Sound Junction November 2017 

For pricing and ticket information please see the left-side panel 'pricing and tickets'.

3 November 7pm

New electroacoustic music from Sheffield 

Alejandro Albornoz La Luz
Christoforos Stylianou Melancholia
Chris Bevan Circum
James Surgenor Under the Spreading Chestnut Tree
Vanessa Sorce-Levesque Exercitium arithmeticæ occultum nescientis se numerare animi
Ross Davidson Ventosmia

4 November 5pm: Nikos Stavropoulos

Nikos Stavropoulos (b. 1975) is a composer of predominantly acousmatic and mixed music. His works are performed and acknowledged internationally (Bourges, 2000,2002, Metamorphose, Brussels 2002,2008,2016, SCRIME, Bordeaux 2003, Musica Miso, Potrugal, 2004, Punto de Encuentro Canarias International Electroacoustic Composition Competition 2008, Destellos Foundation 2015, 2016, Open Circuit 2016). Other interests include the performance practice of electroacoustic music, multichannel practices and teaching music and music technology. He joined the Music, Sound & Performance Group at Leeds Beckett University in 2006 and is a founding member of the Echochroma New Music Research Group, a member of the Irish, Sound, Science and Technology Association (ISSTA) and the Hellenic Electroacoustic Music Composers Association (HELMCA).

Nikos Stavropoulos Karst Grotto
Dimitrios Savva Moments of Liberty II: Falling Within
Nikos Stavropoulos Portrait V
Matthew Pinker Collide
Nikos Stavropoulos Topophilia

4 November 6:30pm: Pre-concert Talk - Hans Tutschku

4 November 7pm: Hans Tutschku

Hans Tutschku Remembering Japan - part 1
Issho ni

Hans Tutschku was born in Weimar in 1966. Some of his first experiences with electronic music came with the “Ensemble for Intuitive Music Weimar” of which he has been a member since 1982. He studied electronic music composition at the Dresden College of Music and, starting in 1989, participated in several of Karlheinz Stockhausen’s concert cycles to learn the art of sound direction. He continued his studies in sonology and electroacoustic composition at the Royal Conservatoire in the Hague (1991/92), followed by a year’s study at IRCAM in Paris (1994). In 1996 he participated in composition workshops with Klaus Huber and Brian Ferneyhough.

Hans Tutschku has taught electroacoustic composition as a guest professor in Weimar (1995/96); electroacoustic composition at IRCAM in Paris (1997–2001); and at the conservatory of Montbéliard (2001–2004). In May 2003 he completed a doctorate (PhD) with Professor Jonty Harrison at the University of Birmingham, and during the spring term of 2003 was the “Edgard Varèse Guest Professor” at the Technical University of Berlin. Since 2004, he is the Fanny P. Mason Professor of Music at Harvard University, where he teaches composition and works as director of the electroacoustic studios.

Besides his courses at the university, he regularly leads international workshops for musicians and non-musicians on aspects of art appreciation, listening, creativity, composition, improvisation, live-electronics and sound spatialization.

Hans Tutschku is the winner of many international composition competitions, including: Bourges, CIMESP Sao Paulo, Hanns Eisler Prize, Prix Ars Electronica, Prix Noroit, and Prix Musica Nova. In 2005 he received the culture prize of the city of Weimar. He held a Fellowship at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study for 2013, and a stipend from the Japan–U.S. Friendship Commission for 2014. In 2015 he received a commission from the Fromm Music Foundation, and in 2017 he won the first prize at the composition competition Klang!.