Staff and Research Students in Applied Languages

Primary Staff

Lena Hamaidia Head of Applied Languages, Programme Leader for MATS and MAST Office: Jessop West 4.17 l.hamaidia@sheffield.ac.uk
Jane Woodin Director of Learning and Teaching, Programme Leader for MAIC and MAICID Office: Jessop West 4.16 j.woodin@sheffield.ac.uk
NĂºria Massot Programme Leader for MIM Office: Jessop West 4.18 n.massot@sheffield.ac.uk
Nicole Baumgarten Lecturer in Applied Languages Office: Jessop West 4.15 n.baumgarten@sheffield.ac.uk

MA Tutors

Alessia Brighi Ethnography a.brighi@sheffield.ac.uk
Lily Chen English to Chinese Translation lili.chen@sheffield.ac.uk
French Studies French to English Translation
Russian and Slavonic Studies Russian, Polish and Czech Translation

Research Students

Nahed Arafat The impact of language and culture on Improving Access to Psychological therapy (IAPT) for Black & Minority Ethnic (BME) patients in Sheffield NMArafat1@sheffield.ac.uk
Melina Bangert Higher education and the experiences of female BME students at university ldp10pmb@sheffield.ac.uk
Israel Escobar Orthographic-Integration model for computer processing of Nahuatl jiescobarfarfan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rob Fritz The development of the intercultural communicative competence of Japanese university students refritz1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kirsty Hemsworth Comparative analysis of contemporary American works of 9/11 fiction and their corresponding translation intro French, with a view to challenging and refiguring the polarised concepts of Self and Other that underpin much current translation theory kahemsworth1@sheffield.ac.uk

Associates

Marta Pahisa Translation and Localisation Specialist