Leaving the University

When you leave the University, your University Account and Email will be closed 2 weeks after your last day. If you require an extension to your account, authorisation must come from the appropriate Head of Department or their deputy and should be sent to helpdesk@sheffield.ac.uk

Upon account closure you will be unable to access your account or any of the content (e.g. emails, files) contained within it.

You must follow all of the steps in the checklist to ensure important information is not lost and that business continuity within your department is assured.

Please note it is important that account holders only transfer personal, non-University files to their own private accounts and not transfer University data. Doing so is likely to be in breach of Data Protection regulations.

Checklist

Saving email

Give yourself time to check through your emails and forward any important information to the relevant colleague in your department.

You can then download and save any personal emails. It is important that you only transfer personal, non-University files to you private accounts and not transfer University data. Doing so is likely to be in breach of Data Protection regulations.

You can find information on how to download your data.


Setting up out of office message

Set up an out of office auto reply on your last working day stating who will be dealing with all enquiries, plus their contact details.

Information on setting up an auto reply message.


Transferring ownership of Google Drive files

Documents saved in your account, with you being the ‘Owner’, will be removed when your account closes. You must therefore transfer ownership of documents that will be needed by your colleagues. You should ensure this is part of a discussion you have with your Line Manager before you leave.

If you have any personal documents in your Google Drive you may want to save these to a personal account. You must ensure you to not transfer any University documents to your personal account.

Find out how to transfer files.


Events in Google Calendar

If you have set up meetings or events in your calendar that are due to take place after you leave the University, you should transfer these to a colleague. This will ensure that the entries remain in place and can be edited or deleted if required.

Learn how transfer Google Calendar events to a colleague.


Google Sites 

Before you leave you should either delete or transfer ownership of your Google sites. Once your account is closed, you will no longer be able to modify your google site.

See how to transfer or delete your site.


Files stored on your University computer

Any University documents that are still required should be returned to the department, either via your departmental shared filestore or Google Drive.

Any documents which are no longer required should be deleted.

Any personal information stored on the computer can be kept via a personal Google Drive account.

Your computer should then be returned to your department to be wiped and reused or disposed of.


University Filestore

Any University documents that are still required should be returned to the department, either via your departmental shared filestore or Google Drive.

Any documents which are no longer required should be deleted.

Any personal information stored on the computer can be kept via a personal Google Drive account or saving to a USB / external hard drive.


cPanel 

Personal cPanel websites will be closed when your account closes. If you manage any departmental or group cPanel websites then you must transfer ownership by contacting CiCS Helpdesk


Telephone/Voicemail

Contact your departmental Telephone Liaison Officer (TLO) to advise them of your planned leaving date. They will discuss with you what message should be left on your voicemail service and see that this is in place.

A full list of TLOs can be found here.