Assessment Criteria

General Procedures

SEAS modules are assessed through a variety of elements including essays, seminar work, portfolios and exams. Some modules are assessed entirely through an exam at the end of the semester, others combine methods of assessment. Module Outlines should clearly state the method(s) of assessment; if you are unsure about how a module is assessed, you should consult with the relevant Module Organiser.

Principles of Assessment

The University's Learning and Teaching Strategy sets out principles to promote assessment that is fair, valid and reliable. In addition, institution-wide assessment criteria are defined at every level of progression through programmes of study. Full details are available from the University website.

Assessment Criteria by Level

The University has also adopted the institution-wide assessment criteria set out below, which form the framework within which individual departments are expected to publish both Level and task-specific assessment criteria for each major assessment type.

The institution-wide criteria have been structured in such a way as to indicate a student’s intellectual progression and development at each stage of the learning experience. The levels referred to below relate to the Quality Assurance Agency’s Higher Education Qualifications Framework and broadly equate to the corresponding levels of an undergraduate degree programme as follows:

Certificate Level (C) = Level 1 F4
Intermediate Level (I) = Level 2 F5
Honours Level (H) = Level 3 F6
(Masters Level (M) = Level 4 — Not applicable to SEAS degrees)

Full details of the Universities General Criteria can be found here 

The assessment methods use for each module can be found on the individual module information pages.

For detailed information on module assessment and the method of assessment for specialist language modules, please refer to the module outlines available on Blackboard (MOLE).