Staff members

Within these pages you can find out who our staff are and how to contact them. You can also read the academic profiles for members of teaching and research staff.

Academic staff - Research staff - Support staff - Emeritus Professors and Honorary staff - Visiting academics

Academic Staff

Name Job title Email Telephone
Benzer, Matthias Dr Lecturer in Sociology m.benzer@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26406
Bosworth, David Mr Director of Social Work Education d.bosworth@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26409
Britton, Jo Dr Lecturer in Applied Sociology n.j.britton@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26431
Churchill, Harriet Dr Lecturer in Social Work h.churchill@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26440
Clark, Tom Dr Lecturer in Research Methods t.clark@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26446
Davies, Katherine Dr Lecturer in Sociology k.davies@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26479
Dennis, Alex Dr Lecturer in Sociology a.dennis@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26448
Foster, Liam Dr Senior Lecturer in Social Policy and Social Work l.foster@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26434
Gerrard, Ysabel Dr Lecturer in Digital Media and Society y.gerrard@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26435
Hughes, Lynda Ms Social Work Practice Consultant (Children's) lynda.hughes@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26492
Jowett, Beverley Ms University Teacher in Social Work b.jowett@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26432
Kennedy, Helen Prof Professor of Digital Society h.kennedy@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26488
Kilkey, Majella Dr Reader in Social Policy m.kilkey@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26459
Laing, Jane Ms University Teacher - Social Work j.laing@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26408
Leigh, Jadwiga Dr Lecturer in Social Work j.t.leigh@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26407
L'Hoiry, Xavier Dr Lecturer in Criminology and Social Policy x.lhoiry@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26404
Martin, Paul Prof Professor of Sociology paul.martin@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26414
Martinez-Perez, Alvaro Dr Lecturer in International and Comparative Social Research Methods a.martinez-perez@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26489
McClelland, Nora Ms University Teacher - Social Work n.mcclelland@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26450
Moonman, Daniel Mr Consultant Social Worker (Adults) so4dmx@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26492
Morris, Kate Prof Head of Department / Professor of Social Work kate.morris@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26453
Murphy, Bernadette Ms University Teacher in Social Work b.murphy@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26437
Neal, Sarah Prof Professor of Sociology s.neal@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26424
Norris, Clive Prof Professor of Sociology c.norris@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26460
Reed, Kate Dr Director of Postgraduate Affairs - Taught / Reader in Medical Sociology k.reed@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26478
Sen, Robin Mr Lecturer in Social Work r.n.sen@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26463
Spencer, Steve Dr University Teacher in Social Policy stephen.spencer@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26415
Tiripelli, Giuliana Dr University Teacher in Digital Media and Society g.tiripelli@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26461
Tomlinson, Mark Dr Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Social Policy mark.tomlinson@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26426
Twum-Danso Imoh, Afua Dr Lecturer in the Sociology of Childhood a.twum-danso@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26444
Vicari, Stefania Dr Senior Lecturer in Digital Sociology s.vicari@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26452
Walker, Alan Prof Professor of Social Policy and Social Gerontology
Director of the New Dynamics of Ageing Programme
a.c.walker@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26466
Warren, Lorna Dr Director of Postgraduate Affairs - Research / Senior Lecturer in Social Policy l.warren@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26468
Weiner, Kate Dr Lecturer in Sociology k.weiner@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26491
White, Sue Prof Professor of Social Work sue.white@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26441
Wigfield, Andrea Dr Director and Research Specialist, CIRCLE a.wigfield@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26484
Yeandle, Sue Prof Professor of Sociology s.yeandle@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26485
Back to the top

Research Staff

Name Job title Email Telephone
Alden, Sarah Dr Research Associate, CIRCLE s.alden@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26471
Chau, Ruby C Dr Marie Curie Research Fellow c.chau@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26486
Ellis, Julie Dr Research Associate julie.ellis@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26447
Hughes, Nathan Prof Professorial Research Fellow nathan.hughes@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26439
Holman, Daniel Dr Research Associate daniel.holman@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26417
Kushnir, Iryna Dr Research Associate i.kushnir@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26415
Lewis, Hannah Dr Vice Chancellor's Fellow h.j.lewis@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26421
Lonergan, Gwyneth Dr Research Associate g.lonergan@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26428
Meichsner, Sylvia Dr Research Associate s.meichsner@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26419
Meloni, Maurizio Dr Senior Research Fellow m.meloni@shef.ac.uk (0114 22) 26470
Ozkula, Suay Dr Research Associate s.ozkula@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26462
Pearce, Warren Dr Faculty Fellow (iHuman) warren.pearce@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26454
Ryan, Louise Prof Professorial Research Fellow louise.ryan@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26413
Serafinelli, Elisa Dr Research Associate e.serafinelli@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26470
Salway, Sarah Prof Professorial Research Fellow s.salway@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26438
Walsh, Julie Dr Research Associate j.c.walsh@sheffield.ac.uk
Williams, Ros Dr Research Associate r.g.williams@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26423
Back to the top

Professional Services Staff

Name Job title Email Telephone
Whittaker, David Mr Departmental Manager d.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26425
Wilson, Janine Ms Departmental Secretary / Secretary to Head of Department j.l.birch@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26422
Blinston, Adele Ms Postgraduate Taught Programmes / Postgraduate Research Support (Tuesday - Thursday) adele.blinston@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26449
Clark, Ann Ms Administrative Assistant, Teaching Partnerships a.f.clark@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26427
Cooney, Frances Ms Student Experience Manager f.r.cooney@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26464
Cunningham, Kay Dr Research Support Manager (Tuesday-Thursday) k.m.cunningham@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26429
Edley, Sue Ms Programme Support - Undergraduate Level 1 (Tuesday & Thursday) s.edley@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26430
Howard, Maureen Ms Teaching Support Manager m.j.howard@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26436
Humphreys, Frances Ms Finance Officer f.humphreys@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26476
Kirk, Shona Dr Journal Editorial Officer (Social Policy and Society) s.l.kirk@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26467
Midgley, Sally Ms Research Support Officer (Monday-Wednesday) s.midgley@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26455
Milner, Kerry Ms Social Work Programme Support k.s.milner@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26451
Rodgers, Vanessa Ms Personal Assistant / Administrator to Professor Alan Walker vanessa.rodgers@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26490
Scott, Jenny Ms Marketing Officer jenny.scott@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26405
Shephard, Isabel Ms Recruitment and Admissions Assistant socstudies.admissions@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26402
Villalba Algas, Daniel Mr IT Manager (Monday, Wednesday & Friday PM) d.villalba@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26474
Vacancy - Please contact Maureen Howard Programme Support - Undergraduate Levels 2 & 3 m.j.howard@sheffield.ac.uk (0114 22) 26469
Back to the top

Emeritus Professors and Honorary Staff

Name Title Email
Booth, Tim Prof Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
Bywaters, Paul Prof Honorary Research Fellow
Hockey, Jenny Prof Emeritus Professor of Sociology j.hockey@sheffield.ac.uk
Horwath, Jan Prof Emeritus Professor of Child Welfare j.horwath@sheffield.ac.uk
James, Adrian Prof Emeritus Professor of Applied Social Sciences
Jenkins, Richard Prof Emeritus Professor of Sociology r.p.jenkins@sheffield.ac.uk
Maltby, Tony Dr Honorary Senior Research Fellow
Marsh, Peter Prof Emeritus Professor of Child and Family Welfare p.marsh@sheffield.ac.uk
Roche, Maurice Prof Emeritus Professor of Sociology m.roche@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

Visiting Academics

Name Title Email
Back to the top