PGR A-Z list

Click for list of PGR students in Health Services Research Click for a list of PGR students in Public Health List of PGR students in Health Economics and Decision Modelling

Below is an alphabetical list of all current postgraduate research students and their lead supervisors in the School of Health and Related Research. Each person's name links through to their personal profile within their section's webpages.

A

Student name Lead Supervisor Title/topic Section Email address
Abdi, Sarah

Prof Luc de Witte

Prof Mark Hawley

Achieving sustainability in care systems: the potential of technology Health Services Research SAbdi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Syed Salleh Abdul Rahman Dr Praveen Thokala Simulation based Resource Modelling in Health Technology Assessment Health Economics and Decision Modeling SSAbdulRahman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Abdul-Haq, Zakia Prof Michelle Holdsworth A proposal to determine the factors affecting uptake of subsidized school meals in primary schools – Southampton as a case study Public Health ZAbdul-haq1@sheffield.ac.uk
Abdulwahid, Maysam Prof Sue Mason The effectiveness of senior doctor triage in relation to other triage models used in emergency departments across the UK Health Services Research MAAbdulwahid1@sheffield.ac.uk
Abubaker, Isa Dr L Narayanaswamy Impact evaluation of a Maternal and Child Health intervention programme in Northern Nigeria Public Health Isa.Abubakar@sheffield.ac.uk
Abubakar, Sansui Professor MJ Campbell Role of health literacy questionnaires in the assessment of HIV-positive clients attending antenatal care services in health facilities in Nigeria. Public Health abubakar.sanusi@sheffield.ac.uk
Alasmari, Sarah

Prof Sarah Salway

Dr Elizabeth Such

Immigration related factors affecting health status of Saudi students

Public Health

SAMAlasmari1@shefield.ac.uk
Alenezi, Latifah Dr Liz Croot Exploring the use of cognitive strategies in supporting the management of chronic musculoskeletal pain. Health Services Research lkalenezi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alessa, Tourkiah

Prof Luc de Witte

Prof Mark Hawley

Health Informatics: A Mobile Hypertension Management System for Patients in Saudi Arabia Health Services Research TAlessa1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alghamdi, Hani

Dr Chris Burton

Dr Muhammad Saddiq

Effectiveness of Integrated People-Centered Health Services on Health Care Consumers in Saudi Arabia Public Health HAAlghamdi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Al Shamsi, Afara Dr Andrew Booth Incorporating knowledge management into healthcare: developing and implementing a novel clinical knowledge management system Health Economics and Decision Science ASAlShamsi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alkhezi, Eiman Dr Sarah Barnes Promotion of Physical Activity in Older People in Kuwait Public Health EAlkhezi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Almutairi, Fahad Prof Elizabeth Goyder High carbohydrate proportion diet as a potential risk factor for type 2 diabetes mellitus and obesity Public Health FAlmutairi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alshreef, Abualbishr

Prof Simon Dixon

Mr Paul Tappenden

Dr Nicholas Latimer

Dr WS McKane

Development of a methodological framework to account for the impact of non-adherence on the cost-effectiveness of prescribed chronic medications Health Economics and Decision Science a.o.alshreef@sheffield.ac.uk
Andrews, Jacob Prof Mark Hawley Using technology to improve early detection of mental health conditions in later life Health Services Research jacob.andrews@sheffield.ac.uk
Ara, Roberta Prof John Brazier Using utilities in health economic models Health Economics and Decision Science RMAra1@sheffield.ac.uk
Atienzo, Erika Dr Eva Kaltenthaler Exploring methodologies for the synthesis of public policy recommendations: An application to the social prevention of violence among Mexican Youth Health Economics and Decision Science eeatienzodelacruz1@sheffield.ac.uk
Auma, Carolyn Dr Michelle Holdsworth The Impact of Urbanisation on the Health and Environmental Sustainability of Diets in sub-Saharan Africa Public Health CIAuma1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

B

Bangar, Surinder

Prof Sue Mawson

Dr Andrew Booth

Mrs Jo Cooke

Improving how the impact of health research can be demonstrated Health Services Research SKBangar1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bates, Sarah

Prof Alan  Brennan

Prof P D  Norman

Dr P R Breeze

Public Health Economics and Decision Science Wellcome Trust SEBates1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bayley, Thomas Public Health Economics and Decision Science Wellcome Trust TDBayley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bello, Charles

Professor Jeremy Dawson

Dr Julie Balen

Management Of Inter-Professional Conflicts In Nigeria Public Health System And Its Implications On Patient Safety Public Health CABello1@sheffield.ac.uk
Bowen, Kay Dr Georgina Jones A longitudinal quantitative study to measure the postnatal health of women and their partners in the first year Health Services Research K.Bowen@sheffield.ac.uk
Braham, Christy

Dr Liz Such

Professor Sarah Salway

Improving healthcare for migrant and minority ethnic populations: an exploration of the impact of Health Navigators Public Health

CAABraham1@sheffield.ac.uk

Briggs, Victoria Prof Mike Campbell Improving outcomes in peritoneal dialysis (PD): Identification and characterisation of factors influencing PD access outcomes Design, Trials & Statistics VRCBriggs1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

C

Candlish, Jane Dawn Teare Challenges in the design and analysis of trials evaluating complex interventions in public health Design, Trials & Statistics jane.candlish@sheffield.ac.uk
Cassetti, Viola Public Health Economics and Decision Science Wellcome Trust VCassetti1@sheffield.ac.uk
Coster, Joanne Professor Jon Nicholl Developing and testing a data linkage method for ambulance service and NHS data and using it to assess patient outcomes. Health Services Research J.E.Coster@sheffield.ac.uk
Crede, Sarah Prof Sue Mason International migrants’ use of emergency and urgent care services in England Health Services Research shcrede1@sheffield.ac.uk
Crook, Nicola Dr Rebecca Palmer Evaluating the efficiency and acceptability of methods of delivering evidence based aphasia intervention (intensive language action therapy) to patients in the UK within the NHS: a pilot trial Health Services Research NKCrook1@sheffield.ac.uk
Curley, Rachael Prof Stephen Walters Using Remote telemonitoring to detect early decline in lung function & streamline clinics in adults with cystic fibrosis Design, Trials & Statistics recurley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

D

David, Genevieve Public Health Economics and Decision Science Wellcome Trust GDavid1@sheffield.ac.uk
De Freitas, Loren Prof Steve Goodacre Evaluating an Emergency department using process mapping: improving the quality of care by mapping the patient journey in a clinical microsystem Health Services Research lmdefreitas1@sheffield.ac.uk
de Seze, Maelle Dr Julie Balen The Making of Health Policies and the Transnational Circulation of Biomedical Knowledge: the Case of Hepatitis B Virus in Senegal Public Health MMLdeSeze1@sheffield.ac.uk
Duro, Enass Prof Steven Julious Non-Inferiority Margin Setting from Indirect Comparisons Design, Trials & Statistics EMDuro1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

E

Edwards, Julia

Prof Steven Julious

Prof Stephen Walters

Design, Trials & Statistics jmedwards@sheffield.ac.uk
       
Back to the top

F

Fibert, Philippa Dr Clare Relton The treatment of children with behavioural disorders using Homeopathy Public Health p.fibert@sheffield.ac.uk
Field, Becky Professor Gail Mountain Psychosocial interventions for people living with mild to moderate dementia and their family carers: can readiness to engage be recognised? Health Services Research b.field@sheffield.ac.uk
Fitzgerald, Christopher Dr Jennifer Burr Exercise And Clean Living: A Participatory Action Research Project Into The Impact Of Exercise For Recovering Addicts Public Health CMFitzgerald1@sheffield.ac.uk
Flight, Laura Prof Steven Julious Adaptive Design Clinical Trials and their Impact on the Economic Evaluation of Health Care Technologies Design, Trials & Statistics LGFlight1@sheffield.ac.uk
Foster, Alexis

Prof Alicia O'Cathain

Prof John Brazier

Dr Janet Harris

Identifying the facilitators and barriers to implementing the routine use of outcome measures in third sector wellbeing organisations Health Services Research HIA01AK@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

G

Gibbs, Naomi

Prof Alan Brennan

Dr Chris Carroll

Dr Penny Buyks

Wellcome Trust N.Gibbs@sheffield.ac.uk
Girio-Fragkoulakis, Constantine

Professor Suzanne Mason

Dr Andrew Lee

Poor clinical outcomes in the National Health Service (NHS); is over-investigation to blame? CGirio-fragkoulakis1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gladwell, Daniel Dr Aki Tsuchiya Good health: a foundation for the development of capabilities which foster well-being in the present and future Health Economics and Decision Science cmp11djg@sheffield.ac.uk
Graham, Fiona Professor Michelle Holdsworth Reducing environmental impacts through sustainable food choice Public Health FEGraham1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

H

Hampshaw, Susan Dr Andrew Booth A realist synthesis to identify and categorise contextual factors which may support the implementation of NICE Public Health guidance in a local authority setting Health Economics and Decision Science SMHampshaw1@sheffield.ac.uk
Harrison, Madeleine Dr Rebecca Palmer Evaluating the implementation fidelity of self-managed computer therapy for aphasia post-stroke and exploring the factors associated with adherence Health Services Research MAHarrison1@sheffield.ac.uk
Harrop, Deborah Emma Hock The relationship between the physical environment and quality of life in residential care homes in England: explored from the perspective of all users of this environment. Health Economics and Decision Science DJHarrop1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hoo, Zhe Hui Prof Mike Campbell Exploring habit formation in medication adherence for an archetypal long-term condition: time series analyses of objective nebuliser data in people with Cystic Fibrosis Design, Trials & Statistics ZHHoo1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hutten, Rebecca Dr Jenny Owen
What improves access to psychological therapies? Helping and hindering factors in policy implementation Public Health R.Hutten@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

I

Back to the top

J

Back to the top

K

Kearney, Colette Wellcome Trust c.kearney@sheffield.ac.uk
Kearns, Benjamin

Professor Matt Stevenson

Dr K Triantaphyllopoulos

Good practice guidance for the prediction of future outcomes in health technology assessment. Health Economics and Decision Science BCKearns1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kelly, Suzie

Dr Penny Buykx

Prof Alicia O'Cathain

Dr Lucy Gavens

How do commissioners of drug and alcohol treatment services assure recovery is achievable whilst facing continued disinvestment? The aim of the study is to identify the impact that disinvestment has had on commissioning. Public Health SMKelly1@sheffield.ac.uk
King, Rachel Dr Tom Sanders An ethnographic study of the knowledge mobilisation (KM) activities of advanced nurse practitioners (ANPs) in discharging patients with exacerbations of long term conditions (LTCs) from the emergency department (ED) Public Health RLKing1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ku, Chu-Chang Dr Pete Dodd
Health care seeking pathway as a link between tuberculosis and poverty: a hybrid model-based study. Health Economics and Decision Science cku1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kwon, Joonhyung

Professor Alan Brennan

Professor Simon Dixon

Professor Elizabeth Goyder

Wellcome Trust JKwon6@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

L

Lister, Johanna

Dr Suzy Paisley

Professor Eva Kaltenthaler

Paul Tappenden

Identification of evidence for key parameters for decision analytic models to evaluate cost-effectiveness of health care technologies Health Economics and Decision Science JLister1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

M

Mackenzie, Kelly Professor Elizabeth Goyder Feasibility of a low-cost, co-produced complex intervention to reduce workplace sitting time in different workplace settings Public Health KJMackenzie1@sheffield.ac.uk
Madrid Menendez, Andrea Dr Richard Cooper What are the values that shape the relationship between alternative/traditional medicine practitioners and their patients? Public Health AAMadridMenendez1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mahdi, Sundus

Dr Tessa Peasgood

Dr Emma Hock

Dr Penny Buykx

Public Health, Economics and Decision Science Public Health

SMahdi1@sheffield.ac.uk

Mahon, Sinéad

Prof Alan Brennan

Dr Penny Breeze

Prof Ron Akehurst

A Global Revenue Framework for Value of Information Analyses

Health Economics and Decision Science

SMMahon1@sheffield.ac.uk

Mahoney, Paul Prof Steven Julious Charactering outcomes in Rheumatoid Arthritis. Design, Trials & Statistics Paul.Mahoney@sheffield.ac.uk
Mahrinho de Araujo, Artur Prof Steven Julious Investigating Statistical Issues in the design of trials in small population groups Design, Trials & Statistics AAMarinhodeAraujo1@sheffield.ac.uk
Markham, Steven

Dr Tom Sanders

Prof Nick Fox

An Investigation of Men’s Sheds: exploring effects on perceived health and well-being. Public Health SMarkham1@sheffield.ac.uk
McNamara, Simon

Prof Aki Tsuchia

Dr John Holmes

Public Health, Economics and Decision Science Wellcome Trust SJMcNamara1@sheffield.ac.uk
Messina, Fabrizio Dr John Stevens Bayesian Multivariate Network Meta-Analysis of Ordered Categorical Data Health Economics and Decision Science fmessina1@sheffield.ac.uk
Moore, Bruce

Dr Sarah Barnes

Professor David Robinson

The Social Construction of Sheltered Housing: Considering the Attitudes and Expectations of Older People Living in Social Rented ‘Retirement’ and Affordable ‘Extra Care’ Housing in England Public Health BMoore4@sheffield.ac.uk
Musto, Virginia Professor Petra Meier To what extent are decision-makers aware of the optimum cost-effective treatment for substance misusers of various needs within their jurisdiction? Public Health VMusto1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

N

Nagumo, Walter-Rodney Dr Richard Cooper Assessment of Knowledge, Attitude and Practices of Adverse Drug Reaction Reporting Public Health WNagumo1@sheffield.ac.uk
Newbould, Louise Prof Gail Mountain Videoconferencing for remote health care provision of older adults in care homes Health Services Research LKNewbould1@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

O

Otu, Edet Prof Ravi Maheswaran Developing an optimised model for the spatial distribution of public health facilities in Nigeria using Geographical Information Systems (GIS) and remote sensing Public Health EEOtu1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

P

Penton, Hannah Dr Tracey Young Exploring the Economics of Unified Budgets for Health and Social Care Health Economics and Decision Science HPenton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Q

Qattan, Ammerah Prof Jeremy Dawson Organization Role in Work Related Stress Outcomes among a group of Nurses Working in Health Care Sectors, Jeddah, Western Region, Saudi Arabia Design, Trials & Statistics AMQattan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Qiu, Yingpeng

Dr Praveen Thokala

Dr Robert Marchand

Professor Simon Dixon

Priority Setting Process and Technical Supporting System for Developing Health Technologies Lists in China Health Economics and Decision Science YQiu8@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

R

Radford, Helen Dr Richard Cooper To explore the probable impact of terrorism on front-line healthcare workers' mental health following a major incident. Public Health HMRadford1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rafia, Rachid

Dr Paul Tappenden

Dr Nicholas Latimer

Dr Mark Strong

Dr Jean Sanderson

A methodological framework to guide the development and use of economic evaluations of oncology treatments in informing decision-making Health Economics and Decision Science RRRafia1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rand, Matthew

Prof Elizabeth Goyder

Professor Paul Norman

Developing, delivering, and evaluating the impact of, behaviour change interventions in community leisure centres. Public Health MRand1@sheffield.ac.uk
Reale, Sophie Dr Sam Caton The Portion Size Effect in Pre-school Children Public Health slreale1@sheffield.ac.uk
Reddington, Michael Prof Steven Walters Physiotherapy Management of Lumbar Radicular Syndrome; Does early Intervention Improve Outcomes? - a feasability study Design, Trials & Statistics MReddington1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rojas Payacan, Ruben Aki Tsuchiya Balancing priorities: Identification, measurement and valuation of drivers for decision making in health care resource allocation. Health Economics and Decision Science RARojasPayacan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rothwell, Joanne Prof Cindy Cooper Achievable Effect Sizes in Health Research Design, Trials & Statistics

J.C.Rothwell@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

S

Saddiq, Habiba Dr Rachel O'Hara Obstetric 'Never Events' in a Nigerian Tertiary Hospital: Frequency, Types,Causes, Outcome and Victims’ Experiences Public Health HASaddiq1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sammy, Ian Fiona Lecky Trauma outcomes in elderly patients in the United Kingdom – how does the organisation and delivery of trauma care impact on casemix adjusted mortality in this population? Health Services Research iasammy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Sampson, Fiona Professor Alicia O'Cathain Improving pain management within adult emergency departments:a mixed methods study Health Services Research f.c.sampson@sheffield.ac.uk
Silva Illanes, Nicolas

Professor James Chilcott

Dr Phil Shackley

Professor Jennifer Roberts

Wellcome Trust NSilva1@sheffield.ac.uk
Simpson, Rebecca Prof Steven Julious An investigation of the factors which influence children with asthma having asthma exacerbations around the start of the new school year Design, Trials & Statistics r.m.simpson@sheffield.ac.uk
Singh, Rajiv Prof Sue Mason Mood disorders after acquired brain injury Health Services Research cmr11rs@sheffield.ac.uk
Smith, Robert Public Health Economics and Decision Science Wellcome Trust rasmith3@sheffield.ac.uk
Spann, Alice

Professor Luc de Witte

Mark Hawley

Achieving sustainability in care systems: the potential of Technology CATCH

ASpann1@sheffield.ac.uk

Stevely, Abigail

Professor Petra Meier

Dr John Holmes

Exploring the relationships between event-level characteristics of alcohol consumption and alcohol-related harm Pubic Health astevely1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

T

Back to the top

U

 Umar, Lawan  Graham Jones  Health Services Integration: A Mixed Method Study of Stakeholder Perceptions and Implementation in Nigeria Public Health  MLUmar1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

V

van Buijsen, Mariette

Prof Luc de Witte

Prof Scott Weich

Building and evaluating a knowledge base for and with adults who are visually impaired and have psychiatric disorders Health Services Research MvanBuijsen1@sheffield.ac.uk
Vedio, Alicia Prof Elizabeth Goyder Factors affecting access to healthcare for Hepititus B in the Chinese community; a qualitative health practitioners' study using in-depth interviews Public Health ABVedio1@sheffield.ac.uk
Vicario, Serena Prof Petra Meier Integrating health and social approaches to the treatment of alcohol use disorders (auds): a comparative prospective study in italian and english populations Public Health SVicario1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

W

Weir, Carol

Dr A J Barnes

Obesity Policy and the Food Industry Public Health carol.weir@sheffield.ac.uk
Whittingham, Katharine Dr Sarah Barnes A research study to explore the effectiveness of an emergency care response plan in improving the psychological well being of family carers of patients with end stage heart failure. Public Health cmp11kw@sheffield.ac.uk
Winter, Rachel Prof Paul Bissell Blending traditional healthcare and conventional medicine: The Filipino story Public Health RCWinter1@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

X

       
Back to the top

Y

Back to the top

Z

Back to the top