Current Research Students

Our students receive financial support to undertake their studies from a variety of sources. These include UK Research Councils (particularly ESRC and EPSRC), University funding (both fee waivers and scholarships offering maintenance funding), and overseas governments and funding organisations (e.g. CONACYT for students from Mexico).

Current students come from a range of countries including Brazil, Canada, China, Egypt, Iceland, Iran, Iraq, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Portugal, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey and the UK.

Name Email Research Area Primary supervisor
Fatima Ajia fajia1@sheffield.ac.uk Public communications in the adaptive water utility Liz Sharp
Sinan Akyuz sakyuz1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban renewal in Turkey Lee Crookes
Salman Aldalbahi smaldalbahi@sheffield.ac.uk The housing market in Saudi Arabia Steve Connelly
Divine Asafo dmasafo1@sheffield.ac.uk Land acquisition, land conflicts and its effect on housing production in peri-urban Accra, Ghana Paula Meth
Amy Beckett acbeckett1@sheffield.ac.uk Expectations and realities of housing-driven economic growth in Doncaster Nicola Dempsey
Ryan Bellinson r.bellinson@sheffield.ac.uk Realising Just Cities Beth Perry
Simon Benten swbenten1@sheffield.ac.uk Spatially sensitive measures of health inequality in England Alasdair Rae
Katherine Blaker keblaker1@sheffield.ac.uk Reconnecting planning, people and place in former industrial communities Heather Campbell
Helen Brown hlbrown2@sheffield.ac.uk Attitudes and perceptions amongst older people of specialist housing Malcolm Tait
Rachael Bust trp10rab@sheffield.ac.uk Minerals planning - new goverment, new opportunity? Aidan While
Cihan Cagil trp11ctc@sheffield.ac.uk The Istanbul International Financial Center and World City Planning in Istanbul Heather Campbell
Fiona Calder f.calder@sheffield.ac.uk Involving customers in directing water supply and sewerage outcomes Liz Sharp
Carlo Chan kycchan1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban planning and ageing Malcolm Tait
Annie Cruz-Porter a.cruzporter@sheffield.ac.uk The digital city Heather Campbell
Debjani Dasgupta ddasgupta1@sheffield.ac.uk State-responsiveness, decentralisation and poverty-reduction in West Bengal, India Glyn Williams
Abdulla Difalla adifalla1@sheffield.ac.uk Slum development Ryan Powell
John Erskine john.erskine@sheffield.ac.uk The informal economy in Yorkshire coalfield communities John Flint
Sally Faulkner slfaulkner1@sheffield.ac.uk Vulnerable communities, collective bargaining and climate change adaptation Tom Goodfellow
Dario Ferrazzi dferrazzi1@sheffield.ac.uk Crime, criminality and urban space Rowland Atkinson
Farah Haji Mustafa f.mustafa@sheffield.ac.uk Tourism planning: “Building Marvel” as the main urban tourism product in attracting visitors Aidan While
MinKi Jeong mjeong7@sheffield.ac.uk The relationship between urban digitisation and creativity in cities Ryan Powell
George Jewitt g.jewitt@sheffield.ac.uk A better tomorrow: paternalism, totalitarianism, democracy Peter Bibby
Han Jiang hjiang3@sheffield.ac.uk Zero carbon housing in China Sarah Payne
Sarah Linn slinn1@sheffield.ac.uk Syrian refugees in Istanbul and Amman Steve Connelly
Vanessa Lo cvlo1@sheffield.ac.uk Planning for housing in an ageing society Malcolm Tait
Zhen Lu zlu11@sheffield.ac.uk Housing and schools - social justice in China Heather Campbell
Ruth Lucas rmlucas2@sheffield.ac.uk House price affordability and its impact on family formation choices John Flint
Emmanuel Maiyanga eimaiyanga1@sheffield.ac.uk Household water practices in a rapidly urbanising city Liz Sharp
Caroline McCalman cmccalman1@sheffield.ac.uk Nuclear energy and the implications for environmentalism Steve Connelly
Fatima Mohammed fzmohammed1@sheffield.ac.uk Resettlement and rehabilitation initiatives in Nigeria Tom Goodfellow
Pu Niu pniu1@sheffield.ac.uk ‘Deliberative democracy’ and the integration of the urban village into the city Paula Meth
Elvis Nyanzu enyanzu1@sheffield.ac.uk Assessing social outcomes of property-led regeneration in urban neighbourhoods Alasdair Rae
Marion Oveson m.a.oveson@sheffield.ac.uk Civic universities and social justice Rowland Atkinson
Vidya Sagar Pancholi vspancholi1@sheffield.ac.uk Towards substantive public participation in urban governance Glyn Williams
Jenny Patient jspatient1@sheffield.ac.uk Realising Just Cities Beth Perry
Alexandra Payling apayling1@sheffield.ac.uk Realising Just Cities Tim May
Hayyan Rozi hrozi1@sheffield.ac.uk Low carbon city planning in Riyadh City, Saudi Arabia Liz Sharp
Nathan Sandran psandran1@sheffield.ac.uk The implementation of PPP in transport in Malaysia Peter Bibby
Patricia Schappo pschappo1@sheffield.ac.uk Street markets as multi-purpose development strategies for urban environments Melanie Lombard
Radmila Schelle rschelle2@sheffield.ac.uk A critical analysis of indigenous rights discourses in Brazil Steve Connelly
Rami Shamseen rshamseen1@sheffield.ac.uk Decentralisation and the growth of core cities Craig Watkins
Jason Slade jmslade1@sheffield.ac.uk The relationship between storytelling/narrative and planning Lee Crookes
Milyung Son mson4@sheffield.ac.uk Culture-led regeneration in North East Asia Aidan While
Taekyung Song trp12ts@sheffield.ac.uk Economic and social development in South Korea Aidan While
Emma Stevens estevens4@sheffield.ac.uk Collective action and discourse coalitions of energy and climate change Steve Connelly
Karwan Taha kmtaha1@sheffield.ac.uk The significance of sustainability in future Erbil City urban planning Steve Connelly
Michael Taster mktaster1@sheffield.ac.uk The creation and reproduction of policy relevant spatial knowledge and new publishing models Alasdair Rae
Svenja Timmins s.timmins@sheffield.ac.uk Involuntary housing mobility and territorial stigmatisation: the experiences of young people in the UK and Germany Lee Crookes
Daniel Tubridy d.tubridy@sheffield.ac.uk Future Urban Infrastructure Aidan While
Charlotte Van der Lijn cjcvanderlijn1@sheffield.ac.uk Understanding spatial housing choice and demand Alasdair Rae
Jeni Vine javine1@sheffield.ac.uk Building cohesive neighbourhoods: conflict and rank awareness Ryan Powell
Chao Wang cwang47@sheffield.ac.uk The involvement of Chinese civil society in environmental planning Steve Connelly
Kirsten Ward kirsten.ward@sheffield.ac.uk Shaping patterns of growth: a study of Green Belt politics and policy in England Malcolm Tait
Noranida Zainal n.zainal@sheffield.ac.uk Public participation in regeneration in Kuala Lumpur Tom Goodfellow
Kushtrim Zeqiri kzeqiri1@sheffield.ac.uk Foreign direct investments and economic growth in Kosovo Aidan While
Cathy Zhu jzhu19@sheffield.ac.uk The health and educational impacts of socio-ethnic migration and neighbourhood dynamicsin Scotland Gwilym Pryce