Sound Junction April 2018

Sound Junction April 2018: Firth Hall, Sheffield, S10 2TN

20 April 6pm: Pre-concert talk: Trevor Wishart

The composer, performer and author of three books (On Sonic Art, Audible Design, Sound Communication) talks about his recent work and 'composing the real'.

20 April 7pm: feat. Trevor Wishart

Encounters in the Republic of Heaven. ...all the colours of speech... (2010-2011)

  • Act 1: 19:54 - Voice Wind; The Fisherman’s Tale; Children’s Stories I; Interlude (Speech Waltz); Budgerigar; Belly Dancer; Finale.
  • Act 2: 16:44 -Teenagers Gossiping; The Dancer's Tale; Interlude (Speech Clouds); Travelling Butcher; Children’s Stories II; Finale.
  • Short interval. The 'pop-up' bar welcomes your custom.
  • Act 3: 22:26 - Voice Wind; The Farmer’s Tale; "Heathcliffe, Come Here!"; Interlude (Speaking in Harmony); She Jokes; The Soldier's Tale; Finale.
  • Act 4: 14:16 - The Poet's Tale; The Best Thing that Ever Happened; Finale (Voice Wind).

Listen to the whole of Encounters in the Republic of Heaven in stereo at Encounters is however an 8 channel work with sound transformations surrounding the audience. The polyphony of space married to the polyphony of sound manipulation is a must-hear. Especially over our 32 channel sound system.

Here is a 1:30 sampler from across the four movements.

21 April 5pm: feat. Yiorgis Sakellariou

Yiorgis Sakellariou is a composer of experimental and electroacoustic music. Since 2003, he has been active internationally being responsible for solo and collaboration albums, having composed music for short films and theatrical performances, leading workshops and ceaselessly performing his music around the globe.

His practice focuses on the communal experience of listening and the communication between composer, audiences, performance spaces and the rest of the physical and supernatural world. He only performs in absolute darkness, fostering an all-inclusive and profoundly submerging sonic experience.

His PhD research at Coventry University drew inspiration from ethnomusicological and anthropological contexts and explored the sonic symbolism and socio-aesthetic settings in ecstatic religious rituals in relation to field recording, electroacoustic composition and acousmatic performance.

Yiorgis Sakellariou is a member of the Athenian Contemporary Music Research Centre and the Hellenic Electroacoustic Music Composers Association. Since 2004 he has curated the label Echomusic.

  • Yiorgis Sakellariou: New work (2018) 30:00
  • John Mercer: The Piano Factory (2018) 10:55
  • Alejandro Albornoz: Hundreds of milliseconds (2017-18) 11:22
  • Henry Eady: Through the looking glass (2018) 8:00

21 April 7pm: feat. Tom Williams

Tom Williams is a composer working in electroacoustic music and instrumental composition.

Over the last twenty years he has developed a large body of composition for both acoustic (vocal / instrumental / orchestral) and electroacoustic media (acousmatic / video / installation). When composing he enjoys the exploration of new sounds, new material; exploring and exploiting the tension between the visceral resonance and the compositional imperative.

He is Principal Lecturer in Music Composition and Course Director for the BA music programmes and he is leader of the experimental music research group INTIME, at Coventry University.

See his full biography here.

  • Tom Williams:
  1. Shelter (2006, stereo) 13:04
  2. Home (Breath Replaced) (2014-2016, 8 channels) 11:00
  3. Can (2009, 5.1) 8:18

  • Chris Bevan: Under fluid skies (2018) 12:07

  • Adam Stanovic:
  • Adrian Moore: