Supporting the Supporters Staff Development & Training Programme 2018-19

Staff development and training for University staff whose role is student-facing, involves student support or student administration.

You can enrol or register your interest for sessions through the Learning Management System, where all sessions are listed under Supporting the Supporters.

Please note: new sessions are identified as *NEW*, all others are repeat sessions.

Session dates available to view by calendar month (Sept 18 - Aug 19).

If you would like to receive occasional email information on Supporting the Supporters, please fill in our form with your university email address.

General Student Support

Title Audience Format / Dates

What is Residence Life? - an overview of support and engagement available in accommodation

*NEW* (first session to run Oct 18)

All staff from academic and professional services departments whose role includes supporting students

Presentation, discussion, Q&A

  • Mon 22 Oct 2018, 11am-12noon
  • Tues 5 Feb 2019, 11am-12noon
  • Tues 7 May 2019, 11am-12noon

Combatting Sexual Violence on Campus

*NEW* (first session to run Nov 18)

All staff from academic and professional services departments whose role includes supporting students

Presentation and Q&A

  • Fri 9 Nov 2018, 2-3.30pm
  • Weds 13 Mar 2019, 10-11.30am
  • Fri 14 Jun 2019, 10-11.30am
From Disrupted Studies to Success: supporting students with specific personal circumstances to stay at university All staff from academic and other departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students, particularly Admissions Tutors.

Presentation, discussion, workshop.

  • Thurs 15 Nov 2018, 2-4pm
  • Wed 27 Mar 2019, 2-4pm
Introduction to English Language Support Services: supporting & developing students' academic literacy & communication skills All staff in academic departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students.
Any other bodies/services that support students: the Students' Union, the library, 301 etc

Presentation, discussion, workshop.

  • Fri 14 Sept 2018, 10.30am-12noon
  • Weds 16 Jan 2019, 2-3.30pm
Idenitifying and Reducing Maths & Statistics Anxiety All staff whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students.

Workshop

  • Tues 19 Mar 2019, 11.30am-1pm
TUOS's Response to the Prevent Strategy All staff whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students.

Presentation and discussion

  • Tues 23 Oct 2018, 2-3pm
  • Thurs 7 Feb 2019, 11-12noon
  • Thurs 16 May 2019, 11-12noon
Students with Extenuating Circumstances All staff in academic departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students.

Presentation and discussion

  • Tues 4 Dec 2018, 10-11am
  • Thurs 6 Jun 2019, 10-11am
All You Need to Know About the Higher Education Achievement Report (HEAR) Staff in departments who deal with Undergraduate students (both academic and administrative), especially those in student-facing roles and roles relating to learning and teaching and employability.

Presentation and Q&A

  • Mon 3 Sept 2018, 2.30-4pm
  • Mon 24 Sept 2018, 2.30-4pm
  • Mon 11 Feb 2019, 2.30-4pm
Managing Inappropriate Behaviour by Students Academic and Admin/Support staff, particularly those in a front line role.

Workshop, drawing on case studies

  • Thurs 11 Oct 2018, 10am-12noon
  • Tues 8 Jan 2019, 2-4pm
  • Tues 30 Apr 2019, 10am-12noon
  • Mon 8 Jul 2019, 2-4pm
Worried about a student: An Overview of Welfare Support
All staff from academic and professional services departments whose role includes supporting students

Presentation, Q&A, workshop

  • Weds 17 Oct 2018, 2-4pm
  • Tues 26 Feb 2019, 10am-12noon
  • Fri 24 May 2019, 10.30am - 12.30pm
The Students' Union's role in Student Support All staff, particularly those with a student facing role.

Discussion and workshop

  • Fri 19 Oct 2018, 10.30am-12noon
  • Thurs 14 Mar 2019, 10.30am-12noon
Personal Tutoring: An Introduction Those with personal tutoring responsibilities

Presentation with case studies

  • Mon 8 Oct 2018, 3-4.30pm
  • Weds 6 Mar 2019, 10-11.30am
Managing Boundaries Those with personal tutoring responsibilities

Presentation with case studies

  • Tues 6 Nov 2018, 11am-12.30pm
  • Fri 29 Mar 2019, 10-11.30am
301 Academic Skills Centre - Our Offer All staff from academic and other departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students

Presentation, discussion, workshop

  • Tues 20 Nov 2018, 2-3pm
  • Tues 12 Feb 2019, 2-3pm
  • Tues 14 May 2019, 2-3pm
  • Tues 6 Aug 2019, 2-3pm
Back to the top

Disability/Mental Health/Dyslexia

Title Audience Format / Dates
Academic Support for Dyslexic Students and Students with Specific Learning Difficulties All staff in academic departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students

Workshop

  • Weds 26 Sept 2018, 10am-12noon
  • Thurs 28 Mar 2019, 10am-12noon
Inclusive Assessments for Disabled Students All staff

Presentation and discussion

  • Mon 12 Nov 2018, 2-4pm
Disability Awareness Training All staff

Talk and group work

  • Thurs 17 Jan 2019, 2-4pm
  • Mon 20 May 2019, 2-4pm
Supporting Students on the Autism Spectrum All staff

Talk and group discussion

  • Weds 28 Nov 2018, 2-4pm
  • Weds 6 Feb 2019, 2-4pm
  • Weds 3 Apr 2019, 2-4pm
  • Weds 26 Jun 2019, 10-12noon
Supporting Students Experiencing Mental Health Difficulties All staff

Presentation and discussion

  • Thurs 13 Dec 2018, 2-4pm
  • Thurs 21 Mar 2019, 2-4pm
  • Weds 8 May 2019, 2-4pm
  • Weds 17 Jul 2019, 10am-12noon
Supporting Doctoral Researchers Experiencing Mental Health Difficulties Supervisors of doctoral researchers

Presentation and discussion

  • Thurs 7 Mar 2019, 3-5pm
Back to the top

Equality

Title Audience Format / Dates
Supporting Muslim Students All staff

Presentation and Q&A session

  • Thurs 8 Nov 2018, 12.30-1.30pm
  • Thurs 2 May 2019, 11am-12.00 noon
Students' Harassment and Bullying Support Network All staff

Presentation, group work, group discussion and Q&A

  • On request only
Understanding and Supporting Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Trans* (LGBT) students All staff

Online presentation (duration: 00:23:26)

  • Available online
Equality Act Training: supporting disabled students All staff

Delivered by Pinsent Masons Solicitors in Jan 2018 for University staff. Lecture capture recording available (duration: 1:56:24)

  • Available through lecture capture
Back to the top

International Students

Title Audience Format / Dates
Bridging the Culture Gap All staff

Workshop

  • Tues 14 Aug 2018, 10am-1pm
  • Mon 19 Nov 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm 
  • Weds 23 Jan 2019, 9.30am-12.30pm 
  • Weds 15 May 2019, 9.30am-12.30pm
  • Weds 14 Aug 2019, 9.30am- 2.30pm
Help with the Pronunciation of Chinese Names All staff

Presentation and interactive learning

  • Mon 29 Oct 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm
  • Weds 30 Jan 2019, 9.30am-12.30pm
  • Weds 5 June 2019, 9.30am-12.30pm
  • Weds 31 July 2019, 9.30am-12.30pm
Immigration, Integration and Insight / Supporting International Students All academic and administrative staff who support international students

Presentation and Q&A. Possibility of group discussion.

  • Weds 22 Aug 2018, 11-12noon
  • Mon 26 Nov 2018, 2-3pm
  • Mon 4 Feb 2019, 3-4pm
  • Tues 21 May 2019, 11am-12noon
Supporting our Chinese Students All staff

Presentation and interactive learning

  • Weds 10 Oct 2018, 9.30am-12.30pm
  • Fri 18 Jan 2019, 9.30am- 12.30pm
  • Fri 3 May 2019, 9.30am-12.30pm
  • Weds 3 July 2019, 9.30am-12.30pm
Student Attendance Monitoring - Preparing for a UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) Audit All administrative and academic staff who work with international students

Presentation and Q&A session

  • Dates tbc
Student Immigration, Policy and Support All administrative and academic staff who work with taught and research international students

Presentation and Q&A session

  • Dates tbc
Tier 4 Student Immigration All staff in academic departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students

Presentation and Q&A session

  • Dates tbc
Back to the top

Student Administration Service

Title Audience Format / Dates

Academic Appeals: University Regulations, Procedures & Good Practice

*NEW* (first session to run Mar 19)

All staff in academic departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students. May also be of interest to anyone who has contact with students.

Presentation and Q&A

  • Tues 5 Mar 2019, 2-3pm
  • Thurs 13 Jun 2019, 10-11am

Student Complaints: University Procedure & Good Practice

*NEW* (first session ran in May 18)

All staff in academic departments whose role includes teaching and/or supporting students. May also be of interest to anyone who has contact with students.

Presentation and Q&A

  • Mon 10 Dec 2018, 2-3pm
  • Fri 5 Apr 2019, 10-11am
Introduction to Student Administration Service – Who We Are and What We Do Departmental or faculty-based staff newly with administrative responsibilities in examination, fee, registration, results/awards, formal procedures, record management, immigration and attendance monitoring support arrangements.

Presentation and Q&A

  • Weds 14 Nov 2018, 10-11.15am
  • Tues 26 Mar 2019, 10-11.15am
Introduction to Student Registration Staff with registration support responsibilities (including departmental registration contacts)

Presentation and Q&A

  • Mon 3 Dec 2018, 10.30am-12noon
  • Thurs 27 Jun 2019, 10.30am-12noon
Guidance to departments on their handling of student complaints, appeals, discipline & progress cases Any staff dealing with student discipline, complaints and appeals.

One to one or small group discussions. Can be tailored to suit individual/departmental needs.

  • Available on request (average length of session is one hour).
Back to the top

Student Finance and Fees

Title Audience Format / Dates
Financial Support for Students All staff

Informal Training

  • Tues 27 Nov 2018, 10am-11am
Back to the top

Tailored Sessions on Request

Many of the sessions listed above are available on request. Why not ask us to work with you to design and deliver some input for your departmental staff meetings, away days, and staff development sessions? . If you would like to submit an enquiry about arranging a bespoke or in house session please email supsup@sheffield.ac.uk.

Work Shadowing on Request

Title Audience
Examinations Office
Examination Officers
Specialist Dyslexia Tutors Disability Liaison Officers (DLO)
Student Services Information Desk (SSiD) All staff
Student Administration Service: Student Results & Awards Team and/or Student Engagement & Progress Team
All staff
If you are interested in work shadowing with other teams within Student Support Services, please contact the relevant team(s) directly.
Back to the top

Other Staff Development Programmes

Student Recruitment and Admissions offer a recruitment support programme - 'Recruitment Matters'.

Workshops for Research Supervisors are run under the 'Think Ahead' programme. This suite of workshops are chances to hear and discuss research informed topics related to your own supervision skills and practices.

There is also the Human Resources Staff Development Programme