University of Sheffield Events at Off the Shelf Festival

Written Experiment IconThe University is delighted to have a programme of events in Off the Shelf, the city's literary festival, for the second year running.

There are six events led by our world-class academics looking at their latest research as part of Off the Shelf's main programme (ticket fee applies):

  • Wed 8 Oct, 7pm - London Lives: 1690-1800 with Professor Robert Shoemaker
  • Thurs 23 Oct, 7.30pm - Where Do Camels Belong? with Dr Ken Thompson
  • Thurs 23 Oct, 7.30pm – Simon Armitage
  • Tues 28 Oct, 7pm - How to Change Minds with Dr Tom Stafford
  • Thurs 30 Oct, 7.30pm - Alan Jay Learner: A Lyricist's Letters with Dr Dominic McHugh
  • Tues 4 Nov, 7.30pm - No Fixed Abode: Celebrating 20 Years of the National Fairground Archive with Professor Vanessa Toulmin
  • Mon 24 November, 7pm - Magnificent Blackpool Winter Gardens with Professor Vanessa Toulmin

'Ideas Alive at 5:45' sees 15 free talks starting at 5:45pm at the Showroom Cafe. Each one features an academic with a new publication looking to introduce the public to new ideas and cutting edge research, and lasts about one hour. They offer a fantastic opportunity to find out about the diverse research taking place at the Univesity:

  • Fri 10 Oct - Monsoon Revolution: 1965-1976 with Dr Abdel Razzaq Takriti
  • Mon 13 Oct - Echoing Helicon: Music, Art and Identity in the Este Studioli with Dr Tim Shephard
  • Tues 14 Oct - Democratizing Climate Change with Dr Hayley Stevenson
  • Wed 15 Oct - Dialect in Film and Literature with Dr Jane Hodson
  • Fri 17 Oct - Propaganda and Counter-terrorism with Dr Emma Briant
  • Mon 20 Oct - A Study of Letters 1575-1611 with Dr Graham Williams
  • Tues 21 Oct - Fly Photoreceptors Compute with Professor Daniel Coca
  • Wed 22 Oct - Social Evolution with Dr James A R Marshall
  • Thurs 23 Oct - Harnessing Chaos with Professor James Crossley
  • Fri 24 Oct - Forensics of Nuclear Sand with Professor Neil Hyatt
  • Mon 27 Oct - Embryo: Marvel and Puzzle with Dr Tanya Whitfield
  • Tues 28 Oct - The Science of Silks with Dr Chris Holland
  • Wed 29 Oct - Modernism and Cosmology with Dr Katherine Ebury
  • Thurs 30 Oct - Polymer Electronics with Professor Mark Geoghegan
  • Fri 31 Oct - Social Realism in Film with Dr David Forrest

We will also be running some events around 'In Praise of Air', world’s first catalytic poem In Praise of Air written by Professor of Poetry, Simon Armitage, the result of a collaboration with Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Science, Professor Tony Ryan. The giant 20 metre high banner on which the poem is printed has been manufactured using revolutionary nano-technology and is coated with a photocatalyst which eats pollution, enabling the poem to clean the air around it. For Off the Shelf, a smaller version of the poem will be displayed in Sheffield Town Hall, removing the pollution from a bus or about 20 cars every day it is in place.

  • Mon 13 Oct, 12-1pm – In Praise of Air talk with Professor Tony Ryan - Town Hall Foyer
  • Mon 13–Thurs 30 Oct - In Praise of Air Exhibition (Free)

For more information about all the talks listed here, visit our Off the Shelf at the University of Sheffield webpage.

To view the full programme and find out more visit the Off the Shelf website.