The National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) has reaffirmed the University of Sheffield’s position as a member of its School for Public Health Research (SPHR). The School was established in April 2012 to bring together leading academic centres in England demonstrating excellence in public health research and to complement other NIHR funding streams. It aims to build the evidence base for effective public health practice including what works practically to improve population health and reduce health inequalities and can be applied across the country to better meet the needs of policymakers, practitioners and the public.

The focus of the School is to continue to have a positive impact on public health, policy and capacity building. It will also continue to integrate with the public health landscape including Public Health England. Funding of £20.5 million – over five years is available to support the School. Professor Liddy Goyder, Deputy Dean of the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) and School for Public Health Research (SPHR) lead at the University of Sheffield, said: “We are delighted that the University of Sheffield will to continue to contribute as a member of this important national public health research collaboration.”

Following an open competition, the membership of the School from 1 April 2017 until 31 March 2022 is:

University of Bristol

University of Cambridge

Fuse – Research collaboration between Newcastle University, Durham University, Northumbria University, University of Sunderland and Teesside University

Imperial College London

 LiLaC – Research collaboration between the University of Liverpool and University of Lancaster

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

University of Sheffield

University College London (UCL)