Research Services contacts

This page puts you in touch with staff who can help you.

Support for postgraduate research students

Role Name Email Phone
Director of Research Services Deborah McClean D.McClean@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21449
Assistant Director (Research Growth & Development) Dr Neil Harris Neil.Harris@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27439
PA to Director of Research Services Cara Corden C.Corden@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21439
Executive Support Assistant Jane Elshaw J.Elshaw@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21205
Heads of Faculty Research Support
Role Description Name Email Phone
Arts & Humanities Provide research support key account management by working closely with Faculty Directors of Operations (FDOs) to coordinate research support in the Faculty and with Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation (FDRIs) and research leads to horizon scan, identify strategic priorities and ensure users can access the services offered by Research Services.

Jo Chapman

(maternity cover for Rebecca Roberts)

Jo.Chapman@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20995
Engineering Dr Claire Hinchliffe C.E.Hinchliffe@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21447
MDH Rachel Dwyer R.M.Dwyer@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21437
Science Dr Graham Kiddle Graham.Kiddle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21438
Social Sciences Dr Beth Taylor B.L.Taylor@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27613
Grant applications
Role Description Name Email Phone
Faculty Research Growth Officers The first point of contact for discussing funding opportunities and developing research proposals A&H: Leanne Williams Leanne.Williams@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21334
Engineering: Brian Littlejohn B.Littlejohn@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21336
MDH: Lucy Bartrick L.E.Bartrick@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27617
Science: Claire Mangham C.Mangham@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27434

Social Sciences: Daniel Rose

(maternity cover for Katie Ellis)

Daniel.Rose@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27431
Challenge Driven Growth Officers Support for cross-faculty thematic approaches and interdisciplinary "challenge driven" opportunities. Dr Mel Bradford m.knight@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21401
Dr Peter Caven P.Caven@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21441
Dr Jennifer Phaff J.Phaff@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21337
Implementation Managers Support the coordination and embedding of major research awards for complex and strategically important new programmes and activities. Dr Andrew Isaac A.D.Isaac@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21338
Charlotte Lay C.Lay@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21418

Dr Katherine Ford

(maternity cover for Dr Chrissy Sammut)

Katherine.Ford@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21054
GCRF Campaign Partnership Advisor Mark supports successful new award applications to the GCRF and the related Newton Fund. Leads and develops policy engagement activities for the Grantham Centre for Sustainable Futures. Mark Sinclair Mark.Sinclair@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 57204
International Collaboration Officer Support for both cross-faculty, interdisciplinary challenges, post-award implementation and project management of the funding from the GCRF. Kirsty McNeil K.McNeil@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27624
International Programmes Support Officer Support for the Implementation Managers and the International Collaboration Officer managing the funding from the GCRF. Sarah Beedham S.Beedham@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27448
Translational Project Managers Alex and Evy provide a complete pre-and post-award project management function for existing and new translational research projects. Dr Evy de Leenheer E.DeLeenheer@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22891
Alex Wilkinson Alex.Wilkinson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27447
Ethics and Integrity Officer Lindsay can provide advice and support in relation to research ethics or integrity issues to be addressed as part of a funding proposal. Lindsay Unwin L.V.Unwin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21443
Pricing, costing and submitting applications
Role Description Name Email Phone
Pricing Team Leader Jenny Newsome J.Newsome@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21431
Pricing Officer

Contact the pricing helpline for advice and guidance on all aspects of costing, pricing and submitting a research application. For new enquiries please contact the help desk on 0114 22 21450 or research.eds@sheffield.ac.uk. Staff details are provided here for specific enquiries.

Andrew Flint A.Flint@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21454
Senior Pricing Assistant Helen Wakefield H.Wakefield@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20992
Pricing Assistant Nick Cupit N.Cupit@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21414
Pricing Assistant John Watson John.Watson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27629
Contracts and agreements
Role Description Name Email Phone
Grant Support Manager Kirsty Lindley K.Lindley@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21464
Contracts Manager

The contracts team negotiate research agreements between the University, funders and partners.

Request an agreement: The most efficient and effective way to request a new research agreement is via our contracts system.

New enquiries: please contact the help desk on 0114 22 27444 or ri-contracts@sheffield.ac.uk. Staff details are provided here for specific enquiries.

Clare Rant C.Rant@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21333
Contracts Manager Kathryn Pursall K.Pursall@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21424
Contracts Manager Jennifer Loftus J.L.Loftus@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27621
Contracts Officer David Cartledge D.Cartledge@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21339
Contracts Officer Lauren Bingham L.Bingham@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21458
Contracts Officer Vicky Madden V.A.Madden@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22894
Contracts Officer Gavin Hesketh G.Hesketh@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21434
Assistant Contracts Officer Emma McHugh E.McHugh@sheffield.ac.uk
Assistant Contracts Officer Ruth Van Eeden R.VanEeden@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22893
Assistant Contracts Officer Mollie Graham Mollie.Graham@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21462
Contracts Support Linda Buxton L.C.Buxton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27440
Contracts Support Kathryn Clarke K.T.Clarke@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27441
Contracts Support Jen Griffin (maternity leave until Feb 2020) J.A.Griffin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20997

IP and commercial contracts

Role Description Name Email Phone
IP Contracts Manager Helen leads the team, advising researchers and senior management on matters relating to IP and commercial contracts, and negotiates complex or strategic agreements. Helen Jones H.E.Jones@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20991
Licensing and Commercial Madhu negotiates commercial agreements including licenses and assignments. Dr Madhu Ramachandran M.Ramachandran@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27614
Patents Officer Jennifer administers our patent portfolio including the filing and maintenance of patents.  Jennifer Hunter J.Hunter@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21430
IP and Commercial Contracts Assistant Hannah provides support to the team and coordinates the receipt and distribution of royalty income.  Hannah Murton H.Murton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21567

Projects

Role Description Name Email Phone
Project Officer Shokat is working on a project to build awareness of, and compliance with, export control legislation, building on existing university export procedures. Shokat Hayat S.Hayat@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27432
Impact and IP
Role Description Name Email Phone
Head of Impact and IP Andy works with units across the University to set our commercialisation strategy, advise on deals, and align our priorities with the REF impact agenda. Andy Hogben A.J.Hogben@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20999
Institutional Impact Coordinator Cliona works across the HEI sector and with funders to provide advice to support the development of impact strategies and to promote best practice. Cliona Boyle C.Boyle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27449
University Impact Officer The impact officer provides training, advice, presentations and workshops for departments and research groups around all practical aspects of impact, including REF impact. Sarah Howson S.F.Howson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27435
International Impact Officer Tom provides externally facing communications and impact support for new projects and partnerships. Delivering GCRF related knowledge exchange and impact.

Tom Read

Tom.Read@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27619
Commercialisation Managers Manage individual projects and work with academics to build and complete commercial plans for investment, spinout and/or licensing opportunities.

Engineering: Dr Stephen Pyke

Engineering Officer: Dr Hannah Askew

S.H.Pyke@sheffield.ac.uk

H.Askew@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 22 22899

0114 22 27627

Life Sciences: Dr Richard Senior Richard.Senior@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27623
Physical Sciences: Dr Joe Gaunt J.Gaunt@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27626
Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences - Enterprise Manager: Annie Thirlwell A.Thirlwell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21469
Medicine: Sheffield Healthcare Gateway SHG team contacts
Impact and IP Support Officer Laura provides support throughout the team, administers all impact events, first point of contact for Initial Commercial Enquiries and ensures connectivity across the team. Laura Madden (currently on secondment) 0114 22 24434

IP and commercial contracts

Role Description Name Email Phone
IP Contracts Manager Helen leads the team, advising researchers and senior management on matters relating to IP and commercial contracts, and negotiates complex or strategic agreements. Helen Jones H.E.Jones@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20991
Licensing and Commercial Madhu negotiates commercial agreements including licenses and assignments. Dr Madhu Ramachandran M.Ramachandran@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27614
Patents Officer Jennifer administers our patent portfolio including the filing and maintenance of patents. Jennifer Hunter J.Hunter@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21430
IP and Commercial Contracts Assistant Hannah provides support to the team and coordinates the receipt and distribution of royalty income. Hannah Murton H.Murton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21567
Support for supervisors and PGR administrators
Role Description Name Email Phone
Research Degree Support Officers Provide guidance and support with all aspects of University regulations and policies concerning doctoral students, e.g. supervision, student progression, including Confirmation Review and thesis submission and examination. They also maintain and update the student record. Dr Helen Papaioannou pgrarts@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 26087
Michael Cordwell pgreng@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24012
Dr Laura Stanley pgrmdh@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21426
Laura Wills pgrsci@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21412
Davy Heymann pgrsocsci@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21427
Reception & Thesis Management Helena Fearnley pgr-enquiries@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21425
Scholarships Officer Catherine provides guidance and support on scholarships for both current and potential students. Dr Catherine Wynn pgr-scholarships@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21417
Progress and Examinations Team Leader This team provides support for new programme developments, including collaborative arrangements, e.g. cotutelles and joint degrees; training for doctoral students; quality assurance and support for supervisors' professional development. Charley Williams Charlotte.Williams@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21432
Programmes and Provision Officer Fozia Yasmin F.Yasmin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21403
Project Officer Stephen Carding S.Carding@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27436
Researcher development

The researcher development team lead Think Ahead, "a framework for the continuous professional development of researchers at the University of Sheffield, supporting individual career ambitions in and beyond academia." The team drive positive changes to the research environment in line with the University's HR Excellence in Research Award action plan, underpinned by the 'Concordat to Support the Career Development of Researchers'.

Role Description Name Email Phone
Researcher Development Team Leader Bryony leads the Researcher Development Team to achieve their mission and is responsible for defining and delivering on its strategic direction. Bryony Portsmouth B.Portsmouth@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20990
Mentoring Consultant Kay links people together to talk about the things that matter to them. She designs mentoring and coaching programmes, partnering people at all career stages with mentors. Dr Kay Guccione K.Guccione@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21468
Researcher Development Managers The team drive a wide range of learning and development activities that contribute to the 'Think Ahead' framework of development. A&H and Social Sciences: Sarah Bell Sarah.J.Bell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20171
Engineering: Eunice Lawton E.Lawton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22164
MDH: Dr Lucy Lee L.Lee@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 28728
Science: Dr Sandrine Soubes S.Soubes@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24220
Careers Advisers Darcey and Rachael ensure that researchers have access to the support they need to make a successful transition to the next stage of their career. They provide individual careers consultations, run workshops, and engage with employers to support researchers in their career journey. Darcey Gillie D.Gillie@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20921
Rachael Roberts Rachael.Roberts@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20914
Support Officers Helen and Keira coordinate evaluation activity, administer development events, utilise technology to market development activity and ensure connectivity across the team. Helen Cowen H.Cowen@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27438
Keira Borrill k.borrill@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24194
Research integrity and ethics

This team provides advice and guidance to researchers on good research and innovation practices and research ethics, including applying for ethics approval, the online Ethics Application System, and healthcare research governance.

Role Description Name Email Phone
Ethics and Integrity Manager Lindsay is the first point of contact for enquiries relating to good research practice, including what constitutes unacceptable practice. Lindsay Unwin L.V.Unwin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21443
Project Officer Sara provides support to the Ethics and Integrity Manager delivering compliance/legislation and internal improvement projects. Sara Blackburn Sara.Blackburn@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27628
Ethics and Integrity Assistant Anita is the first point of contact for enquiries relating to research ethics, ethics approval, and healthcare research governance. Anita Kenny A.J.Kenny@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21400
REF

For Open Access enquiries, please contact the Library Research Services Team at OAEnquiries@sheffield.ac.uk.

Role Description Name Email Phone
REF Manager Dave is the institutional REF manager and the first point of contact for all REF-related enquiries. He also administers myPublications. Dave Jones D.C.Jones@Sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20994
Institutional Impact Coordinator Cliona works across the HEI sector and with funders to provide advice to support the development of impact strategies and to promote best practice. Cliona Boyle C.Boyle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27449
Management information and benchmarking
Role Description Name Email Phone
Policy and Analysis Manager Jon produces competitive intelligence and management information in support of major funding bids. Jon Griffiths Jon.Griffiths@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21461
Research Information Analyst Marc produces information and analysis on outputs and publications, using tools such as myPublications, SciVal and Altmetric. Dr Marc Da Costa M.DaCosta@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24199
Research Information and Quality Assistant Scholarships support and reporting
Scholarship Je-S records
Tatiana Psomopoulou T.Psomopoulou@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21435