Summer Research Banner

Summer Research Programme

Are you working on a research project such as SURE or a dissertation in Sheffield over the summer? Would you like some advice on developing and writing your project? Are you interested in finding creative ways to move your research forward? Delivered by a team of specialists from 301, MASH, the Careers Service and the University Library, the 301 Summer Research Programme is a six week series of workshops aimed at developing your research and transferable skills. Most workshops contain a mixture of tutor presentation and small group activities where you'll have a chance to chat to other students from different disciplines and year groups. 

Sign up for one or more sessions below. All workshops will take place via Blackboard Collaborate and you will receive a link to access the session in your booking confirmation email. 


Workshop Topics

Core Workshops

These sessions can be used as a start and end point for the summer research programme and will encourage you to plan ahead and identify what to focus on over the six-week period. 

Study Skills Workshops

Workshops to support the development, writing and presentation of your research. 

Maths Workshops

Workshops to refresh and develop your mathematical skills. 

Statistics Workshops

Workshops to refresh and develop your statistical analysis and data presentation skills.

R Workshops

Workshops to support your application of the R programming language. 

SPSS Workshops

Workshops to support your use of SPSS to organise, analyse and present your data.

Workshop Timetable

Week 1: 14 - 18 June

Monday 14 June

Developing a Strategy for Your Analysis: 11:00-12:30

Tuesday 15 June

Taking Stock Part 1: Setting Research Priorities and Targets: 10:00-11:00

Hypothesis Testing Part 1: 11:00-12:30

Wednesday 16 June

Recap Maths: 11:00-12:30

Literature Review Writing: 12:00-13:00

Thursday 17 June

Beating Procrastination: 10:00-11:00

Hypothesis Testing Part 2: 11:00-12:30

Friday 18 June

Choosing the Right Test: 11:00-12:30

Week 2: 21 - 25 June

Monday 21 June

Numerical Reasoning 1: What to Expect: 11:00-12:30

SPSS Intro: 11:00-12:30

Tuesday 22 June

Dissertation Writing: Strategies and Techniques: 10:00-11:00

SPSS: Creating and Editing Graphs: 11:00-12:30

Wednesday 23 June

Taking Stock Part 1: Setting Research Priorities and Targets: 12:00-13:00

Thursday 24 June

Paraphrasing and Using Academic Sources: 10:00-11:00

R Ultra Beginners Part 1: 11:00-12:30

Friday 25 June

R Ultra Beginners Part 2: 11:00-12:30

Numerical Reasoning 2: Examples: 11:00-12:00

Week 3: 28 June - 2 July 

Monday 28 June

SPSS: Simple Tests: 11:00-12:30

Tuesday 29 June

Creativity and Problem Solving in Research: 10:00-11:00

SPSS: ANOVA: 11:00-12:30

Careers in Academia: 13:00-14:30

Wednesday 30 June

Maths Anxiety: 11:00-12:30

Taking Stock Part 1: Setting Research Priorities and Targets: 12:00-13:00

Thursday 1 July

Literature Review Writing: 10:00-11:00

R Ultra Beginners Part 3: 11:00-12:30

Friday 2 July

R: Introduction to Data Visualisation: 11:00-12:30

Week 4: 5 July - 9 July

Monday 5 July

Tuesday 6 July

Dissertation Writing: Strategies and Techniques: 10:00-11:00

SPSS: Further ANOVA: 11:00-12:30

Wednesday 7 July

SPSS: Correlation and Regression: 11:00-12:30

Producing and Presenting a Research Poster: 12:00-13:00

Thursday 8 July

Taking Stock Part 2: Reviewing Research Priorities and Targets: 10:00-11:00

R: Common Statistical Tests Part 1: 11:00-12:30

Friday 9 July

R: Common Statistical Tests Part 2: 11:00-12:30

Week 5: 12 - 16 July

Monday 12 July

Tuesday 13 July

Beating Procrastination: 10:00-11:00

Wednesday 14 July

Taking Stock Part 2: Reviewing Research Priorities and Targets: 12:00-13:00

Thursday 15 July

Designing and Presenting a Research Poster: 10:00-11:00

Displaying Data in Figures: 11:00-12:30

Friday 16 July

Week 6: 19 - 23 July

Monday 19 July

Tuesday 20 July

Paraphrasing and Using Academic Sources: 10:00-11:00

Wednesday 21 July

Dissertation Writing: Strategies and Techniques: 12:00-13:00

Thursday 22 July

Taking Stock Part 2: Reviewing Research Priorities and Targets: 10:00-11:00

Displaying Data in Tables: 11:00-12:30

Friday 23 July

Visit the 301 Booking System

To search for sessions and view calendars for different categories of events, please visit the 301 Booking System by following the links below (MUSE Login required):

  • To view a searchable calendar of all 301 events, please click here
  • To view a searchable calendar of all Study Skills workshops, please click here
  • To view a searchable calendar of all MASH workshops, please click here

Back to Study Skills Online

Back to Top