Support groups for staff dealing with grief, loss, life-change or isolation

Support groups can be an effective way to find solidarity and mutual support in challenging times.

Support groups, run by the Chaplaincy for all staff - as non-judgemental, confidential and non-religious activities - continue, but now online via video meeting, during these extraordinary times of pandemic crisis. In addition to the long-term provision of grief support groups for staff, after the death of a loved one, the Chaplaincy are also offering support groups for those experiencing other life-altering circumstances, including for: loss, life-change and isolation.

You may wish to consider participating in such a group, with others who are in a similar position to yourself. When you express an interest in joining a group you can choose what topic area you want to share about and you will be placed in a group with people in a similar situation to yourself.

Groups run for three sessions, for one hour every four days. The group happens via Google Meet as a facilitated peer-to-peer conversation. The group facilitator will be an advisor or chaplain from the Chaplaincy Centre. Please note that these are not drop-in sessions - group members must register in advance and be willing to attend all 3 sessions.

The next scheduled groups will happen on these dates, depending on participants availability, and a suitable time of day-usually either 9.15am or 12.15pm

  • Option 1: Monday 27 April, Thursday 30 April, Monday 4 May
  • Option 2: Tuesday 28 April, Friday 1 May, Tuesday 5 May
  • Option 3: Thursday 7 May, Monday 11 May, Thursday 14 May
  • Option 4: Tuesday 12 May, Friday 15 May, Tuesday 19 May

Complete an expression of interest form

If you have questions or would like more information please contact Kathryn Fey-Beatson, Chaplaincy Administrator, chaplaincy@sheffield.ac.uk

The sessions are not religious in purpose or intent, these groups are designed in consultation with the University Counselling Service, HR Wellbeing and other advisory services.

These Staff groups are organised by the University's Chaplaincy Centre in addition to the one-to-one support offered, year-round to staff and students.