk

H

Haake, Merinda
Hales, George
Hernández Hernández, Maria Elena Therapist Drift Prof Glenn Waller MEHernandezHernandez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hunger, Lars Dopamine effects on the Basal Ganglia Dr Robert Schmidt LHunger1@sheffield.ac.uk

I

J

James, Katy Therapist effects Prof Michael Barkham KMJames1@sheffield.ac.uk
James, Poppy Living with stigma: An exploratory study of self-beliefs and integration outcomes in selected refugee groups Dr Aarti Iyer PRJames1@sheffield.ac.uk
James-Brabham, Ella
Jimenez Rodriguez, Alejandro Population coding of action execution in the basal ganglia Dr Robert Schmidt AJimenezRodriguez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Johnstone, Kirsty The gestural misinformation effect in relation to the eyewitness paradigm Dr Mark Blades KLJohnstone1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Gwyn Interviewing Child Eyewitnesses Dr M Blades GLJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

K

Kelly, Ciara

L

Laker, Victoria Body comparison behaviours within eating disorders Prof Glenn Waller VLaker1@sheffield.ac.uk
Lee, Llywelyn
Leyland, Anna Mindfulness in Schools Dr Lisa-Marie Emerson a.f.leyland@sheffield.ac.uk
Lorimer, Ben

M

Matiaki, Maria Dr Andrew Thompson MMatiaki1@sheffield.ac.uk
Manalastas, Eric Transforming Political Action Intentions into Political Behaviour Dr Chantelle Wood EJDManalastas1@sheffield.ac.uk
Martinez, Anton The role of explicit and implicit psychological processes in clinical and subslinical paranoia Prof Richard Bentall APMartinez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Matthews, Meghann Factors that influence the extent and nature of interpersonal emotion regulation Dr Thomas Webb MRMatthews1@sheffield.ac.uk
McCoy, Peter Investigating the role of self-compassion in the self-regulation of drinking behaviour Dr Fuschia  Sirois PAMcCoy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mcsweeney, Marco Fear Learning, Extinction and Consolidation Processes in the Transition from Adolescence to Adulthood and Early Life Stress Dr Liat Levita MMcsweeney1@sheffield.ac.uk
Meyer, Kendra Best practice in interviewing child witnesses and child victims: An international comparison of regulations and procedures Dr Mark Blades KRMeyer1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mischewski, Justina Intergroup Contact and Social Class: Impact on Social Attitudes and Judgment Prof Richard Crisp JMischewski1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mohamad Ramdzan, Hanis Durrani The effects of advertising on children Dr Mark Blades HDMohamadRamdzan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Morgan, Emma Attention in Real Life Interactions Dr Megan Freeth EJMorgan1@sheffield.ac.uk

N

Naneva, Stanislava Attitudes toward robots Dr Thomas Webb SNaneva1@sheffield.ac.uk

O

Orellana Calderon, Ligia Maria Emotional regulation of others and self; prejudice, discrimination and fostering positive emotions Prof Peter Totterdell l.orellana@sheffield.ac.uk

P

Patel, Vibhuti
Peters, Christian Analysing Big Data to understand learning Dr Tom Stafford CTPeters1@sheffield.ac.uk
Pitfield, Gabrielle Positive Dyslexia: Working to one's strengths Prof Rod Nicolson GFPitfield1@sheffield.ac.uk
Pott, Sophie Integrating Behavioural Activation for depression into Community Drug and Alcohol Treatment Dr Jaime Delgadillo SLPott1@sheffield.ac.uk
Powell, Stephanie Young children's technology use: exploring relationships and effects on divergent thinking Dr Elena Hoicka stephanie.powell@sheffield.ac.uk

Q

Qehaja-Osmani, Fatbardha Language Comprehension Skills and executive functions in children Dr Dan Carroll pcp12fq@sheffield.ac.uk

R

Rautkauskas, Laurynas
Rosales Cadena, Sandy Belle Self-compassion Dr Fuschia Sirois SBRosalesCadena1@sheffield.ac.uk

S

Sarda Gou, Marina Attitudes towards robots Dr Thomas Webb MSardaGou1@sheffield.ac.uk
Satmarean, Tamara
Sepulveda Maldonado, José Andres Emotional regulation on other and self and its influence on prejudice reduction, intergroup conflict and discrimination Prof Peter Totterdell j.sepulveda@sheffield.ac.uk
Shabir, Osman Neurovascular Coupling in Atherosclerosis Dr Jason Berwick Oshabir1@sheffield.ac.uk
Simmonds-Buckley, Melanie Understanding when and why evidenced-based treatment for depression fails to work - and testing an intervention to improve outcomes. Dr Steve Kellett MKSimmonds-Buckley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Simpson-Southward, Chloe Understanding therapist drift: patient, therapist and relationship factors Prof Glenn Waller CRSimpson-Southward1@sheffield.ac.uk
Smales, Bethanie Childhood Obesity Dr Mark Blades BOSmales1@sheffield.ac.uk
Soy-Telli, Burcu Toddlers' and preschoolers' understanding of complex intentions Dr Elena Hoicka BSoy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Spentza, Ioanna Dr Tom Stafford ISSpentza1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stephens, Gemma Longitudinal study into individual differences in pragmatic development Dr Danielle Matthews GStephens1@sheffield.ac.uk
Stevenson, Jodie Applying adult attachment to health domains Dr Abi Millings JStevenson4@sheffield.ac.uk
Studenica, Arvesa Cognitive correlates of bilingualism through the life-span Dr Emma Blakey AStudenica1@sheffield.ac.uk

T

Turk, Fidan

U

V

von Nordheim, Laura Relationships between parenting, eating behaviour, media influences, body image, and health and wellbeing outcomes Dr Mark Blades LvonNordheim1@sheffield.ac.uk

W

Whiteley, Daniel
Wilson, Daniel Self-organisation as a theory of brain development Dr Stuart Wilson mba03daw@sheffield.ac.uk
Wood, Natalie Robots in healthcare: An investigation of the proposed therapeutic effects of the PARO seal Dr Abi Millings NWood1@sheffield.ac.uk

X

Y

Yang, Sisi Embracing the furture self : Understanding and Addressing the Temporal Mood-Regulation Dynamics of Procrastination Dr Fuschia Sirois SYang37@sheffield.ac.uk
Yavaslar-Dogru, Yesim The development of cognitive processes in preschool and early school-age children Dr Dan Carroll
YYavaslar1@sheffield.ac.uk

Z

cas