Research Services contacts

This page puts you in touch with staff who can help you. 

Support for postgraduate research students

Heads of Faculty Research Support
Role Description Name Email Phone
Arts & Humanities Provide research support key account management by working closely with Faculty Directors of Operations (FDOs) to coordinate research support in the Faculty and with Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation (FDRIs) and research leads to horizon scan, identify strategic priorities and ensure users can access the services offered by Research Services. Vacancy
Engineering Dr Lee Allman L.Allman@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21447
MDH Dr Neil Harris Neil.Harris@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27439
Science Dr Graham Kiddle Graham.Kiddle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21438
Social Sciences Dr Beth Taylor B.L.Taylor@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27613
Grant applications
Role Description Name Email Phone
Faculty Research Growth Officers The first point of contact for discussing funding opportunities and developing research proposals A&H: Jo Chapman Jo.Chapman@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21334
Engineering: Brian Littlejohn B.Littlejohn@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21336
MDH: Rachel Dwyer R.M.Dwyer@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21437
Science: Claire Mangham C.Mangham@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27434
Social Sciences: Katie Ellis Katie.Ellis@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27431
Challenge Driven Growth Officers Support for cross-faculty thematic approaches and interdisciplinary "challenge driven" opportunities. Dr Mel Bradford m.knight@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21401
Dr Peter Caven P.Caven@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21441
Dr Jennifer Phaff J.Phaff@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21337
Implementation Managers Support the coordination and embedding of major research awards for complex and strategically important new programmes and activities. Dr Andrew Isaac A.D.Isaac@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21338
Charlotte Lay C.Lay@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21418
Dr Chrissy Sammut C.Sammut@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21054
Translational Project Managers Alex and Evy provide a complete pre-and post-award project management function for existing and new translational research projects. Dr Evy de Leenheer E.DeLeenheer@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22891
Alex Wilkinson Alex.Wilkinson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27447
Ethics and Integrity Officer Lindsay can provide advice and support in relation to research ethics or integrity issues to be addressed as part of a funding proposal. Lindsay Unwin L.V.Unwin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21443
Pricing, costing and submitting applications
Role Description Name Email Phone
Pricing Team Leader Jenny Newsome J.Newsome@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21431
Pricing Officer Contact the pricing helpline for advice and guidance on all aspects of costing, pricing and submitting a research application. For new enquiries please contact the help desk on 0114 22 21450 or research.eds@sheffield.ac.uk. Staff details are provided here for specific enquiries. Chris Hughes C.M.Hughes@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27622
Senior Pricing Assistant Andrew Flint A.Flint@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21454
Pricing Assistant Nick Cupit N.Cupit@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21414
Contracts and agreements
Role Description Name Email Phone
Grant Support Manager Kirsty Lindley K.Lindley@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21464
Contracts Manager

The contracts team negotiate research agreements between the University, funders and partners.

Request an agreement: The most efficient and effective way to request a new research agreement is via our contracts system.

New enquiries: please contact the help desk on 0114 22 27774 or ri-contracts@sheffield.ac.uk. Staff details are provided here for specific enquiries.

Clare Rant C.Rant@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21333
Contracts Manager Kathryn Pursall K.Pursall@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21424
Contracts Officer Daivd Cartledge D.Cartledge@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21339
Contracts Officer Lauren Gedeon L.Gedeon@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21458
Contracts Officer Jen Loftus J.L.Loftus@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21462
Assistant Contracts Officer Art Mimis A.Mimis@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20996
Assistant Contracts Officer Vicky Madden V.A.Madden@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22894
Contracts Support Linda Buxton L.C.Buxton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27440
Contracts Support Kathryn Clarke K.T.Clarke@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27441
Contracts Support Jen Griffin J.A.Griffin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20997

IP and commercial contracts

Role Description Name Email Phone
IP Contracts Manager Helen leads the team, advising researchers and senior management on matters relating to IP and commercial contracts, and negotiates complex or strategic agreements. Helen Jones Helen is currently on maternity leave.
Katie Machin K.Machin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27448
Licensing and Commercial Madhu negotiates commercial agreements including licenses and assignments. Dr Madhu Ramachandran M.Ramachandran@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27614
Patents Officer Jennifer administers our patent portfolio including the filing and maintenance of patents.  Jennifer Hunter J.Hunter@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21430
IP and Commercial Contracts Assistant Hannah provides support to the team and coordinates the receipt and distribution of royalty income.  Hannah Perry H.Perry@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21567
Impact and IP
Role Description Name Email Phone
Head of Impact and IP Andy works with units across the University to set our commercialisation strategy, advise on deals, and align our priorities with the REF impact agenda. Andy Hogben (interim) A.J.Hogben@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20999
Institutional Impact Coordinator Cliona works across the HEI sector and with funders to provide advice to support the development of impact strategies and to promote best practice. Cliona Boyle Cliona is currently on maternity leave.
Impact Consultant Sarah provides training, advice, presentations and workshops for departments and research groups around all practical aspects of impact, including REF impact. Sarah Geere S.Geere@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27435
Commercialisation Managers Manage individual projects and work with academics to build and complete commercial plans for investment, spinout and/or licensing opportunities. Engineering: Dr Stephen Pyke S.H.Pyke@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22899
Life Sciences: Richard Senior Richard.Senior@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27623
Science: Andy Hogben A.J.Hogben@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20999
Fundraising Manager Alison manages the IP Development and Commercialisation (IPDaC) Fund, and helps commercial projects to secure external funding. Alison Zhu A.Zhu@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21469
Impact and IP Support Officer Laura provides support throughout the team, administers all impact events, first point of contact for Initial Commercial Enquiries and ensures connectivity across the team. Laura Madden L.Madden@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24434

IP and commercial contracts

Role Description Name Email Phone
IP Contracts Manager Helen leads the team, advising researchers and senior management on matters relating to IP and commercial contracts, and negotiates complex or strategic agreements. Helen Jones Helen is currently on maternity leave.
Katie Machin K.Machin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27448
Licensing and Commercial Madhu negotiates commercial agreements including licenses and assignments. Dr Madhu Ramachandran M.Ramachandran@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27614
Patents Officer Jennifer administers our patent portfolio including the filing and maintenance of patents.  Jennifer Hunter J.Hunter@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21430
IP and Commercial Contracts Assistant Hannah provides support to the team and coordinates the receipt and distribution of royalty income.  Hannah Perry H.Perry@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21567
Support for supervisors and PGR administrators
Role Description Name Email Phone
Research Degree Support Officers Provide guidance and support with all aspects of University regulations and policies concerning doctoral students, e.g. supervision, student progression, including Confirmation Review and thesis submission and examination. They also maintain and update the student record. A&H: Lottie Wilson Charlotte.Wilson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 26087
Engineering: Kath Wellum K.Wellum@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24012
MDH: Dr Laura Stanley L.Stanley@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21426
Science: Laura Wills L.Wills@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21412
Social Sciences: Davy Heymann D.Heymann@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21427
Scholarships Officer Catherine provides guidance and support on scholarships for both current and potential students. Dr Catherine Wynn pgr-scholarships@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21417
Progress and Examinations Team Leader Fozia and Charley provide support for new programme developments, including collaborative arrangements, e.g. cotutelles and joint degrees; training for doctoral students; quality assurance and support for supervisors' professional development. Charley Williams Charlotte.Williams@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21432
Programmes and Provision Officer Fozia Yasmin F.Yasmin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21403
Researcher development

The researcher development team lead Think Ahead, "a framework for the continuous professional development of researchers at the University of Sheffield, supporting individual career ambitions in and beyond academia." The team drive positive changes to the research environment in line with the University's HR Excellence in Research Award action plan, underpinned by the 'Concordat to Support the Career Development of Researchers'.

Role Description Name Email Phone
Researcher Development Team Leader Bryony leads the Researcher Development Team to achieve their mission and is responsible for defining and delivering on its strategic direction. Bryony Portsmouth B.Portsmouth@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20990
Mentoring Consultant Kay links people together to talk about the things that matter to them. She designs mentoring and coaching programmes, partnering people at all career stages with mentors. Dr Kay Guccione K.Guccione@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21468
Researcher Development Managers Based within faculties, they drive a wide range of learning and development activities that contribute to the 'Think Ahead' framework of development. A&H and Social Sciences: Sarah Bell Sarah.J.Bell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20171
Engineering: Eunice Lawton E.Lawton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 22164
MDH: Dr Lucy Lee L.Lee@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 28728
Science: Dr Sandrine Soubes S.Soubes@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24220
Careers Advisers Darcey and Rachael ensure that researchers have access to the support they need to make a successful transition to the next stage of their career. They provide individual careers consultations, run workshops, and engage with employers to support researchers in their career journey. Darcey Gillie D.Gillie@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20921
Rachael Roberts Rachael.Roberts@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 20914
Support Officers Helen and Keira coordinate evaluation activity, administer development events, utilise technology to market development activity and ensure connectivity across the team. Helen Cowen H.Cowen@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27438
Keira Borrill k.borrill@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24194
Research integrity and ethics

This team provides advice and guidance to researchers on good research and innovation practices and research ethics, including applying for ethics approval, the online Ethics Application System, and healthcare research governance.; 

Role Description Name Email Phone
Ethics and Integrity Officer Lindsay is the first point of contact for enquiries relating to good research practice, including what constitutes unacceptable practice. Lindsay Unwin L.V.Unwin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21443
Ethics and Integrity Assistant Anita is the first point of contact for enquiries relating to research ethics, ethics approval, and healthcare research governance. Anita Kenny A.J.Kenny@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21400
REF

For Open Access enquiries, please contact the Library Research Services Team at OAEnquiries@sheffield.ac.uk

Role Description Name Email Phone
REF Manager Dave is currently on shared parental leave. Please contact ref@sheffield.ac.uk with REF-related enquiries.  Dave Jones
Institutional Impact Coordinator Cliona Boyle C.Boyle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 27449
Management information and benchmarking
Role Description Name Email Phone
Policy and Analysis Manager Jon produces competitive intelligence and management information in support of major funding bids. Jon Griffiths Jon.Griffiths@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21461
Research Information Analyst Marc produces information and analysis on outputs and publications, using tools such as myPublications, SciVal and Altmetric. Dr Marc Da Costa M.DaCosta@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 24199
Research Information and Quality Assistant Scholarships support and reporting
Scholarship Je-S records
Tatiana Psomopoulou T.Psomopoulou@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 21435