A-Z list of staff members

Academic Staff

Name Post Research interests Email Telephone  Office
Tait, Prof Malcolm Head of Department, Professor of Planning The mediation of urban development, professionalism and planning;  theorising planning activity. m.tait@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6919 D11b
Atkinson, Prof Rowland Research Chair in Inclusive Society Gentrification and displacement, cities and crime; wealth, poverty and exclusion; segregation and urban security; 'gated communities' and fortress homes. rowland.atkinson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6936 F12
Bibby, Mr Peter Lecturer Language of planning policy; applications of GIS to public policy issues; historical uses of GIS data. p.r.bibby@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6181 D7c
Campbell, Prof Heather Professor of Town & Regional Planning Planning, theory & practice; social justice and moral theory; decision making and policy implementation. h.j.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6306 D21
Connelly, Dr Stephen Senior Lecturer Sustainable development; public involvement in governance; planning for sustainability in democratic societies, with a particular interest in normative issues of legitimacy and environmental justice. s.connelly@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6916 D11f
Flint, Prof John Professor of Town & Regional Planning Housing policy, housing management, citizenship, crime and anti-social behaviour, neighbourhood renewal and social cohesion and religion. john.flint@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6902 D25
Goodfellow, Dr Tom Senior Lecturer Urban development and politics in the global South. t.goodfellow@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6913 F16
Henneberry, Prof John Professor of Property Development Studies Structure and behaviour of the commercial and industrial sectors of the UK property market and their interaction with the wider economy and state regulatory systems. j.henneberry@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6911 D17
Hincks, Dr Stephen Reader Applied spatial analysis and GIS; Housing an neighbourhoods; Urban regional policy and planning s.hincks@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6915 D11c
Jackson, Dr Cath Senior Lecturer Local property market functioning; retail planning and investment; retail investment diversification. c.c.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6918 D18
Lancione, Dr Michele Senior Research Fellow (Faculty of Social Sciences) Maringality, poverty and difference in contemporary urban settings m.lancione@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6942 D2
Lombard, Dr Melanie Lecturer Urban informality, and land conflict in cities. m.b.lombard@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6904 D26
Meth, Dr Paula Reader Planning contributions made by, marginalised people in post-colonial societies, South Africa in particular. Urban peripheries in the Global South. p.j.meth@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6912 D24
Moore, Dr Tom Lecturer Community development and asset ownership, housing tenure and options of young people, housing inequality and poverty. tom.moore@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6917 D3a
Powell, Mr Ryan Reader Urban marginality, urban governance, housing and labour market inequalities, group stigmatisation, Gypsy-Travellers and Roma, sociology of Norbert Elias. r.s.powell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6182 D11d
Pryce, Prof Gwilym Professor of Urban Economics and Social Statistics Urban economics, housing and mortgage markets. g.pryce@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7121
Rae, Prof Alasdair Professorial Fellow Urban and regional policy, neighbourhoods, Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and spatial analysis, spatial aspects of deprivation. a.j.rae@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6903 D16
Sharp, Dr Liz Senior Lecturer The processes through which the public are engaged in making and implementing environmental (water) policy. l.sharp@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6941 D23
Wang, Dr Zheng Lecturer Urban governance, mega-urban developments, neighbourhood relations, migration and social integration zheng.wang@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 27917 D15
Watkins, Prof Craig Professor of Town & Regional Planning Structure and operation of property markets; the impact of public policy on real estate market performance. c.a.watkins@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6925 D20
While, Dr Aidan Senior Lecturer State theory and the regulation of society and space; urban and regional economic development; environmentalism. a.h.while@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6184 D19
Williams, Dr Glyn Reader Participatory development, poverty and political empowerment; 'everyday' state power and local political practices. glyn.williams@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6179 D11e
Back to the top

Emeritus Staff

Name Post Email Address Research Interests
Crook, Tony Professor Emeritus of Town & Regional Planning, and former Pro-Vice-Chancellor a.crook@sheffield.ac.uk Impact of housing, taxation and planning policy on the supply side of the private rented sector; impact of planning gain on supply of affordable housing; social housing and regeneration policy.
Back to the top

Teaching Staff

Name Post Research Interests Email Address Telephone Office
Crookes, Dr Lee University Teacher Class, gentrification, urban regeneration and housing. l.crookes@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6910 F15
Hamilton, Dr Ruth Teaching Associate Urban labour markets and deprived neighbourhoods. r.hamilton@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6921 D26a
Keskin, Dr Berna Teaching Associate Housing economics; real estate; urban and regional planning. b.keskin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6933 D17
Lu, Dr Ally Teaching Associate Urban landscape history with colonial influence; cultural landscapes and conservation; sustainable urban design. ally.lu@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6914 D11a
Nisha, Dr Bobby Teaching Associate Design decision-making processes and models. b.nisha@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6934 D11a
Payne, Dr Sarah University Teacher Real estate development processes; interdisciplinary issues of environmental performance and business strategy, urban growth and urban sustainability. s.payne@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6939 F14
Silvestre, Dr Gabriel Teaching Associate Urban politics and governance in the Global South, policy ideas and transfer, postcolonial planning theory. g.silvestre@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6904 D26
Back to the top

Research Staff

Name Post Core Projects Email Address Telephone Office
Burgum, Dr Samuel Research Fellow Squatting and London's housing crisis s.burgum@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 2694 D7a
Houghton, Dr Jennifer Research Associate Living the Urban Periphery j.a.houghton@sheffield.ac.uk
Huang, Dr Zhengli Research Associate 'Urban development amid the new scramble for Africa' and 'Living the Urban Periphery' zhengli.huang@sheffield.ac.uk D7a
Jankowitz, Dr Sarah Research Associate Urban violence and social trauma s.jankowitz@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6947 D7a
Macedo, Dr Celia Research Associate PhD training partnership - Governance and social inclusion c.macedo@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6935 D7a
McNeill, Dr Jenny Research Associate Welfare conditionality j.m.mcneill@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 8356 D7a
Mukwedeya, Dr Tatenda Research Associate Living the urban periphery t.mukwedeya@sheffield.ac.uk
Preece, Dr Jenny Research Associate UK Collaborative Centre for Housing Evidence jenny.preece@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 8130 ICOSS
Westling, Dr Emma Research Associate Urban water governance - Twenty65 e.westling@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6927 D7a
Young, Dr Gareth Knowledge Exchange and Impact Fellow UK Collaborative Centre for Housing Evidence gareth.young@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 8389 ICOSS
Back to the top

Professional Services Staff

Name Post Telephone Email address Office
Rachel Harland Departmental Manager 0114 222 2696 r.harland@sheffield.ac.uk C13a
Simon Beecroft Department Administration and Research Manager 0114 222 6905 s.beecroft@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Sarah Biggins Engagement Assistant 0114 222 6901 s.biggins@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Imogen Johnson Research Project Officer ('Working in the public interest' project) 0114 222 6923 imogen.johnson@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Julie Lyle Journal Manager, Housing Studies j.lyle@sheffield.ac.uk
Michelle Nicholson Learning and Teaching and Operations Administrator 0114 222 6180 michelle.nicholson@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Bryony Olney Learning Technologist 0114 222 6189 b.olney@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Ellie Phillips Journal Manager, Planning Theory and Practice 07710 143467 e.phillips@sheffield.ac.uk
Camilla Prince Marketing and Recruitment Officer 0114 222 6906 c.prince@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Emma Ryszka Learning and Teaching Officer 0114 222 6900 e.ryszka@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Amy Woolley Placement, Employability and External Relationship (PEER) Manager 0114 222 6928 amy.woolley@sheffield.ac.uk C15b
Porter

0114 222 9266 A Floor
Back to the top