Congratulations to ScHARR and the Department of Biomedical Science for Athena SWAN awards

Biomedical sciences

Our School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR) and the Department of Biomedical Science have been recognised in their commitment to promoting gender equality. ScHARR received a second silver award, following their success in 2014, whilst the Department of Biomedical Science gained their second bronze award.

The Departments of Human Communication Sciences and Nursing and Midwifery also submitted this year and worked ScHARRincredibly hard to achieve awards, and will continue to throughout the coming year as they re-apply for silver upgrades.

The awards celebrate the dedication of our Athena SWAN departments to grow as ambassadors for gender equality in the higher education sector. They recognise the sustained efforts of colleagues to promote progress and overcome barriers to inclusivity, both for fellow staff and for students.

Our University has an excellent track record when it comes to achieving Athena SWAN awards. All of our Science, Technology, Engineering, Medicine and Mathematics (STEMM) departments plus our Department of Archaeology hold an Athena SWAN award, with eight now holding silver and 13 with bronze. The departments of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Molecular Biology & Biotechnology and the School of Clinical Dentistry received awards in May. Our University received an institutional Athena SWAN silver award in April 2016, a milestone in our ongoing mission to promote gender equality.

Professor John Brazier, Dean of ScHARR on receiving the award said:

“We are delighted in ScHARR to have achieved a Silver Athena SWAN Award again and would very much like to thank Eva Kaltenthaler and her team for all their hard work and dedication.”

“This reflects well on the ethos of promoting diversity and equality in ScHARR.”

Professor Kathryn Ayscough, Head of the Department of Biomedical Science said:

"Aspirational ideas require real commitment to facilitate implementation and also need effective communication to ensure that people at all levels understand the need for change and can see the benefits that a more diverse workforce can bring."

Professor Patricia Cowell, Head of Department for Human Communication Sciences said:

"The Department of Human Communication Sciences is committed to diversity and inclusion in all our endeavours.

“Equality forms a core tenet of our strategic plan and shapes the work we do every day. We remain motivated to continue and build upon our efforts to deliver access, learning and career development for all our students and staff."

Dr Tracey Moore, Head of Department for Nursing and Midwifery commented:

“The School of Nursing and Midwifery is committed to providing a working environment where all staff and students can thrive.

“We have made many positive changes over the last five years and will continue to expand our actions as we move forward.”

The hard work and dedication of the departments submitting to Athena SWAN across the University highlights our ongoing commitment to promoting gender equality.

About Athena SWAN

The Athena SWAN Charter celebrates success in advancing gender equality in higher education and research. It rigorously examines the steps taken by universities and their departments to improve representation, encourage progress and combat gender-based discrimination.

Our continued success under the Charter, shown by this latest set of awards, is a welcome reminder of how important gender equality is to people across our University.

From May 2015 the Charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law as well as professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students.

The Charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.