Teaching and Research Staff

Name Position Email Telephone
Professor Neil Bermel Professor of Russian and Slavonic Studies; Head of Russian and Slavonic Studies n.bermel@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7405
Professor Craig Brandist Professor of Cultural Theory and Intellectual History; Director of Postgraduate Studies c.s.brandist@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7413
Dr Dagmar Divjak Reader d.divjak@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7401
Professor Evgeny Dobrenko Professor of Russian e.dobrenko@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7402
Dr Adam Fergus University Teacher (Russian); Director of Russian; Principal Admissions Tutor  a.fergus@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7412
Ms Linda Hanna University Teacher (Russian and Czech) (retired) l.hanna@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Marianna Ivanova University Teacher (Russian); Year Abroad Coordinator; SLC Director of Pastoral Care m.k.ivanova@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7407
Mr Luděk Knittl University Teacher; Director of Czech, website manager l.knittl@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7409
Dr Joanna Kowalska Polish Lector; Director of Polish j.kowalska@shef.ac.uk 0114 222 7404
Ms Liudmila Nedialkova University Teacher (Russian); Erasmus coordinator; School careers officer l.nedialkova@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7403
Dr Natalia Skradol Research Associate n.skradol@sheffield.ac.uk
Nina Szymor Polish Lector nsszymor1@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7404

Postgraduate students

Name

Email

Research Topic

Julia Allison rup06ja@sheffield.ac.uk Henri Bergson and Blok's Lyric Cycle
Raphaëlle Auclert rup11rma@sheffield.ac.uk Forging the Enemy in Soviet Fiction and Press. 1945-1985. Political and Cultural Aspects.
Tom Cubbin tom.cubbin@sheffield.ac.uk Artists in Design: Experimental Practice at Senezh Studio 1964-1984 (Completed in 2016)
Michelle Assay Eshghpour michelle.assay@sheffield.ac.uk
Representation of Shakespeare's Hamlet in Russian/Soviet music and visual arts
Jaroslaw Jozefowski jjjozefowski1@sheffield.ac.uk
An empirical study of the middle voice in Polish
Dario Lečić  rup12dl@sheffield.ac.uk Competing Forms in the Croatian Inflection System (completed in 2016)
Elena Platonova eplatonova1@sheffield.ac.uk Marrism and the scholarship on the folklore of the Caucasus Region in the USSR
Fadhel Shalal fashalal1@sheffield.ac.uk -ka suffixed words in Russian
Julija Sipailaite jsipailaite1@sheffield.ac.uk Orientalism in Post-Soviet Russian Literature
Nina Szymor nsszymor1@sheffield.ac.uk Cognitive corpus-linguistic study of semantic differences between translated and non-translated Polish (completed in 2017)

Associated Staff

Name Position Email
Dr Robert Collis Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Oliver Johnson Honorary Research Fellow o.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Nigel Gotteri
Honorary Senior Lecturer n.gotteri@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

 

Contacts for the School Academic and Management Services (AMS) and Student Programme Support Services (SPSS) Teams can be found by using the following link: School of Languages and Cultures Contacts