PGR submission deadlines on University closure days

Where a student’s expected end date (time limit) for thesis submission falls on a day when the University is closed due to a holiday period, e.g. a Bank Holiday or University Closure Day, the student should make every effort to submit their thesis before their deadline. Where this is not possible, the student may submit their thesis to Research Services no later than the end of the next working day after the University re-opens. Students who submit their thesis any later than the end of the next working day will have to apply for a time limit extension. Students should also ensure that they plan their submission to allow time for their thesis to be printed and bound.

The list of closure dates and latest submission dates for 2018-19 is as follows:

If the expected end date is: The thesis must be submitted to Research Services no later than the end of the day on:
Between Monday 24 December 2018 and Tuesday 01 January 2019 Wednesday 02 January 2019
Between Friday 19 April 2019 and Monday 22 April 2019 Tuesday 23 April 2019
Monday 06 May 2019 Tuesday 07 May 2019
Monday 27 May 2019 Tuesday 28 May 2019
Monday 26 August 2019 Tuesday 27 August 2019

Please note that this does not apply when a student’s expected end date falls on a weekend. If a student’s time limit for submission falls on a Saturday or a Sunday they will be required to submit their thesis to Research Services no later than the Friday before their time limit.

Research Services is normally open 9.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. from Monday – Friday (except Bank Holidays and University Closure Days).  If visiting Research Services in the late afternoon, students are advised to arrive in sufficient time for their enquiry to be dealt with before the building closes.