Research Development Team

The Research Development section work closely with faculty, departmental and individual research leaders to provide strategic, dedicated and practical support for research applications. The team work closely with all research funders to gather intelligence and support research applications.

The team also provides dedicated support to growing interdisciplinary research themes and capital infrastructure developments. Major institutional submissions including PhD block grants, capital infrastructure and cross faculty applications are a particular focus for the team.

See also: R&IS staff A-Z directory | R&IS structure

Head of Research Development

Neil Harris

Dr Neil Harris

Interim Head of Research Development

email Neil.Harris@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 27439

Arts and Humanities

Beth Taylor

Dr Beth TAYLOR

Interim Research Strategy Manager

email B.L.Taylor@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 222 7613

Chapman

Joanne CHAPMAN

Research Development Officer

email Jo.Chapman@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21334

Engineering

Allman

Lee ALLMAN (Engineering)

Research Strategy Manager

email L.Allman@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21447

Brian Littlejohn

Brian LITTLEJOHN

Research Development Officer

email icon b.littlejohn@sheffield.ac.uk

Phon icon 0114 22 21336

Medicine, Dentistry and Health

Neil Harris

Dr Neil HARRIS

Research Strategy Manager

email Neil.Harris@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 27439

rachel Dwyer

Ms Rachel DWYER

Research Development Officer

email R.M.Dwyer@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21437

 Science

Kiddle

Dr Graham KIDDLE

Research Strategy Manager

email graham.kiddle@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21438

null

Post Vacant

Research Development Officer

Social Sciences

Beth Taylor

Dr Bethan TAYLOR

Research Strategy Manager

email icon B.L.Taylor@sheffield.ac.uk

Phon icon 0114 222 7613

Katie_ELLIS

Katie ELLIS

Research Development Officer

email Katie.Ellis@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 27431

Interdisciplinary

Knight

Dr Mel KNIGHT

Interdisciplinary Research Development Manager

email M.Knight@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21401

Jennifer_PHAFF

Dr Jennifer PHAFF

Interdisciplinary Research Development Officer

email j.phaff@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21337

Working hours Mon, Wed, Fri (AM)

Peter Caven

Dr Peter CAVEN

Interdisciplinary Research Development Officer

email icon p.caven@sheffield.ac.uk

Phon icon 0114 22 21441

Fellowship Support & Development

Harden

Dr Charlotte HARDEN

Fellowships Development Officer

email C.Harden@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21434

Research Project Management

Chrissie Boxall

Dr Chrissy SAMMUT (née BOXALL)

2022 Futures Project Manager

Research Development Section

email icon C.Sammut@sheffield.ac.uk

Phon icon 0114 22 21054

DE LEENHEER

Dr Evy DE LEENHEER

Biomedical Research Project Manager

email E.DeLeenheer@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 22891

Mangham

Claire MANGHAM

Life Sciences research Development Officer

email C.Mangham@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 27434

Alex Wilkinson

Alex WILKINSON

Biomedical Research Project Manager

email icon Alex.Wilkinson@sheffield.ac.uk

Phon icon 0114 22 27447

Research Delivery & Environment

Lay

Charlotte LAY

Research Infrastructure Development Manager

email C.Lay@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21418

Cliona_BOYLE

Cliona BOYLE

Institutional Impact Co-ordinator

email icon c.boyle@sheffield.ac.uk

Phon icon 0114 222 7449

Isaac

Dr Andrew ISAAC

EU Implementation Manager

email A.D.Isaac@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21338

Support Team

Maltby

Diane MALTBY

Research Development Assistant

email D.Maltby@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 26086

Riley

Stephanie RILEY (Maternity Leave)

Research Development Assistant

email Stephanie.Riley@sheffield.ac.uk

tell 0114 22 21460

Working hours Wed & Thu 9am-5pm