Current Research Students

Our students receive financial support to undertake their studies from a variety of sources. These include UK Research Councils (particularly ESRC and EPSRC), University funding (both fee waivers and scholarships offering maintenance funding), and overseas governments and funding organisations (e.g. CONACYT for students from Mexico).

Name Email Research Area Primary supervisor
Fatima Ajia fajia1@sheffield.ac.uk Public communications in the adaptive water utility Liz Sharp
Sinan Akyuz sakyuz1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban renewal in Turkey Lee Crookes
Salman Aldalbahi smaldalbahi@sheffield.ac.uk The housing market in Saudi Arabia Steve Connelly
Divine Asafo dmasafo1@sheffield.ac.uk Land acquisition, land conflicts and its effect on housing production in peri-urban Accra, Ghana Paula Meth
Amy Beckett acbeckett1@sheffield.ac.uk Expectations and realities of housing-driven economic growth in Doncaster Nicola Dempsey
Ryan Bellinson r.bellinson@sheffield.ac.uk Coproducing urban climate change and environmental governance: A case study og Greater Manchester Beth Perry
Simon Benten swbenten1@sheffield.ac.uk Spatially sensitive measures of health inequality in England Alasdair Rae
Katherine Blaker keblaker1@sheffield.ac.uk Reconnecting planning, people and place in former industrial communities Andy Inch
Helen Brown hlbrown2@sheffield.ac.uk Understanding attitudes and perceptions amongst older people of housing and housing processes in an era of rising demand Malcolm Tait
Rachael Bust trp10rab@sheffield.ac.uk Minerals planning - new goverment, new opportunity? Aidan While
Cihan Cagil trp11ctc@sheffield.ac.uk The Istanbul International Financial Center and World City Planning in Istanbul John Henneberry
Fiona Calder f.calder@sheffield.ac.uk Involving customers in directing water supply and sewerage outcomes Liz Sharp
Carlo Chan kycchan1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban planning and ageing Malcolm Tait
Debjani Dasgupta ddasgupta1@sheffield.ac.uk State-responsiveness, decentralisation and poverty-reduction in West Bengal, India Glyn Williams
Juliet de Little jmdelittle1@sheffield.ac.uk Planning for resilience under multi-stakeholder risk management Liz Sharp
Abdulla Difalla adifalla1@sheffield.ac.uk Toward a relational understanding of informal areas in Saudi Arabia Ryan Powell
Hoda Elhalaby haelhalaby1@sheffield.ac.uk The effect of NGOs interventions on urban villages in Egypt Steve Connelly
John Erskine john.erskine@sheffield.ac.uk The informal economy in Yorkshire coalfield communities John Flint
Sally Faulkner slfaulkner1@sheffield.ac.uk Vulnerable communities, collective bargaining and climate change adaptation Tom Goodfellow
Dario Ferrazzi dferrazzi1@sheffield.ac.uk Housing, crime and the city: re-addressing the urban crime question Rowland Atkinson
Farah Haji Mustafa f.mustafa@sheffield.ac.uk Tourism planning: “Building Marvel” as the main urban tourism product in attracting visitors Aidan While
Manuel Heckel mheckel1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban governance and finance in sub-Saharan Africa Glyn Williams
Philippa Hughes phughes4@sheffield.ac.uk Community land trusts John Flint
MinKi Jeong mjeong7@sheffield.ac.uk The relationship between urban digitisation and creativity in cities Ryan Powell
George Jewitt g.jewitt@sheffield.ac.uk A better tomorrow: paternalism, totalitarianism, democracy Peter Bibby
Han Jiang hjiang3@sheffield.ac.uk Zero carbon housing in China Sarah Payne
Chan-Woo Kim cwkim1@sheffield.ac.uk Commercial real estate rental markets in Europe Craig Watkins
Stephanie Lacey svlacey1@sheffield.ac.uk The impact of female homelessness on children's educational experiences in inner-city schools Michele Lancione
Hakjin Lee hlee58@sheffield.ac.uk Neighbourhood planning: localism, community participation and conflicts Andy Inch
Sarah Linn slinn1@sheffield.ac.uk Syrian refugees in Istanbul and Amman Steve Connelly
Yixin Liu yliu155@sheffield.ac.uk Gated communities in China Rowland Atkinson
Vanessa Lo cvlo1@sheffield.ac.uk Understanding the housing decision-making processes of elderly people Malcolm Tait
Zhen Lu zlu11@sheffield.ac.uk Housing and schools - social justice in China Glyn Williams
Ruth Lucas rmlucas2@sheffield.ac.uk The housing crisis and the changing role of th housing professional in England John Flint
Emmanuel Maiyanga eimaiyanga1@sheffield.ac.uk Household water practices in a rapidly urbanising city Liz Sharp
Jonathan Marsden jcmarsden1@sheffield.ac.uk Making space for coproduction Andy Inch
Caroline McCalman cmccalman1@sheffield.ac.uk Nuclear energy and the implications for environmentalism Steve Connelly
Martha Mingay mmingay1@sheffield.ac.uk Community land trusts and the housing crisis John Flint
Fatima Mohammed fzmohammed1@sheffield.ac.uk Resettlement and rehabilitation initiatives in Nigeria Tom Goodfellow
Pu Niu pniu1@sheffield.ac.uk ‘Deliberative democracy’ and the integration of the urban village into the city Glyn Williams
Elvis Nyanzu enyanzu1@sheffield.ac.uk Assessing neighbourhood deprivation: understanding local spatial context Alasdair Rae
Marion Oveson m.a.oveson@sheffield.ac.uk Civic universities and social justice Lee Crookes
Vidya Pancholi vspancholi1@sheffield.ac.uk Towards substantive public participation in urban governance Glyn Williams
Jenny Patient jspatient1@sheffield.ac.uk Trade Unions and a 'just' transition to low carbon Beth Perry
Alexandra Payling apayling1@sheffield.ac.uk Gendering the economic imaginary of the 'Northern Powerhouse' city-regions Tim May
Selam Robi swrobi1@sheffield.ac.uk Industrial park cities in Ethiopia Tom Goodfellow
Hayyan Rozi hrozi1@sheffield.ac.uk Low carbon city planning in Riyadh City, Saudi Arabia Liz Sharp
Nathan Sandran psandran1@sheffield.ac.uk The implementation of PPP in transport in Malaysia Peter Bibby
Patricia Schappo pschappo1@sheffield.ac.uk Street markets as multi-purpose development strategies for urban environments Melanie Lombard
Radmila Schelle rschelle2@sheffield.ac.uk A critical analysis of indigenous rights discourses in Brazil Steve Connelly
Rami Shamseen rshamseen1@sheffield.ac.uk Decentralisation and the growth of core cities Craig Watkins
Taekyung Song trp12ts@sheffield.ac.uk Economic and social development in South Korea Aidan While
Emma Stevens estevens4@sheffield.ac.uk Collective action and discourse coalitions of energy and climate change Steve Connelly
Karwan Taha kmtaha1@sheffield.ac.uk The significance of sustainability in future Erbil City urban planning Steve Connelly
Michael Taster mktaster1@sheffield.ac.uk The creation and reproduction of policy relevant spatial knowledge and new publishing models Alasdair Rae
Svenja Timmins s.timmins@sheffield.ac.uk Involuntary housing mobility and territorial stigmatisation: the experiences of young people in the UK and Germany Lee Crookes
Daniel Tubridy d.tubridy@sheffield.ac.uk Infrastructure and design: case studies of stormwater management from Copenhagen and Sheffield Aidan While
Charlotte van der Lijn cjcvanderlijn1@sheffield.ac.uk Understanding spatial housing choice and demand Alasdair Rae
Jeni Vine javine1@sheffield.ac.uk Building cohesive neighbourhoods: conflict and rank awareness Ryan Powell
Chao Wang cwang47@sheffield.ac.uk The involvement of Chinese civil society in environmental planning Steve Connelly
Kirsten Ward kirsten.ward@sheffield.ac.uk Shaping patterns of growth: a study of Green Belt politics and policy in England Malcolm Tait
Noranida Zainal n.zainal@sheffield.ac.uk Public participation in regeneration in Kuala Lumpur Tom Goodfellow
Kushtrim Zeqiri kzeqiri1@sheffield.ac.uk Foreign direct investments and economic growth in Kosovo Aidan While
Cathy Zhu jzhu19@sheffield.ac.uk The impact of immigration on the local housing market in England and Wales Gwilym Pryce